Appellate Case: 13-4178

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 1

DEREK KITCHEN, individually; MOUDI SBEITY, individually; KAREN ARCHER, individually; KATE CALL, individually; LAURIE WOOD, individually; and KODY PARTRIDGE, individually, Plaintiffs - Appellees, v. GARY R. HERBERT, in his official capacity as Governor of Utah, and SEAN D. REYES, in his official capacity as Attorney General of Utah, Defendants - Appellants, and SHERRIE SWENSEN, in her official capacity as Clerk of Salt Lake County. Defendant.

No. 13-4178

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PARTICIPATE IN ORAL ARGUMENT Roberta A. Kaplan, Esq. PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND, WHARTON & GARRISON LLP 1285 Avenue of the Americas New York, New York 10019-6064 (212) 373-3000 rkaplan@paulweiss.com Alan B. Morrison, Esq. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY LAW SCHOOL 2000 H Street, N.W. Washington, DC 200252 (202) 994-7120 abmorrison@law.gwu.edu

Attorneys for Amici Curiae Douglas Worham, Nicholas Nero, Lynn Beltran, Claudia O’Grady, Stanford Rovig, and Charles Fluke

Docket Reference Number: [10153691]

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 2

Pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 29(g), amici curiae Douglas Wortham, Nicholas Nero, Lynn Beltran, Claudia O’Grady, Stanford Rovig, and Charles Fluke (the “Amici Curiae Couples”) respectfully move this Court for leave to participate in the scheduled oral argument in the above-captioned appeal. Pursuant to 10th Cir. R. 27.3(C), the Amici Curiae Couples have sought, but not received, consent from the parties to the relief sought by this motion. As discussed in the brief filed by the Amici Curiae Couples, neither Judge Shelby’s decision nor the briefing below addressed the prohibitions in Utah’s constitution and statutes that blatantly discriminate against gay and lesbian couples by denying them legal recognition in any form whatsoever. Utah Const. art. I, § 29; Utah Code Ann. § 30-1-4.1(1)(b). These provisions expressly bar the provision of any legal rights, responsibilities, or protections to the members of any gay or lesbian couple (including the Amici Curiae Couples) at any time, in any place, or of any scope. In the brief submitted by Plaintiffs-Appellees to this Court, the primary focus of the arguments are the violations of the Due Process Clause and Equal Protection Clause wrought by Amendment 3’s exclusive reservation of marriage to “a man and a woman.” Utah Const. art I, § 29. The Amici Curiae Couples agree with these arguments and respectfully urge

2

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 3

this Court to affirm the district court decision for the reasons articulated by Plaintiff-Appellees. However, Plaintiffs-Appellees do not fully explain how the other provisions in Amendment 3 and the Utah statutes constitute separate, independent violations of the Equal Protection Clause by preventing any legal recognition of gay and lesbian relationships. See Utah Code Ann. § 30-1-4.1(1)(b) (“this state will not recognize, enforce, or give legal effect to any law creating any legal status, rights, benefits, or duties that are substantially equivalent to those provided under Utah law to a man and a woman because they are married”); Utah Const. art. I, § 29 (“[n]o other domestic union, however denominated, may be recognized as a marriage or given the same or substantially equivalent effect”). The Utah laws at issue here, by preventing any legal recognition of gay and lesbian relationships under any circumstances, have significant practical consequences for the daily lives of gay Utahans. See Brief for Amici Curiae Couples at 12–18, Kitchen v. Herbert, No. 13-4178 (10th Cir. Feb. 26, 2014) (listing and describing several of the significant rights and benefits denied to gay couples by discriminatory provisions of the Utah Code). The Amici Curiae Couples therefore respectfully seek leave to participate in oral argument in order to demonstrate that these provisions of Utah’s laws constitute independent,

3

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 4

grievous violations of the Fourteenth Amendment’s guarantee of equal protection of the law. By participating in oral argument, the Amici Curiae Couples seek to assist the Court by presenting in fuller detail the many practical effects of Utah’s violation of the Fourth Amendment’s guarantee of equal protection, thereby demonstrating that the discrimination codified by the Utah laws cannot withstand constitutional scrutiny. The Amici Curiae Couples are represented on a pro bono basis by Roberta Kaplan and the law firm, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP, who represented Edith Windsor in United States v. Windsor. United States v. Windsor, 133 S. Ct. 2675 (2013); Windsor v. United States, 699 F.3d 169 (2d Cir. 2012); Windsor v. United States, 833 F. Supp. 2d 394 (S.D.N.Y. 2012). The Amici Curiae Couples request that Roberta Kaplan, the lawyer who argued Windsor before the United States Court of Appeal for the Second Circuit and the United States Supreme Court, participate in oral argument on their behalf.

4

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 5

CONCLUSION For all the foregoing reasons, the Court should allow the Amici Curiae Couples to participate in the oral argument of this case and allot five minutes (or the additional argument time the Court deems appropriate) to present their arguments. Dated: March 3, 2014 PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND, WHARTON & GARRISON LLP /s/ Roberta A. Kaplan Roberta A. Kaplan, Esq. Jaren Janghorbani, Esq. Joshua D. Kaye, Esq. Jacob H. Hupart, Esq. 1285 Avenue of the Americas New York, New York 10019-6064 (212) 373-3000 rkaplan@paulweiss.com Alan B. Morrison, Esq. George Washington University Law School 2000 H Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20052 (202) 994-7120 abmorrison@law.gwu.edu

5

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 6

ECF CERTIFICATIONS Pursuant to Section II(I) of the Court’s CM/ECF User’s Manual, the undersigned certifies that: 1. all required privacy redactions have been made; 2. if required to file additional hard copies, that the ECF submission is an exact copy of those documents; 3. the document filed via ECF was scanned for viruses with the most recent version of Microsoft Security Essentials v. 2.1.111.6.0, and, according to the program, is free of viruses. /s/ Roberta A. Kaplan

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 7

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on the 3rd of March, 2014, a true, correct and complete copy of the foregoing Motion for Leave to Participate in Oral Argument was filed with the Court and served on the following via the Court’s ECF system: Peggy A. Tomsic James E. Magleby Jennifer Fraser Parrish MAGLEBY & GREENWOOD, P.C. 170 South Main Street, Suite 850 Salt Lake City, UT 84101 Kathryn D. Kendell Shannon P. Minter David C. Codell National Center for Lesbian Rights 870 Market St., Ste. 370 San Francisco, CA 94102 Ralph Chamness Darcy M. Goddard Salt Lake County District Attorneys 2001 South State, S3700 Salt Lake City, UT 84190 Philip S. Lott Stanford E. Purser Gene C. Schaerr Office of the Attorney General for the State of Utah 160 East 300 South, 6th Floor P.O. Box 140856 Salt Lake City, UT 84114 John J. Bursch Warner, Norcross & Judd 111 Lyon Street, NW, Suite 900 Grand Rapids, MI 49503 tomsic@mgplaw.com magleby@mgplaw.com parrish@mgplaw.com

kkendell@nclrights.org sminter@nclrights.org dcodell@nclrights.org

rchamness@slco.org dgoddard@slco.org

phillott@utah.gov spurser@utah.gov gschaerr@gmail.com

jbursch@wnj.com

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 8

Monte Neil Stewart Stewart Taylor & Morris 12550 West Explorer Dr., Ste. 100 Boise, ID 83713 Stephen Kent Ehat California Legal Research, Inc. 167 North 1150 East Lindon, UT 84042 David Robert Upham University of Dallas 1845 East Northgate Drive Irving, TX 75062 Richard D. White, Jr. Barber & Bartz 525 South Main Street, Suite 800 Tulsa, OK 74103 Lynn Dennis Wardle Brigham Young University J. Reuben Clark Law School, Room 518 Provo, UT 86402 Alan B. Morrison 1937 Biltmore Street, NW Washington, DC 20009 Thomas Molnar Fisher Office of the Attorney General for the State of Indiana Indiana Government Center South 302 West Washington Street, 5th Floor Indianapolis, IN 46204 David C. Walker Brown, Berardini & Dunning 2000 South Colorado Boulevard Tower Two, Suite 700 Denver, CO 80222

stewart@stm-law.com

stephen@ehat.org

davidrupham@yahoo.com

rwhite@barberbartz.com

wardlel@law.byu.edu

abmorrison@law.gwu.edu

tom.fisher@atg.in.gov

dwalker@bbdfirm.com

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 9

Paul Benjamin Linton 921 Keystone Avenue Northbrook, IL 60062 Michael Francis Smith Smith Appellate Law Firm 1717 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Suite 1025 Washington, DC 20006 Steven W. Fitschen, Esq. The National Legal Foundation 2224 Virginia Beach Boulevard Suite 204 Virginia Beach, VA 23454 William C. Duncan Marriage Law Foundation 1868 North 800 East Lehi, UT 84043 Frank D. Mylar, Jr., Esq. Mylar Law, P.C. 2494 Bengal Boulevard Salt Lake City, UT 84121 Lawrence John Joseph Law Office of Lawrence J. Joseph 1250 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 22102 Gerard Vincent Bradley 3156 Eck Hall of Law Notre Dame, IN 46556 Kevin Trent Snider Pacific Justice Institute 212 9th Street, Suite 208 Oakland, CA 94607

PBLCONLAW@AOL.COM

smith@smithpllc.com

nlf@nlf.net

duncanw@marriagelawfoundation.org

mylar-law@comcast.net

ljoseph@larryjoseph.com

Bradley.16@nd.edu

ksnider@pji.org

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 10

Alexander Dushku Richard Shawn Gunnarson Kirton & McConkie 1800 World Trade Center 60 East South Temple Salt Lake City, UT 84111 Anthony R. Picarello, Jr. 3211 Fourth Street, N.E. Washington, DC 20017 Justin W. Starr Kirton McConkie 50 East South Temple, Suite 400 Salt Lake City, UT 84111 Eric C. Rassbach, Esq. Asma Uddin Becket Fund for Religious Liberty 3000 K Street NW, Suite 220 Washington, DC 20007 Dani Hartvigsen 1163 East 1220 North Orem, UT 84097 Robert Theron Smith 1977 Regal Stream Cove Salt Lake City, UT 84121 Jennifer L. Bursch Advocates for Faith & Freedom 24910 Las Brisas Road, Suite 110 Murrieta, CA 92562 Arthur Andrew Schulcz, Sr. Law Office of Arthur A. Schulcz, Sr. Chaplains' Counsel 21043 Honeycreeper Place Leesburg, VA 20175

adushku@kmclaw.com

apicarello@usccb.org

jstarr@kmclaw.com

erassbach@becketfund.org auddin@becketfund.org

danihartvigsen@hotmail.com

theronsmith1@gmail.com

jbursch@tylerbursch.com

art@chaplainscounsel.com

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 11

D'Arcy Winston Straub 6772 West Ida Drive, Apartment 327 Littleton, CO 80123 Aaron Lindstrom Bernard Eric Restuccia Bill Schuette Office of the Attorney General for the State of Michigan 525 West Ottawa Street P.O. Box 30212 Lansing, MI 48909 John C. Eastman Center for Constitutional Jurisprudence c/o Chapman Univ. School of Law One University Drive Orange, CA 92866 Brett Gilbert Scharffs Brigham Young University J. Reuben Clark Law School 503 JRCB Provo, UT 84602 David Boyle P.O. Box 15143 Long Beach, CA 90815 Anita Staver Mathew D. Staver Liberty Counsel P.O. Box 540774 Orlando, FL 32854 Stephen M. Crampton Mary Elizabeth McAlister Liberty Counsel P.O. Box 11108 Lynchburg, VA 24506

dstraub@ecentral.com

LindstromA@michigan.gov restucciae@michigan.gov

jeastman@chapman.edu

scharffsb@law.byu.edu

dbo@boyleslaw.org

court@lc.org court@lc.org

court@lc.org court@lc.org

Appellate Case: 13-4178

Document: 01019210482

Date Filed: 03/03/2014

Page: 12

Duane Morley Cox 4056 West 3830 South West Valley City, UT 84120 Troy L. Booher Zimmerman Jones Booher 136 South Main Street, Suite 721 Salt Lake City, UT 84101 Clifford J. Rosky University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law 332 South 1400 East Salt Lake City, UT 84112 Paul March Smith, Esq. Jenner & Block 1099 New York Avenue, NW Suite 900 Washington, DC 20001 Sarah Elizabeth April Kathryn R. DeBord Bryan Cave 1700 Lincoln Street, Suite 4100 Denver, CO 80203

jeannejacobs12@hotmail.com

tbooher@zjbappeals.com

clifford.rosky@gmail.com

psmith@jenner.com

sarah.april@bryancave.com katie.debord@bryancave.com

/s/ Roberta A. Kaplan