You are on page 1of 2

Opinion opinion@imprint.uwaterloo.

ca Imprint, Friday, July 27, 2007

7 IMPRINT REWIND IMPRINT FORWARD 8


The following article is an editorial printed in the The following is a comment posted on Ashley
Friday, July 13, 2007 — Vol. 30, No. 6 November 7, 1958 (volume 1, no. 1) issue of The Cord Csanady’s column titled “Take back the night?”
Weekly, the first undergrad student publication at the (published July 13, 2007). The comment has been
Student Life Centre, Room 1116 University of Waterloo (known then as Waterloo Col- truncated but otherwise left unedited.
University of Waterloo lege and Associated Faculties).
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3G1
Want to teach them a lesson? posted by cpb
P: 519.888.4048 F: 519.884.7800
imprint.uwaterloo.ca
Ashley, on behalf of all men with brains and a sense of
Editor-in-chief, Adam McGuire decency, I’m sorry you had to deal with this bs.
editor@imprint.uwaterloo.ca My recommendation: make them pay using the real
Advertising & Production Manager, ‘power’ available to you.
Laurie Tigert-Dumas [...]
ads@imprint.uwaterloo.ca So yes, I’m a guy. In my opinion, there is no place
General Manager, Catherine Bolger for this kind of bull-shite anywhere, anytime.
cbolger@imprint.uwaterloo.ca Women should not be frightened in the world today
Sales Assistant, Andrea Hession but, unfortunately, all it takes is one attack to inflict
lasting pain (mental and physical). The one time you let
Board of Directors yourself become overconfident in a possibly dangerous
board@imprint.uwaterloo.ca situation is the one time you will regret it. I’m not saying
President, Adam Gardiner live in fear, I’m saying live smart. You are one woman,
president@imprint.uwaterloo.ca they were multiple men. The odds were stacked against
Vice-president, Jacqueline McKoy you if they were looking for trouble. You were smart to
vp@imprint.uwaterloo.ca play it safe Ashley. It is better to fume at home than to
Treasurer, Lu Jiang find out they were out looking to cause real trouble.
treasurer@imprint.uwaterloo.ca There is no point in giving them a piece of your mind,
Secretary, Alaa Yassim it is (most likely) what they want. Walking by with your
secretary@imprint.uwaterloo.ca head raised high won’t help either, they will just pick on
Staff liaison, Rob Blom the next woman who walks by. These guys crave your
liaison@imprint.uwaterloo.ca attention (as they clearly don’t know how to attract
women using their natural charm).
Editorial Staff [...]
Assistant Editor, Ashley Csanady If you want to make the world safer for women
Lead Proofreader, Kinga Jakab everywhere it is my opinion that stupid men like this
Cover Editor, Angelo Florendo need to have fear put into them and pain brought
News Editor, Emma Tarswell down on them.
News Assistant, Adrienne Raw If you had a big pack of women with you I might
Opinion Editor, Mohammad Jangda recommend some vigilante justice involving kicking
Features Editor, Scott Houston some groins, laughing at how little there was to kick,
Arts Editor, Andrew Abela then walking away. As you were alone, the police or
Science Editor, Brendan Pinto bouncers would be your next best bet (IMHO).
Sports Editor, vacant [...]
Photo Editor, Michael L. Davenport Just my 2 cents. :-)
Graphics Co-editor, Peter Trinh
Graphics Co-editor, Christine Ogley
Web Editor, Gunjan Chopra
Systems Administrator, Dan Agar browse our dust-free archives join the discussion
Sys. Admin. Assistant, vacant
Distribution, Brendan Pinto
http://imprint.uwaterloo.ca/archives http://imprint.uwaterloo.ca
Distribution, Andrea Meyers

Production Staff
Angela Gaetano, Tim Foster, Emily Schooley,

Let’s hug it out, bitch


Claire the Moose, Dacheng Cheng, Tom Riddle

Imprint is the official student newspaper of the University


of Waterloo. It is an editorially independent newspaper
published by Imprint Publications, Waterloo, a corporation
without share capital. Imprint is a member of the Ontario Girl talk is cathartic, not something that makes it worse.
Community Newspaper Association (OCNA). Editorial
submissions may be considered for publication in any edition
of Imprint. Imprint may also reproduce the material commer-
cially in any format or medium as part of the newspaper Remember obsessing over day-to-day problems for hours on the phone may increase negative feelings after the encounter, but in the long run
database, Web site or any other product derived from the with your best friend when you were a teen? Well, according to a recent it’s healthier to get the negativity out in the open.
newspaper. Those submitting editorial content, including study, those overly-long conversations can exacerbate depression and Girlfriends can sometimes be the sole source of support for some
articles, letters, photos and graphics, will grant Imprint first anxiety in teenage girls. teens. Their parents may be well-intentioned, but too uptight to ask for
publication rights of their submitted material, and as such, The study, from University of Missouri-Columbia, found that this real advice, or just MIA. For me, I would take all the potentially un-
agree not to submit the same work to any other publication “co-rumination” — complaining and obsessing over problems with necessary brooding over reducing my overly-long conversations with
or group until such time as the material has been distributed close girlfriends — seemed to raise anxiety and depression. While these my best girls.
in an issue of Imprint, or Imprint declares their intent not chats also tightened the bonds of friendship, male subjects achieved No matter how hard you try, most teenage girls aren’t going to talk
to publish the material. The full text of this agreement is the same level of bonding to a counselor or a parent if they’re feeling upset. They’re going to flip
available upon request. without the increase in through their phonebook and call the closest girlfriends on their list. At
Imprint does not guarantee to publish articles, pho- negative emotions. the tender age of 14, your best girlfriends may not have been the most
tographs, letters or advertising. Material may not be Researchers surmised sensible people in the world, but at least one of them would usually
published, at the discretion of Imprint, if that material is that this might be because have good advice, be it to visit the health clinic or change face-washes
deemed to be libelous or in contravention with Imprint’s girls are more likely to inter- — whenever one didn’t have the answer, well that’s usually when parents
policies with reference to our code of ethics and jour- nalize their problems than had to get involved.
nalistic standards. boys, who are more prone Girlfriends provide a necessary support network for young girls.
Imprint is published every Friday during fall and to externalizing them. Now, Surrounded by a constant barrage of unattainable body images and all
winter terms, and every second Friday during the spring here’s where my problem with sorts of marketing, a friend that hugs, tells you that you’re beautiful no
term. Imprint reserves the right to screen, edit and refuse this study begins and ends. If matter whatshisface says, stops you from hurting yourself or tells off
advertising. One copy per customer. Imprint ISSN 0706- girls are prone to internalizing the teacher who failed you, can be the best cure in the world. Girls are
7380. Imprint CDN Pub Mail Product Sales Agreement problems and blaming them- more apt to blame themselves for their own shortcomings than boys,
no. 40065122. selves, shouldn’t venting those so maybe their form of “co-rumination” seems more negative because
emotions to a close friend be they dwell on their own failings, while boys focus on what caused the
Next staff meeting:
soothing, as opposed to a source situation to go wrong.
Friday, July 27, 2007 | 12:30 p.m.
of more frustration? It may sound depressing to lay around watching chick flicks after
Girl talk is cathartic, not a break-up and whine about how you “were never really that into him
Fall term - first staff meeting:
something that makes it worse. anyway,” but it’s really only depressing if you do it alone. Besides, somebody
Monday, September 10, 2007 | 12:30 p.m.
Imagine if parents started isolating their teenage daughters from their has to help you finish that Häagen-Dazs.
friends so that they had to bottle those feelings up inside — would that
Next board meeting:
really solve anything? I understand that co-ruminating about problems acsanady@imprint.uwaterloo.ca
Friday, August 3, 2007 | 11:15 a.m.
Imprint, Friday, July 27, 2007 Opinion 

The Sins of
Letter TO THE EDITOR
Celebdom
It must be tough being a celebrity. in her pocket. Lohan will undoubtedly find her way to
Present dental plan is preposterous Every step has to carefully elude the lens of a paparazzi rehab — again — before asking the public for chance
camera. Every word has to be screened internally before number 4,672 to forgive her flaws and go see her mov-
I recently decided to take advantage of my dental insurance and go get it’s spoken. Every $25-million-dollar summer home in the ies (and to forget about that baggie of blow in the glove
some cleaning done. I was shocked to discover that we were required to Hamptons has to be carefully maintained by a grounds compartment).
pay the bill up front and are only reimbursed by the insurance company crew that would make Yankee Stadium jealous. But she’s a celebrity, so she’ll avoid the orange-jumpsuit,
in four to five business days. But there are plenty of positives to being a celebrity too, side-of-the-freeway garbage duty in favour of another stint
Considering the exorbitant amounts charged by dentists and the fact like the gobs of money, the legions of followers and the of mansion-arrest with a side order of alcohol-monitor-
that students often do not have hundreds of dollars lying around, this free — well, free everything. And in exchange, all they have ing ankle bracelet.
is an outrage. I suspect that many students do not use their dental plan to do is follow a normal, relatively humble existence. I could go off on a rant that Vick and Lohan and
purely because they cannot afford to dish out the money up front. But I guess that’s just too much to ask. all the other badass celebrities on the planet are simply
It doesn’t have to be this way. There are insurance policies that Exhibit A: Michael Vick. stupid people. But the fact that we’re inundated with
cover the payments up front if one goes to dentists within a certain The Atlanta Falcons quarterback was recently indicted real-time updates of every step they take is nobody’s
dental network. However, the Feds and GSA opted for this current on charges alleging that he was the ringmaster of an illegal fault but your own.
policy, and being in Actuarial Science, I can understand why. The cost dog-fighting operation at his home in Virginia. Here’s a guy Don’t worry, it’s my fault too. It’s everyone’s. I thought
to Feds/GSA of the current policy is lower than it would be under that’s on the cover of a video game and he can’t think of about purveying the message that celebrities are role
the proposed policy. Why? The insurance company worked in the anything better to do with his time than train pit bulls to models, whether they like it or not. But then I got to
expected number of students too poor to utilize the dental plan into kill each other — and train a bunch of dumbass Virgin- thinking: why are they role models? It’s our own fault. All
their calculations. This resulted in a lower premium than if costs were ians to wager huge coin on it. He should be caged up and the major news websites have chucked their pages full of
covered up front. beaten like the dogs he tosses into makeshift rings. coverage on Beyoncé falling down a staircase because we
However, in trying to reduce the overall cost of the insurance, the But he’s a celebrity, so he’ll likely get a couple years want to see Beyoncé fall down a staircase.
Feds and GSA are, in effect, not providing insurance to the students probation and 150 hours of speech time to warn kids of We could all spend our time more wisely by steering
who require it the most; the students who are the most financially the dangers of pit bulls and one-toothed gamblers from clear of the National Enquirer racks at the grocery store.
constrained. This is preposterous. Feds and GSA should change this the hills of Virginia. But as long as the tabloid rags can make bucks and CNN
dental insurance policy to one that pays the cost of the covered dental Exhibit B: Lindsay Lohan. leads off the hour with a feature on the day-to-day life of
procedures up front, even if that requires us all to pay a little bit more Lohan is like Madonna meets Debbie Does Dallas. I’m Britney Spears, celebrity lawbreakers will never be held
for our health insurance. pretty sure I acquired a venereal disease just by typing accountable for their actions.
I would further request these bodies not to get slowed down by her name. This past weekend, she once again fell victim I guess being a celebrity isn’t that bad after all.
bureaucracy on this issue. It is simple enough to understand how the to the trying life of a celebrity when she was arrested for
present plan is ridiculous. We need them to change it as soon as pos- driving impaired — not to mention the cocaine stuffed editor@imprint.uwaterloo.ca
sible.

Syed Ali Hasan


Fourth Year Actuarial Science Lohan is like Madonna meets Debbie Does Dallas.
I’m pretty sure I acquired a venereal disease just by typing her name.
Don’t mind paying up front for Dental services?
Read something else that irks or excites you?
Pour your heart out:
opinion@imprint.uwaterloo.ca

Available for September 2007. Ask About Our Great Rental Incentives and Bonuses.

Related Interests