12/16/13

State.co.us Executive Branch Mail - Sen. Udall's Press Release

Salazar - DORA, Marguerite <marguerite.salazar@state.co.us>

Sen. Udall's Press Release
1 message Donlin - DORA, Jo <jo.donlin@state.co.us> Fri, Nov 15, 2013 at 11:30 AM To: Eric Brown - GovOffice <eric.brown@state.co.us>, Alan Salazar - GovOffice <Alan.Salazar@state.co.us>, Roxane White - GovOffice <roxane.white@state.co.us> Cc: Marguerite Salazar <marguerite.salazar@state.co.us>, Barbara Kelley <barbara.kelley@state.co.us>, "Bauer DORA, Casey" <casey.bauer@state.co.us>, Vincent Plymell <vincent.plymell@state.co.us>, Peg Brown - DORA <peg.brown@state.co.us>, John Postolowski - DORA <john.postolowski@state.co.us> Roxane, Alan and Eric,

We've received word that Sen. Udall is preparing a press release that says there were 73,000 people affected by cancelled policies rather than the 250,000 people the Division released last week. Udall is broad brushing and assuming that because Anthem and Kaiser offered early renewals, the people who received that option after receiving a cellation notice should not be counted. Commissioner Salazar would like to tell Sen. Udall that 250,000 people were in fact affected by cancellation notices. If he would like to do a press release, he can move ahead, but not everybody is choosing an early renewal and other carriers besides Anthem and Kaiser are offering such an option, but it varies. The numbers are fluid, but the firm number is 250,000 people were affected by cancellation notices, but were given several options upon receipt of the notice. Early renewals were one of those options. Commissioner would like to stand by our numbers and release our own information in a few days after we complete some further data collection. Barbara agrees with this approach. Commissioner would like your approval as well.

I realize this is a difficult thing to describe in an e-mail. If you would like to discuss by phone or in person, please let me know. We'd appreciate a response as quickly as possible, so we can respond to Sen. Udall's office in D.C.. Thanks so much, Jo

Jo Donlin Director of External Affairs Department of Regulatory Agencies Division of Insurance Commissioner's Office 1560 Broadway, Suite 850 Denver, CO 80202 p 303-894-2950/ c 303-503-4453 f 303-894-7455

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This message is intended only for the use of the individual to whom it is addressed and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not an intended recipient you are not authorized to disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. Please notify the sender immediately if you have received this e-mail by mistake and delete this e-mail and any attachments from your system.
https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?ui=2&ik=e13dc557e6&view=pt&as_subset=all&as_date=11%2F15%2F2013&as_within=1d&search=adv&th=1425d08362232e90 1/2

Co Co mp l l .c o e t r om a e do

12/16/13

State.co.us Executive Branch Mail - Sen. Udall's Press Release

https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?ui=2&ik=e13dc557e6&view=pt&as_subset=all&as_date=11%2F15%2F2013&as_within=1d&search=adv&th=1425d08362232e90

Co Co mp l l .c o e t r om a e do
2/2

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful