References and Resources: Food Insecurity

Local Organizations and Programs  Cascade Harvest Coalition: http://www.cascadeharvest.org/  Food Lifeline: www.foodlifeline.org  Fresh Bucks (“nutrition incentive program that doubles the purchasing power for lowincome Seattle residents who use their federal food stamp benefits to purchase fresh fruits and vegetables at Farmers Markets”): www.farmfresh.org/markets/freshbucks.php  Hunger Intervention Program (HIP): www.hungerintervention.org  Meals Partnership Coalition: www.mealspartnership.org  Neighborhood Farmers Market Alliance: www.seattlefarmersmarkets.org/markets  North Helpline, Emergency Services and Food Bank: www.northhelpline.org  Northwest Harvest: www.northwestharvest.org  P-Patch Community Gardens: https://www.seattle.gov/neighborhoods/ppatch/ o Garden Locations: http://www.seattle.gov/neighborhoods/ppatch/locations.htm  Puget Sound Fresh: www.pugetsoundfresh.org  Seattle Emergency Food: http://www.seattle.gov/humanservices/emergencyservices/emergencyfood.htm  Seattle Food Bank Directory: http://www.seattle.gov/humanservices/emergencyservices/docs/FoodBanksSeattleKingCoun ty.pdf  Seattle Tilth: www.seattletilth.org  Second Harvest: www.2-harvest.org  Solid Ground: www.solid-ground.org/Pages/Default.aspx o Lettuce Link: www.solid-ground.org/Programs/Nutrition/Lettuce o Community Fruit Tree Harvest: http://www.solidground.org/programs/nutrition/fruittree/pages/default.aspx o Marra Farm: http://www.solidground.org/Programs/Nutrition/Marra/Pages/default.aspx  Sound Food Network: www.soundfood.org  WSDA Farm to School: http://www.wafarmtoschool.org/ Local Advocacy and Education  Anti-Hunger & Nutrition Coalition, Emergency Food Assistance Program (EFAP): http://www.wsahnc.org/  Center on Budget and Policy Priorities: www.cbpp.org  City of Seattle Food Action Plan: www.seattle.gov/food  Communities Count (Social and Health Indicators Across King County): http://www.communitiescount.org/uploads/pdf/Data%20Updates/Adequate%20Food_CC% 20Early%20Release_Feb2012.pdf  Community Food Security Coalition Recommendations for Seattle 2011: http://www.hungerfreecommunities.org/wpcontent/uploads/2012/05/FoodSystemPolicyRecommendations-Seattle.pdf  Resolution 31019: http://clerk.ci.seattle.wa.us/~archives/Resolutions/Resn_31019.pdf  Seattle Human Services Department/Youth and Family Empowerment: www.seattle.gov/humanservices/children_families/nutrition/heal.htm  Seattle’s Unhealthiest Neighborhoods Dubbed Food Deserts (article): http://www.seattlemag.com/article/seattles-unhealthiest-neighborhoods-dubbed-food-deserts

 

Strategic Plan to End Childhood Hunger in Washington, Children’s Alliance: www.childrensalliance.org and http://www.childrensalliance.org/sites/default/files/Plan_to_ECHWA_FINAL.pdf Within Reach (Making Connections for Healthy Families): www.withinreachwa.org

National Organizations and Programs  Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP): www.fns.usda.gov/cnd/care  Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP): www.fns.usda.gov/fmnp  Feeding America: www.feedingamerica.com o Food Bank Locator: www.feedingamerica.org/foodbank-results.aspx  Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations: www.fns.usda.gov/fdd/programs/fdpir  Food Help for Disaster Relief: www.fns.usda.gov/disaster-assistance  School Meals: www.fns.usda.gov/fmnp  Senior Farmer’s Market Nutrition Program (SFMNP): www.fns.usda.gov/sfmnp  Summer Food Service Program (SFSP): www.fns.usda.gov/summer-food-service-programsfsp  Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP): http://www.fns.usda.gov/snap  The Emergency Food Assistance Program: www.fns.usda.gov/fdd/programs/tefap/about_tefap.htm  WIC Farmer’s Market Nutrition Program (FMNP): www.fns.usda.gov/fmnp  Women, Infants, and Children (WIC): http://www.fns.usda.gov/wic o Shopping guide: http://www.doh.wa.gov/portals/1/Documents/Pubs/960-278ShoppingGuide.pdf National Advocacy and Education  Bread for the World: www.takepart.com/sites/default/files/APATT_Bread_Toolkit.pdf  Food Access Research Atlas: http://www.ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-access-researchatlas.aspx#.UaZSSevZd6M  Food Policy Action Network: www.foodpolicyaction.org  Take Part: www.takepart.com/food  Why Hunger: www.whyhunger.org/findfood Videos / Documentaries  A Place at the Table: http://www.takepart.com/place-at-the-table http://www.magpictures.com/aplaceatthetable/  Farmageddon (2011)*  Food, Inc. (2008)  Food Matters (2008)*  Food Stamped (2010)  Forks Over Knives (2011)*  Fresh (2009)  Hungry for Change (2012)*  King Corn (2007) * *Available on Netflix Homeless Shelters and Emergency Food Assistance for Young Adults  ROOTS Young Adult Homeless Shelter and Friday Feast: www.rootsinfo.org  YouthCare: www.youthcare.org