A mother’s day gift guide

historical fiction

everyone’s talking about

thrills & chills

lovely lit

historical fiction
The Harem Midwife
From the author of the bestselling novel The Midwife of Venice comes a sweeping sequel set in exotic Constantinople. Hannah, a midwife, plies her trade within the opulent palace of Sultan Murat III, tending to the thousand women of his lively and infamous harem. If you know she read The Midwife of Venice, this is the perfect gift.
indigo amazon

if she loves...

Us Conductors

A beautiful, haunting, brilliant novel inspired by the true life and loves of the Russian scientist, inventor and spy Lev Termen—creator of the theremin. In a finely woven series of flashbacks and correspondence, Us Conductors takes us from the glitz and glam of New York in the 1930s to the gulags and scientific camps of the Soviet Union. It’s a perfect gift if she enjoyed Loving Frank or The Paris Wife.
indigo amazon

The Sultan’s Wife

Empress of the Night

From the author of the bestselling novel The Winter Palace! If she is a fan of the Royal family and loves all things opulent and glamorous, Empress of the Night is the book for her! Catherine the Great, the Romanov monarch reflects on her astonishing ascension to the throne, her leadership over the world’s greatest power, and the lives sacrificed to make her the most feared woman in the world—lives including her own . . .
indigo amazon

The Sultan’s Wife is a great choice for an arm chair traveler. It’s a pageturning mystery, a grandly seductive romance and full historical immersion into Moroccan court history. Set in 1677 and told through the eyes of an English woman captured by the Sultan, it’s a fascinating tale that transports the reader to a different time and place.
indigo amazon

what everyone’s talking about
Secret Revealed
Two women blossom as sexual beings, but they also discover that ecstasy and true love are closer than they ever imagined. SECRET Revealed is the explosive, sensual and sexuallycharged finale to the bestselling S.E.C.R.E.T. trilogy.
indigo amazon

if she loves...

The Lemon Grove

This spicy read is one that has everyone talking! Set on the rugged, mountainous west coast of Mallorca, this taut, sultry, brilliantly paced novel is an urgent meditation on female desire, the vicissitudes of marriage and the allure of youth.
indigo amazon

The Confabulist

The Confabulist weaves together the life, loves and murder of the world’s greatest magician, Harry Houdini, with the story of the man who killed him (twice): Martin Strauss, an everyday man whose fate was tied to the magician’s in unforeseen ways. A beautiful, suspense-filled novel from the beloved, award-winning, bestselling author of The Cellist of Sarajevo.
indigo amazon

All My Puny Sorrows

Tender and unquiet, All My Puny Sorrows offers a profound reflection on the limits of love, and the sometimes unimaginable challenges we experience when childhood becomes a new country of adult commitments and responsibilities. In Miriam Toews’ most passionate novel yet, she brings us the riveting story of two sisters, and a love that illuminates life.
indigo amazon

thrillers & mysteries
Keep Your Friends Close
Friendship can be a real killer. If watching Revenge or CSI is her style, then you’ll want to go with something more complex with relationship-based crime like Keep Your Friends Close. Natty and Paul have a rock solid marriage. But when Natty’s childhood friend Helen slots herself into their family life, there are fatal consequences.
indigo amazon

if she loves...

The Winter People

“McMahon unfurls a whirlwind of suspense.” –Entertainment Weekly If psychological thrillers like Stephen King’s Lisey’s Story or Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places is her thing, then go for The Winter People. A secret compartment beneath the floorboards of an old farmhouse contains a gun and the diary of a woman who was murdered in 1908.
indigo amazon

The Dead In Their Vaulted Arches

Young Flavia de Luce comes closer than ever to solving her life’s greatest mystery—her mother’s disappearance. Lighthearted mysteries (particularly ones with a spunky 11 year old sleuth in Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce series) will appeal to fans of Murder, She Wrote and novels by P.D. James, Ruth Rendell, or Louise Penny.
indigo amazon

Long-buried secrets could ultimately destroy the Beaumont family in this historical thriller set in 17th century England. For those who lean towards historical fiction like The Winter Palace by Eva Stachniak or Sacrilege by S.J. Parris, and love a thrilling twist then Licence of War is the right pick for her.
indigo amazon

Licence of War

lovely lit

if she loves...

Landing Gear

For the women who love Chris Cleave, this is a novel about a migrant worker, Yacub, who falls out of the landing gear of the airplane on which he is a stowaway and onto the car of a British suburban mother, Harriet. Yacub’s arrival in Harriet’s life sets off a series of life-changing events for them and everyone around them.
indigo amazon

The Luminaries

Winner of the 2013 Man Booker Prize and Governor General’s Award for Fiction, and set during the heady days of New Zealand’s Gold Rush, The Luminaries is a magnificent novel of love, lust, murder, and greed, in which three unsolved crimes link the fates and fortunes of twelve men. Dickens meets Deadwood in this internationally celebrated phenomenon.
indigo amazon

The Age

Set in Vancouver in 1984 as Soviet warships swarm the Atlantic, The Age tells the story of Gerry, a troubled teenager who finds a kind of belonging with a group of misfits planning a subversive protest at the city’s upcoming peace march. The Age is at once a heartbreaking journey through adolescent recklessness and desire and a portrait of a generation shaped by nuclear anxiety.
indigo amazon

Life After Life

What if you had the chance to live your life again and again, until you finally got it right? This beautifully written novel follows Ursula Todd as she lives through the turbulent events of the last century again and again. Gillian Flynn calls it “one of the best novels I’ve read this century.”
indigo amazon

Happy Mother’s Day!

OF CANADA LIMITED
LIKE us on Facebook! Enter our world on Instagram! #givebooks on Twitter! Get bookishly inspired on Pinterest!

RANDOM HOUSE

RANDOMHOUSE.CA

Win books from us on Goodreads!

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful