United Nation

The name "United Nations", coined by United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt was first used in the Declaration by
United Nations of 1 January 1942, during theSecond World War, when representatives of 26 nations pledged their
Governments to continue fighting together against the Axis Powers.
States first established international organizations to cooperate on specific matters. The International Telecommunication
Union was founded in 1865 as the International Telegraph Union, and the Universal Postal Union was established in 1874.
Both are now United Nations specialized agencies.
In 1899, the International Peace Conference was held in The Hague to elaborate instruments for settling crises peacefully,
preventing wars and codifying rules of warfare. It adopted the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International
Disputes and established the Permanent Court of Arbitration, which began work in 1902.
The forerunner of the United Nations was the League of Nations, an organization conceived in similar circumstances
during the first World War, and established in 1919 under the Treaty of Versailles "to promote international cooperation
and to achieve peace and security." The International Labour Organization was also created under the Treaty of Versailles
as an affiliated agency of the League. The League of Nations ceased its activities after failing to prevent the Second World
War.The UN Charter, opened to the signature page, at the San Francisco Conference in 1945.
In 1945, representatives of 50 countries met in San Francisco at the United Nations Conference on International
Organization to draw up the United Nations Charter. Those delegates deliberated on the basis of proposals worked out by
the representatives of China, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom and the United States at Dumbarton Oaks, United
States in August-October 1944. The Charter was signed on 26 June 1945 by the representatives of the 50 countries. Poland,
which was not represented at the Conference, signed it later and became one of the original 51 Member States.
The United Nations officially came into existence on 24 October 1945, when the Charter had been ratified by China,
France, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, the United States and by a majority of other signatories. United Nations
Day is celebrated on 24 October each year.
The Charter
The Charter of the United Nations was signed on 26 June 1945, in San Francisco, at the conclusion of the United Nations
Conference on International Organization, and came into force on 24 October 1945. The Statute of the International Court
of Justiceis an integral part of the Charter.
Aims and Objectives of UNO: The main objectives of UNO are:
 To maintain international peace and security.
 To develop spirit of co-operation and friendly relations among the nations.
 To promote respect for human rights, dignity and freedom.
 To solve international problems of social, economic, agricultural and humanitarian character.
 To employ international machinery for the promotion of economic and social advancement of all people.
Organs of the UN:
There are six main organs of UN:1. General Assembly : It is the main body of UN and consists of the representatives of
all the states. Each state may send 5 representatives in the general assembly but has only 1 vote. It meets regularly once a
year, special and emergency sessions can also be sumoned at the request of security council. Decision of an important
matters are taken by the 2/3rd majority,
while in simple matters, only simple majority is enough. The assembly may discuss any matter within the scope of charter
except those already referred to the Security Council. The assembly generally discusses ways of preserving peace,
economic development and social progress, well being of people, peaceful use of atomic energy, human right etc. It elects
its own President & Vice-President every year.
Functional of General Assembly:
i. The membership of new states is done by the general assembly on the recommendation of Security Council.
ii. The Judges of the International Court of Justice are elected by general assembly.
iii. It elects the non-permanent members of security council, members of Economic and Social Council, and certain
members of Trusteeship Council.
iv. It passes entire budget of UNO.
2. Security Council : It is the executive body of UN which is responsible for maintaining international peace in the
world. Its session can be summoned at 24 hour notice and if functions almost continuously. the council consists of
15 members–5 permanent (USA, UK; Russia, France and China) and 10 non- ermanent members which are
elected for a term of 2 years by the General Assembly. the distribution of the numbers of non-permanent members
are (1) Five members from Asian and African countries (2) two from latin American countries (3) two from
western Europes and other (which implies commonwealth countries) (4) and one from east European countries.
Each member of the Security Council has one vote. The approval of all permanent members is necessary. If any
permanent member casts a “Veto” to show its disagreement, then no decision can be taken. The number of
affirmative votes needed for a decision are atleast nine which includes the vote of 5 permanent members. In the
event of a threat to peace or occurence of war between two or more countries, the security council has the power
to take appropriate measures to restore peace and security.
3. Economic and Social Council : The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is the welfare council which
coordiantes the economic and social activities of the United Nations and its specialised agencies and other
organisations. This council meets at least thrice a year. It is composed of 54 members. General Assembly elects
one-third members of ECOSOC every year for a period of 3 years. ECOSOC takes decision by a majority of those
members present and voting. ECOSOC seeks to build a world of greater prosperity, stability and justice.
4. The Trusteeship Council : The Prime responsibility of this council is to supervise the administration of those
territories which were placed under the International Trusteeship System. This council of UNO is also known as
„Protector of Dependent People‟ who are not yet able to Govern themselves. It consists of member of states
administering trust territories and permanent members of the security council into administering territories. Under
the charter, the member states have to accept certain obligations to promote their development and to protect their
interest and security so long as the trustee territories are not able to govern themselves.
At present, USA is the only administering trust territory. So, the Trusteeship Council consists of only permanent
members. This council meets at least once in a year.
5. Secretariat : All day today functions of the UN are performed by the Secretariat. the Secretariat is headed by the
Secretary-General who is the chief Administrative Officer, and he is appointed by the General Assembly upon the
recommendation of Security Council for a five-year term, which is renewable. It is his duty to implement all
resolutions passed by the Security Council or the General Assembly. He makes the annual report of General
Assembly and also bring to the notice of security council about any matter threatening the maintenance of
international peace and Security.

The Office of Programme Planning, Budget and Accounts carries out activities in support of the financial and budgetary
operations of the Organization as awhole.
The General Assembly approved the programme (regular) budget for 2012-2013 in the amount of US$ 5,152 billion
(resolution 66/248). The proposal includes US$1,083 million in respect of special political missions that are expected to be
extended or approved during the course of the biennium.