You are on page 1of 3

American Revolution Kbat

Cosmin Braileanu

The Albany Plan of Union was a proposal made at the Albany Congress back in 1754 aimed at a
formation of a strong union of the colonies under one single government and direction. The need was
justified because of the necessity for defense against the threats and consequences posed by the
French and Indian War.
The Sons of Liberty
were started in Boston, Massachusetts in protest of the Stamp Act of 1765. The Sons of Liberty also
opposed the Townshend Acts, theTea Tax, and any form of "Taxation without Representation".
Intolerable Acts, also known as Coercive Acts are the titles referring to the laws that the British
Parliament passed in 1774. These laws had something to do with the British colonies in North America.
Because of these acts, the Thirteen Colonies were angry.
Militia, is a form of citizen-based defense that shaped early American history and created an
American tradition of citizen soldiery. Early American colonies faced dangers from Native
American and European foes. The militia formed a major portion of patriot forces, achieving
fame at Lexington and Bunker Hill in 1775, and playing important roles in American victories
throughout the war, such as Saratoga (1777) and Cowpens (1781)

The Continental Army was formed after the outbreak of the American Revolutionary War by
the colonies that became the United States of America. Established by a resolution of the Continental
Congress on June 14, 1775, it was created to coordinate the military efforts of the Thirteen Colonies in
their revolt against the rule of Great Britain. The Continental Army was supplemented by
local militias and other troops that remained under control of the individual states. General George
Washington was the Commander-in-Chief of the army throughout the war.
The Second Continental Congress was a convention of delegates from the Thirteen
Colonies that started meeting on May 10, 1775, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, soon after warfare in
the American Revolutionary War had begun. he second Congress managed the colonial war effort, and
moved incrementally towards independence, adopting the United States Declaration of
Independence on July 4, 1776.
Charles Cornwallis was a British Army officer and colonial administrator. In the United States and
the United Kingdom he is best remembered as one of the leading British generals in the American War
of Independence. His surrender in 1781 to a combined American and French force at the Siege of
Yorktown ended significant hostilities in North America.
Lafayette met with American agent Silas Deane and accepted an offer to enter American service as a
major general. Accepted onto Washington's staff, Lafayette first saw action at the Battle of
Brandywine on September 11, 1777. Outflanked by the British, Washington allowed Lafayette to join
Major General John Sullivan's men.
The Battle of Yorktown was the battle that ended the Revolutionary War. It took place in 1777 in
Yorktown, Virginia, where the British troops were camped out. The Americans and French were fighting
against the British Redcoats, who were led by Lord Cornwallis. General Washington and his troops
trapped the British with the help of French leaders Count Rochambeau, the Marquis de Lafayette and
General Anthony Wayne.
The Stamp Act The Stamp Act was introduced by the British prime minister George Grenville and
passed by the British Parliament in 1765 as a means of raising revenue in the American colonies. The
Stamp Act required all legal documents, licenses, commercial contracts, newspapers, pamphlets, and
playing cards to carry a tax stamp. The act extended to the colonies the system of stamp duties then
employed in Great Britain and was intended to raise money to defray the cost of maintaining the
military defenses of the colonies.

Patrick Henry led the opposition to the Stamp Act of 1765 and is remembered for his "Give me
Liberty, or give me Death!" speech. Along with Samuel Adams and Thomas Paine, he is remembered as
one of the most influential exponents of Republicanism, promoters of the American Revolution and
independence, especially in his defense of historic rights. With his first marriage, he became a
landowner and slaveholder, and later owned thousands of acres of land in Virginia.
First Continental Congress was a convention of delegates from twelve British North
American colonies that met on September 5, 1774, at Carpenters' Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,
early in the American Revolution. It was called in response to the passage of the Intolerable Acts.

Loyalists were American colonists who remained loyal to the Kingdom of Great Britain (and the British
monarchy) during the American Revolutionary War. At the time they were often called Tories, Royalists,
or King's Men.

George Washington was one of the Founding Fathers of the United States, serving as the
commander-in-chief of the Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War and later as the
new republic's first President. He also presided over the convention that drafted
the Constitution. Washington, D.C., the capital of the United States, is named for him, as is the State of
Washington on the nation's Pacific Coast.
Thomas Jefferson was an American Founding Father, the principal author of the Declaration of
Independence (1776) and the third President of the United States (18011809). At the beginning of
the American Revolution, he served in theContinental Congress, representing Virginia and then served
as a wartime Governor of Virginia
Benjamin Franklin was one of the Founding Fathers of the United States. Franklin earned the title
of "The First American" for his early and indefatigable campaigning for colonial unity. Franklin was
foundational in defining the American ethos as a marriage of the practical and democratic values of hard
work, education, community spirit, self-governing institutions, and opposition to authoritarianism both
political and religious, with the scientific and tolerant values of the Enlightenment.
The Treaty of Paris, signed on September 3, 1783, ended the American Revolutionary
War between Great Britain on one side and the United States of America and its allies on the other. The
treaty document was signed at the Hotel d'York which is now 56 Rue Jacob by John Adams, Benjamin
Franklin, and John Jay