1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA
INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

MIDORI FUJ II, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

GOVERNOR, STATE OF INDIANA,
et al.,

Defendants.
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)




Case No. 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB



DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Defendants—the Governor
of the State of Indiana, Commissioner of the Indiana Department of Revenue, Commissioner of
the Indiana State Department of Health, Allen County Clerk, and Hamilton County Clerk—
respectfully request that this Court enter summary judgment against the Plaintiffs on all of their
claims. In support of this motion, Defendants assert as follows:
There are no genuine issues of material fact that would preclude the entry of judgment as
a matter of law in the Defendants’ favor as to any of their claims. This motion is based on the
Defendants’ contemporaneously filed Memorandum in Support of Defendants’ Motion for
Summary J udgment and in Opposition to Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary J udgment.
Wherefore, Defendants respectfully request that this Court enter judgment against the
Plaintiffs pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 44 Filed 05/07/14 Page 1 of 3 PageID #: 232
2

Respectfully submitted,


s/ Darren J. Murphy (with permission)
Darren J . Murphy
Assistant Hamilton County Attorney
694 Logan St.
Noblesville, IN 46060
Tel: (317) 773-4212
Fax: (317) 776-2369
dmurphy@ori.net

Counsel for the Hamilton County Clerk

s/ Thomas Alan Hardin (with permission)
Shine & Hardin LLP
2810 Beaver Ave.
Fort Wayne, IN 46807
Tel: (219) 745-1970
Fax: (219) 744-5411
thardin@shineandhardin.com

Counsel for the Allen County Clerk

GREGORY F. ZOELLER
Attorney General of Indiana
s/ Thomas M. Fisher
Thomas M. Fisher
Solicitor General
Office of the Attorney General
IGC South, Fifth Floor
302 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Tel: (317) 232-6255
Fax: (317) 232-7979
Tom.Fisher@atg.in.gov

Counsel for the Governor of the State of
Indiana, Commissioner of the Indiana
Department of Revenue, and Commissioner of
the Indiana State Department of Health

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 44 Filed 05/07/14 Page 2 of 3 PageID #: 233
3

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on May 7, 2014, I electronically filed the foregoing with the Clerk of
the Court using the CM/ECF system, which sent notification of such filing to the following:
Kenneth J . Falk
Gavin M. Rose
ACLU of Indiana
kfalk@aclu-in.org
grose@aclu-in.org

Sean C. Lemieux
Lemieux Law
sean@lemieuxlawoffices.com

Darren J . Murphy
Assistant Hamilton County Attorney
dmurphy@ori.net



J ames Esseks
Chase Strangio
American Civil Liberties Union Foundation
jesseks@aclu.org
cstrangio@aclu.org

Thomas Alan Hardin
Shine & Hardin LLP
thardin@shineandhardin.com




s/ Thomas M. Fisher
Thomas M. Fisher
Solicitor General


Office of the Attorney General
Indiana Government Center South 5th Floor
302 W. Washington St.
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2770
Phone: (317) 232-6255
Fax: (317) 232-7979
Email: Tom.Fisher@atg.in.gov

Case 1:14-cv-00404-RLY-TAB Document 44 Filed 05/07/14 Page 3 of 3 PageID #: 234