National Animal - Tiger
National Tree – Banyan.
National bird – Peacock
National Flower – Lotus
National Fruit – Mango
National River – Ganga
National Aquatic animal – Dolphin.

 The President nominates 2 Anglo-Indians to Lok sabha and 12
members to Rajya Sabha.
 The Governor of a state nominates 1 Anglo-Indian to Assembly
and 1/6
members to legislative council.
 Tenure of CAG is 6 years or till he attains the age of 65 years
whichever is earlier.
 Tenure of Chairman and members of UPSC is 6 years or till he
attains the age of 65 years whichever is earlier.
 Tenure of Chairman and members of State Public Service
Commission or JPSC is 6 years or till he attains the age of 62
years whichever is earlier.
 The tenure of a service Chief (Army, Air Force and Navy) is 3
years or till the age of 62 years whichever is earlier.
 Article 52. There shall be a President.
 Article 153. There shall be a Governor for each state.
 The President of India is elected by the elected members of Lok
Sabha, Elected members of Rajya Sabha and the elected
members of State Assemblies including that of Delhi and
 The Governor is appointed by the President.
 Air Force One (Rajdoot, Rajhans & Rajkamal) fleet. This is
modeled on US Presidents Air Force One. Indian President
traveled on Rajdoot to Assam.
 B-Complex and C Vitamins are water soluble and A, D, E and K are
the fat soluble vitamins.
 Vitamins B and C are water soluble.
 B and C dissolve in water and are not stored. Hence needed in
daily diet.
 Excess A, D, E and K are stored in liver. They are not needed
every day in diet.
 The right of suffrage (Voting) for Lok sabha and assemblies is
mentioned under Article 326 of the Indian Constitution. In the
original Constitution the minimum age to vote was 21 and
through 61
amendment in the year 1989 it was reduced to 18
 Articles 15, 16 and 19 belong only to citizens. Remaining articles
under Fundamental rights are applicable to citizens and aliens
 Yuri Gagarin (USSR) was the first Cosmonaut to go into space in
the year 1961 in a space craft called Vostok-1.
 Valentina Tereshkova (USSR) is the first woman to go into space
in the year 1963. She travelled through Vostok-6.
 Neil Armstrong (US) along with Edwin Aldrin was the first to land
on Moon on July 20, 1969. They travelled through Apollo-
11(Eagle) landed on sea of Tranquility on Moon.
 Rakesh Sharma was the first Indian to go into space in the year
1984. He went in a space craft called Soyuz T-11.
 Kalpana Chawla died in the crash of space shuttle Columbia STS-
107 on February 1, 2003. India's 1st meteorological satellite
METSAT renamed as Kalpana-1.
 The Sankranti festival is the festival of the Sun god who is
regarded as the symbol of divinity and wisdom.
 The Sankranti marks the Sun’s transition from Dhanur rasi
(Sagittarius) to Makara rasi (Capricorn). This also means that the
Suns is on its northwards journey or Uttarayan bringing it closer
to the northern hemisphere.
 The Sankranti festival is called Pongal in Tamil Nadu, Lohri
(Punjab), Bhogali Bihu (Assam).
 First Lok Sabha was constituted in May 1952. Mavalankar was the
first speaker and M Ananthasayanam Ayyangar was the first
deputy Speaker of Lok sabha.
 Parliament means Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and the President.
 The Lok Sabha is also called lower house or House of people.
 The Rajya Sabha is also called Upper House or Council of states.
 State Legislature means Legislative Assembly, Legislative Council
and the Governor.
 Central Hindu College at Banaras was founded by Dr Annie Besant
in the year 1898. It was developed into Banaras Hindu University
by Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya.
 Annie Besant was the first woman President of INC in 1917
during Calcutta session.
 Sarojini Naidu was the first Indian woman President of INC in
1925 during Kanpur session.
 Mahatma Gandhi was the President of INC only once in the year
1924 during Belgaum session.
 Justice Sinha of Allahabad High Court delivered judgment against
Indira Gandhi in the year 1975 for the malpractices of 1971
elections. The petition was filed by Raj Narain.
 Theosophical society was founded in New York in the year 1975 by
Madam Elena Blavatsky. Later it is moved to Adyar (Chennai).
 Vijaya lakshmi Pandit was the first Indian elected as the President
of the 8
United Nations General Assembly in 1953.
 Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit was the first woman cabinet Minister in
India. She was the Minister for Local self Government and Health
in the congress ministry of UP from 1937 to 1939. She was the
first Indian woman ambassador to erstwhile USSR from 1947 to
 In 1901 Kadambini Ganguly became the first woman to address
INC during Calcutta session.
 INC was founded by A O Hume in Bombay in the year 1885. WC
Bennerjee was the first President of INC.
 First woman Governor in India Sarojini Naidu for the state of UP in
the year 1949.
 First woman CM in India Sucheta Kripalani for the state of Uttar
Pradesh (1963 – 1967).
 Rajkumari Amrit Kaur was the first woman Cabinet Minister in
India up to the year 1957. She held the Ministry of Health
 Indira Gandhi was the first Prime Minster to get defeated in the
elections. She was defeated in the 1977 election by Janata Party
candidate Raj Narain.
 Leila Seth-1st woman Chief Justice of High Court(HP).
 National environmental engineering institute was established in
Nagpur in the year 1958.
 Cape Verde is the 153
nation in WTO (World Trade
Organization). WTO head Quarters Geneva, Switzerland. WTO
Director-General Pascal Lamy. In April 2009 he was reappointed
for a term of 4 years.
 Russia is not a member of WTO.
 TEMPLE Trees: This is the official residence of the President of Sri
 Food& Agriculture organization HQ Rome. Director General
Jacques Doiuf.
 MNP (Mobile number Portability). MNP was first introduced in
Haryana in the year 2010. On January 20, 2011 it was extended
to the entire country.
 The Wagah border lies on the Grand Trunk road connecting
Amritsar and Lahore.
 The towns of Baarle-Nassau in Netherlands and Baarle-Hertog in
Belgium are so deeply intertwined that it is very common to find
the white crosses the divide the 2 countries running through a
road, a restaurant or even a house.
 The citizens of Australia and New Zealand can work and live in
either country without restrictions.
 India shares open border policy with Nepal.
 The smallest sea island ‘Market Island’ is shared by Sweden and
 The Berlin wall that separated East and West Germany epitomized
as the Iron Curtain, a boundary between the ‘Free World’ and the
Communist World.
 As per Schengen agreement one does not require any special
travel documents to cross over to another European country.
 International Monitory Fund and International Bank for
Reconstruction and Development or World Bank, both put
together is called Bretton Woods twins.
 International Monitory Fund and World Bank both Head quarters
located in Washington. Both were set up in the year 1945
 Pluto lost the status of a planet.
 Venus is the nearest planet to the earth. Venus is the hottest
planet in the solar system. This is called Morning star/Evening
 Mercury is nearest to the Sun.
 All planets rotate up on their axis from west to East. Venus and
Uranus rotate from east to West. Asteroids are present between
Mars and Jupiter.
 In Supreme Court there is a Chief Justice of India and 30 other
judges. All are appointed by the President. Once appointed retire
at the age of 65.
 SC and HC judges are appointed by the President. Both Submit
resignation letter to the President.