You are on page 1of 3

COURSE OUTLINE BPSA THEATRE, FILM & TELEVISION 2009

PASA 5261 FILM & TELEVISION PROJECTS 1 A
Level Course No. Course Name Credits
5 PASA5261 Film & Television Projects 1A 15
Course Coordinators
Athina Tsoulis & Dan Wagner

This course runs throughout Semester One and involves students from a
number of disciplines (Acting/Film & Television/Diploma).

Staff Contacts

Teaching Staff
Athina Tsoulis (Directing Tutor) atsoulis@unitec.ac.nz
Dan Wagner (Camera Tutor) dwagner2@unitec.ac.nz
Gary Henderson (Writing Tutor) ghenderson@unitec.ac.nz
Glenn Thomas (Editing Tutor) gthomas@unitec.ac.nz
John Callen (Acting Tutor) jcallen@unitec.ac.nz
Larry Justice (Production Tutor) ljustice@unitec.ac.nz
Victor Grbic (Sound Tutor/Prog Co-ord. Film & Television) vgrbic@unitec.ac.nz

Production Staff
Nikki Baigent (Screen Production Manager) – nbaigent@unitec.ac.nz
Gayle Jackson (Props & Costume Assistant) – gjackson@unitec.ac.nz
Sai Yin Leung (Maintenance Engineer) - sleung@unitec.ac.nz
Theo Gibson (Screen Technician) - tgibson@unitec.ac.nz

Programme Administration
Belinda Lima (Programme Administrator) - blima@unitec.ac.nz
Ann Graham (Assistant Admin/Receptionist) - agraham@unitec.ac.nz

Course Aims and Learning Outcomes
Every course has Aims, and every class and assessment has Learning Outcomes. They
are what you will achieve by successfully completing each class and assessment. Here are
the aims and learning outcomes for this paper:

PASA 5161 Film & Television Projects 1A
Course Aims:
To enable students to practically employ film and television technologies in the creative
process of screen production work.
To work collaboratively and establish habits and methodologies appropriate to the
profession.

On completion of the course you will be able to:
1. Identify the protocols, courtesies, practices & different roles/responsibilities of
performance/production.
- Demonstrate knowledge of basic screen & theatre terminology and grammar
- Develop the ability to work collaboratively
2. Establish a working knowledge of the technology associated with film & television
production.

1 24910103.doc

operational and procedural skills in set exercises 3.Basic Coverage & The Line Lesson 6: 6th April – Text Analysis One Minute Exercise 4th -12th May Silent Exercise 7th– 21st May Interviews – Portrait Intro to Project: 13th May Ideas Presentation – 27th May am Lesson: Interview Techniques – 28th May am Schedule Check – 4th June am Interview Shoots: 8th June -16th June Editing: 9th June – 16th June Screening: 17th & 18th June Projects & Assessments Weighting Nature of assessment Due Date 2 24910103. FILM & TELEVISION 2009 .Production Pathway & Key players Lesson 2: 9th March .doc .Actor’s process Lesson 5: 30th March .Demonstrate basic technical. . You will also be introduced to documentary through an understanding of the interview process and the development of good interview skills.The Directorial Process – What is a director? Lesson 4: 23rd March . directing or writing.Establish a working knowledge of the technology associated with film & television production . The purpose. operational and procedural skills in set exercises . therefore. of Screen Basics will be to give you an overview of the screen production process from the idea stage to the end product and the role of the key collaborators within this. art department. COURSE OUTLINE BPSA THEATRE. cinematography.Develop understanding of procedures needed to achieve standards that enhance creative decisions Course Information A basic understanding of how screen work is produced is fundamental if you wish to play a role in any area of film and television production such as acting. Class & Project Schedule Screen Basics 1 Lesson 1: 2nd March . The classes will prepare you for the two projects (One Minute Exercise and the Silent Exercise) that will give you an opportunity to experience the practical side of screen production first hand. wardrobe. Apply a range of skills to the creation. editing. Your participation in classes will prepare you for your own interview project in Term 2. preparation and realisation of a short video production. Demonstrate basic technical.The Story – character/structure Lesson 3: 16th March .

A (85-89).5mins Assignment 2 Interview Portrait 27th May – 18th June Each Film & Television student will demonstrate their understanding of ‘the interview’ as used in ‘the documentary’ by selecting an interesting character to interview on location. You'd at least inform your employer as soon as you know you'll be absent or late. B. Treat your attendance here in the same way you'd treat a job. you'd usually be obligated to find someone to cover you. D (40-49). E (0-39). C+ (60-64). Each Film & Television student will have the opportunity to work alongside one or two actors to create a story of one minute in length. B (70-74). If you are unable to attend a class or meeting. PASS .ac. C. Assignment 1 Silent Exercise 7th– 21st May An exercise in collaboration and teamwork within assigned roles in devising a story that can be told without dialogue in 2.doc . 7115. FILM & TELEVISION 2009 50% Assignment 1 (One Minute / Silent Exercises) 21st May 50% Assignment 2 (Interview Portrait) 22nd June One Minute Exercise 4th -12th May An exercise in collaboration between actor and writer/director in devising character and story. A+ (90-100). and 2) when you expect to resume/attend.(80-84). COURSE OUTLINE BPSA THEATRE. or email Anne <agraham@unitec. FAIL . 3 24910103. MERIT . A.so must you. This may lead to a fail mark in an assessment linked to that project. Mini DV cameras will be used and each team will have 1 hour to shoot their material and a limited time in the edit suites to cut the material together. The work will have no dialogue and will be filmed within Unitec grounds.nz>) of 1) your reason for non-attendance/lateness.(50-54). You are advised that poor attendance or substandard preparation may result in you being restricted in or declined participation on a particular project. B+ (75-79). We take attendance and punctuality very seriously . A basic sequence to enhance the character’s story may be shot but it must be in the same location as the interview.(65-69). you MUST notify PASA reception (815 4321 ext. C (55-59). But you'd never just not show up. Markings and Grades Assignment and Course Grades DISTINCTION . Please Note: Attendance is an essential facet of your professional training/behaviour. On a shoot.