You are on page 1of 3

COURSE OUTLINE BPSA THEATRE, FILM & TELEVISION 2009

PASA 5262 FILM & TELEVISION PROJECTS 1B


Level Course No. Course Name Credits
5 PASA5262 Film & Television Projects 1B 15

Course Coordinators
Athina Tsoulis & Dan Wagner

This course runs throughout Semester Two and involves Film and Television
students only. It is an extension of the Screen Basics course and will look in
greater depth at aspects which affect all areas of production regardless of
specialisation.

Staff Contacts

Teaching Staff
Athina Tsoulis (Directing) atsoulis@unitec.ac.nz
Milton Justice (Directing) mjustice@unitec.ac.nz
Alan Brash (Writing – Screen) abrash@unitec.ac.nz
Gary Henderson (Theatre) ghenderson@unitec.ac.nz
Brent Hargreaves (Art Directing) brent@podfruits.com.au
Larry Justice (Production) ljustice@unitec.ac.nz
Dan Wagner (Camera) dwagner2@unitec.ac.nz
Alan Locke (Camera Tutor) alocke@unitec.ac.nz
Glenn Thomas (Editing) gthomas@unitec.ac.nz
John Callen (Acting) jcallen@unitec.ac.nz
Victor Grbic (Sound Tutor/Prog Co-ord. Film & Television) vgrbic@unitec.ac.nz

Production Staff
Nikki Baigent (Screen Production Manager) – nbaigent@unitec.ac.nz
Robin Gee (Screen Production Manager) – rgee@unitec.ac.nz
Gayle Jackson (Props & Costume Assistant) – gjackson@unitec.ac.nz
Sai Yin Leung (Maintenance Engineer) - sleung@unitec.ac.nz
Theo Gibson (Screen Technician) - tgibson@unitec.ac.nz

Programme Administration
Belinda Lima (Programme Administrator) - blima@unitec.ac.nz

Please Note: Attendance is an essential facet of your professional training/behaviour. You are
advised that poor attendance or substandard preparation may result in you being restricted in or
declined participation on a particular project. This may lead to a fail mark in an assessment
linked to that project.

If you are unable to attend a class or meeting, you MUST notify PASA reception (815 4321 ext.
7115, or email Belinda <blima@unitec.ac.nz>) of
1) your reason for non-attendance/lateness; and
2) when you expect to resume/attend.
Treat your attendance here in the same way you'd treat a job. You'd at least inform your employer as
soon as you know you'll be absent or late. On a shoot, you'd usually be obligated to find someone to
cover you. But you'd never just not show up. We take attendance and punctuality very seriously - so
must you.

Course Aims and Learning Outcomes


1 24910133.doc
COURSE OUTLINE BPSA THEATRE, FILM & TELEVISION 2009

Every course has Aims, and every class and assessment has Learning Outcomes.
They are what you will achieve by successfully completing each class and
assessment. Here are the aims and learning outcomes for this paper:

PASA 5262 Film & Television Projects 1B


Course Aims:
To enable students to employ fundamental theories, concepts and techniques in practice-
based settings to develop their creativity and artistic growth through experiential
exploration of film and television technologies and processes.

Learning Outcomes:
On completion of the course you will be able to:

1. Demonstrate the ability to work collaboratively in a team.


- Examine the role and inter-relationship of the specialist within the film crew

2. Demonstrate a basic understanding of fundamental screen processes associated with


continuity and blocking.

3. Demonstrate discipline specific professional behaviour and practices.

Coursework
The purpose of SCREEN BASICS II is to extend certain key concepts that were touched
on in Semester One, which will prepare you for the STUDIO ONE Project, where you will
collaborate with other students to realise short scenes written by the Year One Writing
students.

Firstly, we will look at CONTINUITY and what that means in all its facets – theoretical and
practical. Continuity is a fundamental concept and we will examine how it has developed
and influenced drama production, what it actually means and the many areas that are
involved. On the practical side, you will learn what the role of Continuity person entails,
how to time and mark up a script, and to record continuity logs on set.

Secondly, we will investigate BLOCKING and how it affects the various departments.
Beginning with the script, we will discuss how blocking, with its components of staging and
placement of camera, functions to give life to the words on the page in terms of the
emotional (subtext) and action (plot) content.

Projects

The main project this semester is STUDIO ONE (2nd- 12th November). This is a
Crossover Project, which involves FTV, Acting, and, to a certain extent,
Performance Technology. You will participate in 12 half-day shoots – all in our FTV
Studio. For each shoot, you will work within the specialty of each of your two
electives. This is the first major crossover project where everyone is working on one
shoot at the same time. As such, your levels of communication, collaboration and
general professionalism will be assessed.

Class & Project Schedule

2 24910133.doc
COURSE OUTLINE BPSA THEATRE, FILM & TELEVISION 2009

CONTINUITY
Lesson 1 – Mon. 20th July 9-12 - Screen Continuity: concept overview from the viewpoints
of various specialties
Lesson 2 – Mon 27th July 9-12 - Guest Lecturer: PREPPING THE JOB
Lesson 3 – Mon 3rd August 9-12 - Guest Lecturer: ON THE DAY
Lesson 4 – Mon 10th August 9-12 - Exercise: mock-up shoot w/ Guest Lecturer presiding
In-Class Test – Mon 17th August 9-12

BLOCKING
Lesson 1 – Wed.26th August 1-4pm – Overview, Why and How do we block?
Lesson 2 – Wed.2nd September 1-4pm – Different types of staging
Lesson 3 – Mon.7th September 1-4pm – Mock Blocks I: tutor/student workshopping
Lesson 4 – Wed.16th September 1-4pm – Mock Blocks II: student demonstrations
Online Test – Fri. 18th September – 9:00-10:30am

Course Assessments and Due Dates


Weighting Nature of assessment Learning Due Date
Outcomes
40% Assignment 1 (Continuity) 1, 2 17th August

40% Assignment 2 (Blocking) 1, 2 18th September


20% Assignment 3 (Professional Practice) 3 23rd November

There will be three assessments for this course: a written test to gauge your
understanding of Continuity; an online test on Blocking; and assessment based on
tutor and peer feedback around the professional aspects of your work during Studio
One.

Markings and Grades

Assignment and Course Grades


DISTINCTION - A+ (90-100); A (85-89); A- (80-84);
MERIT - B+ (75-79); B (70-74); B- (65-69);
PASS - C+ (60-64); C (55-59); C- (50-54).
FAIL - D (40-49); E (0-39).

3 24910133.doc