As for reciting durga saptha sloki, You can recite it in the evenings after
proper cleansing. If you don't know or are not inclined to recite as per tantra,
just recite the kavacha & saptha sati as prescribed in three day or seven day
method. You can also recite Kavacha, argala, keelaka & saptha sloki as
Trayangam, trisathy,
Day 1 = Kavacham, argala, keelaka & chapter 1
day 2 = chapters 2, 3 & 4
day 3 = chapters 5 to 13.
Trayangam, trisathy without nyasa etc
Day 1 = Kavacham & chapter 1
day 2 = chapters 2, 3 & 4
day 3 = chapters 5 to 13.

Keep a lamp lit with ghee in front of you if possible and recite it.

Patha Vidhi Or Parayana Krama

Parayana Krama or the Patha Vidhi is being translated below in English.This is the
traditional way in which Brahamanas read the Durga Saptashati .Those who are not in a
state to follow the prescribed methods of reading may do it according to their
convenience. There is no hard and fast rule. Devi Mata will hear your prayers in which
ever form you pray to her.
Parayana Krama or prescribed methods of reading
Devi Mahatmya is a story but each of its slokas is considered as mantras. There are two
methods of how to start reading Devi Mahatmya. The first one is called Tryangam and
consists of reading three prayers viz Devi Kavacham, Devi argalam and Devi keelakam
followed by meditation and chanting of the Navakshari manthra given by
“Om Iym hreem kleem Chamandayai, viche namaha.”
This manthra is of very great power.The other is Navangam, where nine prayers are
recited before starting reading of the book. They are chanting of 1. Nyasa, 2. Avahana,
3. Namani, 4. Argala, 5. Keelaga, 6. Hrudhaya, 7. Dhala, 8. Dhyana and 9. Kavacha.
It is recommended that the entire Devi Mahatmya should be read in one sitting. After
completion of the reading it is necessary to chant the Devi Suktham consisting of the
slokas seven to 36 of chapter 8, is to be chanted. If the Guru has taught the navakshari
manthra, then it should also be meditated up on.
People who cannot do this should read the Pradhama charithra consisting of the first
chapter on the first day, the Madhyama Charithra consisting of the next three chapters
on the next day and the remaining Uthama Charitha consisting of the next 9 chapters on
the third day.
Another method of completing the full reading by seven days viz one chapter on the first
day, next two chapters on the second day, next one chapter on the third day, next four
chapters on the fourth day, next two chapters on the fifth day, next one chapter on the
sixth day and last two chapters on the seventh day.
It is important to know that daily the parayana should start with the trayanga manthras,
text of Devi Mahatmya followed by the chanting of Devi Suktham.