You are on page 1of 4

Press Release.

Sir Hayden Phillips, Chair of the Selection Panel, and Sir Alan Moses, Chair of the Independent Press
Standards Organisation (IPSO), announce today the names of the twelve strong Board that will lead
the new press regulator for the United Kingdom.
The Board will meet soon and start work so that IPSO is prepared and ready to act as the regulator
in September. Important initial tasks for the Board will be to appoint the IPSO Complaints
Committee, a Chief Executive and consider how best to create an arbitration service. This period of
preparation provides an important opportunity for the Board to consider and discuss the regulations
and procedures for which it will be responsible. Until IPSO formally starts work as the regulator, the
Press Complaints Commission will continue with its existing functions and responsibilities. Sir Alan
will be meeting and hearing the views of those concerned with the work of the new regulator.
There will be public meetings across the United Kingdom .
The Board includes people from business, diplomacy, consumer rights, the pensions sector,
academia, the voluntary sector and the publishing and newspaper industries. Experience is drawn
from across the United Kingdom. Full biographies are below.
Sir Hayden said “ The new Board contains distinguished people from different walks of life and with
a mix of skills and achievements that will, I believe, ensure the new regulator will be able to build the
trust of the public. I was delighted that there was such a large and strong field of candidates from
which the Panel was able to select. I am confident the new Directors have the stature and
experience to bring into being a tough and independent regulator that will stand the test of time”.
Sir Alan joined the interview Panel after his appointment as Chair of IPSO in May. He said “I am
delighted to have the chance to work with such a talented group of independent-minded people,
committed to provide rigorous and strong regulation. Now we must start our work of preparation.
We plan to use the coming period to listen and engage with the public, experts and the industry
before IPSO’s formal launch in September. This will be a new era of self regulation of our
newspapers, ready to provide the independent regulation to which the public is entitled.”
Biographies of the new Board members of IPSO.
Ros Altmann
Ros Altmann is an independent expert on pensions policy, a frequent media commentator on
pensions issues, a renowned consumer champion and former Director General of the Saga Group.
She is a Non-Executive Director of Trafalgar House Pension Trust and the Investment Board for the
Official Solicitor and Office of the Accountant General. An economist by training, she was a Non-
Executive Director of LSE for six years, and is a Governor of the Pensions Policy Institute, on the
Advisory Board of the International Longevity Centre ILC-UK and a Fellow of the Royal Society of
Kevin Hand
Kevin Hand is currently Vice President of EMMA, the European Magazine Marketing Association and
Deputy Chair of the Professional Publisher Association, having previously acted as Chair. During his
executive career Kevin served as a director of Emap for ten years, the last three of which were as the
Chief Executive. In addition to his non executive work, Kevin also acts as a consultant to media
Rick Hill
Rick Hill is Chair of the General Consumer Council for Northern Ireland. He has previously been Chair
of Northern Ireland Screen Commission, Chair of Consumer Focus Post and member of the
Consumer Focus UK Board, a member of the BBC Audience Council for Northern Ireland and BBC
Broadcasting Council for Northern Ireland. He is the former Minister of Garnerville Presbyterian
Church, Belfast.
Rick is now the owner and Director of Titanic Gap Media Consultancy, working with independent TV
and Film production companies.
Anne Lapping
Anne Lapping is Vice Chairman of the Council and Court of the London School of Economics. She
began her career as a reporter working for New Society and the Economist, before jointly founding
the TV production company Brook Productions. Anne is a Trustee of openDemocracy, Chair of the
Management Board of Polis, and a former Non-Executive Director of Channel 4, the Scott Trust and
Central and Northwest London Mental Health NHS Trust.
Charles McGhee
Charles McGhee, the former editor of The Herald in Glasgow, is an Honorary Professor in Journalism
and Media at Glasgow Caledonian University. Charles is a former member of the Press Complaints
Commission and President of the UK Society of Editors and served on the Scotland board of Maggie’s
Cancer Caring Centres.
William Newman
William Newman is a former Managing Editor of The Sun, he previously worked with a number of
newspapers including The Guardian, Sunday Times and Observer. William was a member of the
International Organisation of News Ombudsmen, and he is currently a trustee and former Chairman
of the Journalists’ Charity.
Keith Perch
Keith Perch has almost 30 years experience working in regional newspapers. He is the former editor
of the Leicester Mercury, the Derby Telegraph and the South Wales Echo, Cardiff. He also worked for
the Grimsby Telegraph, the Hull Daily Mail and the Birmingham Post and Mail. Keith is currently a
senior lecturer in journalism at the University of Derby and a media consultant.
Tom Phillips
Sir Tom Phillips is former UK Ambassador to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. He previously spent thirty
years with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in a wide range of senior roles, including as British
Ambassador to Israel and the UK’s Special Representative in Afghanistan. He is Senior Adviser to
GPW Ltd and a Member of the Wilton Park Advisory Council. Sir Tom Phillips’ appointment is subject
to clearance through the Government’s Business Appointments Rules process, which applies to
former Crown servants who intend to take up an outside appointment or employment after leaving
the Civil Service.
Richard Reed
Richard Reed is the co-founder of Innocent, the No.1 smoothie brand. Richard currently runs JamJar
Investments, which supports entrepreneurs to build successful businesses . He is the co-founder of
Art Everywhere and a patron of Peace One Day.
Clare Tickell
Dame Clare Tickell is Chief Executive of Hanover Housing Association, she was previously Chief
Executive of Action for Children. Clare has held numerous non-executive and advisory positions
throughout her career including chairing the Help the Hospices Commission into the Future of End of
Life Care, and was a member of the RSA 2020 Commission into Public Services.
Charles Wilson
Charles Wilson is the former managing director, of the Mirror Group Newspapers plc. Prior to this
role he edited a number of newspapers including The Times, Independent, the Scottish Sunday
Standard, Glasgow Herald and the Chicago Sun Times. His recent non-executive appointments
include board member of the Youth Justice Board, NED of the Chelsea & Westminster Hospital and
Vice Chairman of Addaction.
Background notes.
Selection panel.
Sir Hayden Phillips chaired the independent Panel to select a Chair and Board for IPSO, the new
regulator of the press. His fellow Panel members were , Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood ,
Dame Denise Platt, Paul Horrocks and John Witherow. Sir Alan Moses joined the Panel following his
appointment as Chair of IPSO to help select his fellow Board Directors
The Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO) is planned to start work in September. Unlike
the Press Complaints Commission which is currently in operation, IPSO will be a tough new regulator
which has strong legal powers, has the ability to undertake investigations into serious incidents of
breakdown in standards and then apply sanctions, and is independent from the press.
If you have further queries please contact James Connal on or 07788