You are on page 1of 5

How to Enroll a User in Your Course

1. Open the Manage tab.
2. Click the Roster link in the Course Management component.



3. Click Add a User.



Enroll a User Who has an ANGEL Account

If a user already has an account in the ANGEL system, you can search for their record to enroll
the user in your course.

4. Enter any portion of the user name in the Account Search box. For example, if you are
searching for Gail Smith, you could search for ‘gail’ or ‘smith’ or ‘gsm’ or any portion of the
words ‘gail’ or ‘smith’.
5. Click the Search button.



6. ANGEL will display the results that match your search criteria. Click the Select button next
to the user you wish to add.



Enroll a User Who Does Not Have an ANGEL Account

If a user does not already have an account in the ANGEL system, you must create a new user
account and then enroll the user in your course.

7. Click Create New Account.



8. Complete the account information:

 Create a Login Name (required field). The Login name is the unique username the
new user will use to log into the system. Login names must be unique within the
ANGEL system.
 Create a Source Id (required field). The Source Id is the unique student ID or user ID
ANGEL uses to identify the new user. Account ID values must also be unique within
the ANGEL system. The Source ID and Login Name are often the same.
 Enter the user’s First Name (required field).
 Enter the user’s Last Name (required field).
 Enter the user’s Email.
 Check the box next to Allow ANGEL Authentication. This means that ANGEL will
verify the user account instead of an external source (such as your institution’s
authentication point).
 Enter the same password in both the Password and Confirm text boxes.
 Select Force change to force the user to change the password during the first login.
 Select Never expires to indicate that the user’s password will not expire.
 Select Send e-mail to user to send the new user an email with the account
information.
 Click change to select an Organizational Unit (institution and/or department) for the
account.

9. Click Save to add the user to ANGEL.



Select Appropriate User Settings

10. Select the user’s Rights (level of access):

 Authenticated Guests - cannot view the student portion of the roster, cannot access
instructor or student tools, and can only view lesson content, chat rooms, or forums
that have been made viewable to users with a rights level of Guests (or lower).
 Student - cannot access instructor tools, and can only view lesson content that has
been made available to users with a rights level of Students (or lower).
 Team Leaders - cannot access instructor tools, and can only view lesson content
that has been made available to users with a rights level of Team Leaders (or lower).
 Course Mentors - cannot access instructor tools, and can only view lesson content
that has been made available to users with a rights level of Course Mentors (or
lower).
 Course Assistants - have limited access to instructor tools such as activity reports,
Course Gradebook, and Attendance Manager. Course Assistants can only view
lesson content that has been made available to users with a rights level of Course
Assistants (or lower).
 Course Editor - is the typical role for the instructor of record. Editors can manage the
course roster, edit all content and access all reports and utilities. Editors have full
access to all instructor tools, reports, etc. Editors are not subject to restrictions such
as Team association, Start Dates, End Dates and Hidden item settings.
 Course Administrators - have full access to all instructor tools, reports and editing
capabilities.

11. Select the Title that should be displayed for the user in the course roster. To add a title that
is not listed, click the Other button.
12. Choose Hidden - Yes or No. This option hides the user from view in email and other
communication tools. It is useful for an observer who does not want to be visible to the
class.
13. Choose Disabled - Yes or No. Note: If you set Disabled to Yes, the user will not be able to
access the course.

Set User Permissions

If you decide that you do not want a user to be able to communicate with other students in your
class via Chat, Course Mail or Discussion Forums, you can restrict the user’s participation to
Read Only.

14. Under the Permissions tab, select the radio buttons and checkbox as needed to change
user permissions. If you check Require moderation, the user and others in the class will not
see this user’s postings until the messages have been approved by you. Note: settings on
this tab override all other course or team settings.



15. Click the Save button to add the user to your course.