You are on page 1of 3

Thiruvalluvar Day celebrations on January 15.

1. Taiwanese poet Yusi was conferred the Thiruvalluvar Award

2. Perarignar Anna Award --- Panrutty S Ramachandran
3. Thanthai Periyar (EVK Sulochana Sampath),
4 Annal Ambedkar (M Prakash),
5 Perunthalaivar Kamarajar (Ki Ayyaru Vandayar),
6 Mahakavi Bharathiar (Ku Gnanasambanthan),
7 Pavendar Bharathidasan (Radha Chellappan),
8 .Thiru Vi Ka (J Asokamithran),
9. Muttamizh Kavalar Ki Aa Pe Viswanatham (V Jeyadevan).
prestigious 2014 Pulitzer Prize in the poetry --Vijay Seshadri
The footballer, who has won the Golden Shoe award three times in his career - Lionel
prestigious Vyas Samman for the year 2013 - Vishwanath Tripathi
Malala Yousafzai won 2013 International Childrens Peace Prize
Indian American author Jhumpa Lahiri featured for Man Booker Prize 2013
Amjad Ali Khan was chosen for the 21st Rajiv Gandhi National Sadhbhavna Award
Sugathakumari, the Malayalam Poetess won Saraswati Samman 2013 for Manalezhuthu
Slaman Rushdie has been named as the winner of 2014 Pen Pinter Prize
somasundaram - BHARATA RATNA JRD TATA award 2013
restigious Aryabhatta Award instituted by the Astronautical Society of India (ASI)- Dr. A.E.
Muthunayagam and Dr. V.K. Saraswat
sanjaya rajaram - world food prize
Gulzar Selected For Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2013
VV Dongre and Guocheng Zhang Won International Gandhi Award 2013 field of leprosy
to eradicate
Peace activist Ela Gandhi, who is a grand-daughter of Mahatma Gandhi, was among the
13 non-resident Indians (NRIs), persons of Indian origin (PIOs) and organizations
honoured with the prestigious Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards.
Mohinder Singh , Radhakrishnan Selected For Communal Harmony Awards
Eminent historian Bipan Chandra on 17 December 2013 was awarded Itihas Ratna from -
Asiatic Society Bihar.
The Ariyalur plant of Dalmia Cement (Bharat) Limited in Tamil Nadu has been honoured
with the - National Energy Conservation Award for the year 2012-13 by the Ministry of
Power, Government of India

Ship of Theseus was selected as best feature film and
Bhaag Milkha Bhaag was named as the best popular film in the -61st National Film
Awards 2013

International Mother Earth Day observed on 22 April 2014 with theme - Green Cities
An Indian environmental activist, Ramesh Agrawal won the prestigious - Goldman
Environmental Prize (the Green Nobel)
Noted Gandhian environmentalist and social activist- Gandhi Peace Prize for the year
2013 is - Chandi Prasad Bhatt
Reserve Bank of India (RBI) on 3 March 2014 extended the date for exchange of the pre-
2005 banknotes to - 1 January 2015.
The Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh -3rd Summit of Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-
Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation, BIMSTEC held in - Myanmar
US prestigious International Women of Courage Award to - Laxmi (ACID ATTACK)
Sarawasti Samman for year 2013 for a book Dhool Paudho Par - Govind Mishra, second
Hindi author to receive this award
SC re-constituted a Special Investigation Team (SIT) to monitor the probe into the black
money case under MB Shah.
SC upheld the constitutional validity of the Right to Education Act and said that the
Act will not apply to - unaided minority institutions
Constitutional Bench of Supreme Court quashed law is Kerala Irrigation and Water
Conservation (Amendment) Act, 2006 and said - water level of the dam can be
raised to 142 feet
SC banned use of bulls for Jallikattu events or bullock-cart races across the
country terming that - rights guaranteed to the bulls under the Prevention of
Cruelty to Animals (PCA) Act 1960 could not be taken away
Justice BS Chauhan appointed as the Chairman of the Cauvery Water Disputes
Tribunal as a successor of - Justice NP Singh
Ashwin B. Pandya on 15 May 2014 was appointed as the Chairman of the - Central
Water Commission
A 13-years and 11-month old girl of Andhra Pradesh on 25 May 2014 became the
youngest woman to climb the highest peak of the world, Mount Everest - Malavath
ONGC has started drilling its first-ever well in - Palar basin at Chinnapuliyur village
near Chennai
14th Attorney-General of India appointed to succeed Gulam Vahanvati is - Mukul
Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi - Nripendra Misra
National Security Adviser of India is - Ajit Doval
Secretary General of National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) is - Parvinder
Sohi Behuria
Chairman of the 7th Pay Commission - Former Supreme Court Justice Ashok
Kumar Mathur
olympic -- RUSSIA SOCCI
WWF (World Wide Fund for Nature) on 6 February 2014 appointed a person as
director-general (DG) of the WWF International - Marco Lambertini
Largest tribal religious congregation of the world began at Medaram in Warangal
district of the Telangana region - Sammakkaa Saarakka Fair
Volcano of a mountain in the main island of Java of Indonesia erupted on 13
February 2014 after rumbling for several weeks - Mount Kelup of Kediri district
India on 28 February 2014 observed National Science Day to mark the discovery of
- the Raman Effect by Indian physicist Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman
World Toilet Day is observed on 19 November
Sikkim won the National Tourism Award 2012-13
the person who on 4 December 2013 was re-appointed as the OPCW Director-General
at the 18th Session of the Conference of State Parties - Ambassador Ahmet Uzumcu
Prohibition of Employment as Manual Scavengers and their Rehabilitation Act 2013 came
into force on - 6 December 2013
the country that was elected as a non-permanent member of United Nation Security
Council (UNSC) - Jordan
Committee to formulate a Policy document on Corporate Governance the Chairmanship
of Adi Godrej.
His Imperial Majesty Akihito, Emperor of Japan and Imperial Majesty Michiko, Empress of
Japan were on a visit to India after 1989
Human Rights Day was observed across the world on 10 December 2013 to bring to light
the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
with a theme - 20 Years Working for Your Rights
the World Innovation Summit for Health-2013 (WISH-2013) began in Doha, Qatar on 11
December 2013 with an aim of - practical, innovative and sustainable health solutions
The Uttar Pradesh Government on 13 December 2013 set-up a high-level committee to
look into the issue of deaths of children in relief camps set after the - Muzaffarnagar riots

The Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra on 13 December 2013 passed the much -
awaited Anti Superstition Bill.
The first lunar rover of China which was carried by an unmanned remotely piloted
spacecraft Chang'e-3 was deployed successfully on moon on 14 December 2013. The
lunar rover that landed on mood was named - Jade Rabbit (called Yutu in Chinese)
The place at which the foundation stone of the state-of-the-art National Data Centre of
Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) was laid-Manesar, Gurgaon in Haryana
The Female sports personalities and the Olympic Bronze Medalists who on 22 Jan. 2013
nominated by Election Commission of India as National Icons- Mary Kom and Saina
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2013 Mr. Ronjan Sodhi ------Shooting
American writer Lydia Davis has won the 5th Man Booker International Prize. 2013
Srimanta Shankardeva Award to Smt. Sharmila Tagore ASSAM 2013
Pran Krishan Sikand --Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2012.