You are on page 1of 5

Indian Religion

There are many things in Indian religion

that you should know of. Indian
religions are also lifestyles. There are
many ways to accidentally offend the
people. India has three main religions:
Buddhism, Brahmanism/Hinduism and

Facts about Indian
-Hinduism is the largest religion in India.
-Most Indian religions suggest the followers be vegetarian
-Buddhism is one of the smaller religions in India
-Hinduists consider cows sacred
-Jainism is based off four principles
-The four main religions practice non-violence
-Hinduism is based off Brahmanism.
-The creators of Buddhism and Jainism were previously Hinduists, so
they have many common principles.
-There are many branches of Buddhism. Do not base one kind of
Buddhists on the others.
-Rituals and music are very important in Hinduism.
-There is the caste system in Hinduism. These social barriers prevent
some people from associating with others.
-Jainism followers wear masks to prevent themselves from killing
-In Hinduism, there are people known as untouchables. Hinduists
generally dislike these people.
-Cows are known for roaming the streets. They are sacred to Hindus so
do not kill them. It is considered sacrilegious to eat beef. Consider a
tofu burger instead.

Hinduism is the largest religion in India. They
believe in one god that takes many forms. This
god is named Brahma. They believe in the
importance of music and ritual. The Hinduism
religion teaches that there is social separation
in the castes. People from different castes
rarely socialize. If they break caste rules, they
become untouchables. Untouchables are
basically outcasts. Many people use
untouchables for hard labor. Hinduism is
based off Brahmanism.

Buddhism is one of the smaller religions in
India. It is about the middle way of
compassion. There are four guiding principles,
known as the four noble truths. The religion
was created by Siddhartha Gautama. This
religion is about how to overcome suffering by
reaching a state of nirvana. This religion is as
much as a lifestyle as it is a religion. However,
Buddhism does not focus as much on rituals as
Hinduism. Buddhists are usually nonviolent.


Jains are people of nonviolence. They have no
rituals, and live on four principles: Injure no
life, do not steal, do not lie, and do not be
greedy. Some Jain People wear masks to stop
killing bugs. Depending on how many senses
an organism has, the amount of protection will
vary. Organisms with five senses are the most
protected, organisms with one are the least.