You are on page 1of 2

Chartered Accountancy after 12

: Eligibility & Exam
Due to immeasurable money making capability many students are showing great interest in chartered
accountancy as a career option. But it is not simple, there are series of examinations that one has to
clear in order to become a chartered accountant. Owing to its tough nature students passing the
examination is very less. But with hard work and determination everything is possible.
In India one can opt to become chartered accountants after 12th. One can also go for the course after
graduation. In India the course of chartered accountancy is controlled by the institute of chartered
accountants of India in short ICAI. This statutory body is responsible for administering, regulating and
awarding certificate or degrees to successful candidates so that they can proudly call themselves
chartered accountants.
Aspirants seeking to become a Chartered Accountant should register with the Board of Studies at the
Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (ICAI) for the Common Proficiency Test (CPT). The
registration has to be done 60 days prior to appearing for the exam. Candidates can enroll for CPT after
passing the class 10 exam itself. On passing the +2 examination or a recognized equivalent examination,
candidates can write the CPT.
Eligibility for Chartered Accountancy Exams
For PE-1: Those who have passed the intermediate examination from commerce stream can
register for the test. It. Those who are appearing for the 10+2 exam are also eligible to apply.
For PE-2: Those who have passed the PE-1/Foundation course are eligible to apply for the
second level.
For Final: Aspirants who have successfully completed the PE-2 exam can apply for the final level
exam. In addition, he should acquire a qualifying certificate from the Board of Studies.
Exam and curriculum
CA course is a blend of practical and theoretical education. It consists of three levels of examinations
and three years of practical training under a practicing Chartered Accountant. The 3 levels of CA courses
Final course
The candidates must pass the CPT entrance exam after 12th to join the CA courses. The candidates
passing the CPT programme goes for IPCC then Final course. On successful completion of the +2 exam
and the CPT, candidates are eligible to register for the Integrated Professional Competence Course
(IPCC). Candidates have the option of choosing Group I and/or Group II. A nine month of course study is
required. The orientation course is for one week with thirty five hour credit. It covers areas like office
procedure, personality development, general commercial knowledge, communication skills, business
environment etc. After the orientation course, candidates have to gain competence in information
technology. Hundred hours of Information Technology Training (ITT) has to be completed by the
candidate, followed by article ship training.
On completing the nine month foundation course study, candidates are required to appear for the
Group I and/or Group II examinations. Group I has four papers while Group II has three papers. This is
the Integrated Professional Competence test commonly known as the intermediate examination.
Graduates with 50 per cent marks in subjects (Auditing and Commercial, Accounting, or Mercantile Law)
and graduates in other disciplines with 55 per cent marks can directly register for the IPCE course
without appearing for the foundation course.
On passing either the groups or Group I alone of Integrated Professional Competence Examination
(IPCE), candidates can register as Articled Assistant for a three year period. Aspirants can take the final
examination on completion of the three year articled training or while serving the last six months of
the training. On acquiring the ICAI membership, candidates will be designated as Chartered Accountant.