BOARD OF PENSIONS This has been a challenging year, not only for the Board of Pensions but also

for the entire Office of Administrative Services. The death of our friend, colleague and co-worker, Reverend David Hawkins left a major void in our lives and brought home the reality of just how much we and the entire Annual Conference depended on him. Thankfully David’s life of grace overflowed to staff of the Office of Administrative Services, and the work of the Board of Pensions continued smoothly. A special heartfelt thanks is extended to Melinda Parker and Nancy Pearson for dedicated service in the midst of personal loss. A great deal of time and effort on the part of the executive committees of the Board of Pensions and the Council on Finance and Administration was spent in securing a new Director of Administrative Services who had not only the business and financial knowledge but also the pastoral gifts and graces needed for this position. After a period of receiving and reviewing resumes and then conducting interviews the executive committees of both entities (this also included two additional lay persons from each board) recommended to the entire Board and Council that James R. Allen be offered the position of director. This was done on January 8, 2008 and each Board, voting separately, accepted the recommendation. The Board of Pensions is truly delighted in the decision to offer this position to Jim Allen. He has been sensitive to the circumstances that surrounded this opening and has made himself available to everyone in the Annual Conference. I would personally like to say thank you to Ken Edwards, Chair of CF&A, for his leadership and wisdom throughout this process. Once again in an attempt to ease the anxiety of clergy and their families as they approach retirement we hosted a one day Pre-Retirement Planning Seminar on February 20, 2008 at Blakemore United Methodist Church. Thirteen pastors and spouses attended. A representative from the General Board of Pension and Health Benefits (GBOPHB) presented information and was available for individual consultations. A representative of the Social Security Administration was also present. This event occurs annually and those who anticipate retiring within the next 5 years are invited to attend. Please note that next year (2009) the Board of Pensions will be sponsoring its quadrennial two day planning for retirement seminar for those over the age of 45. The following year (2010) a seminar will be presented for those under the age of 45. Two other reminders of opportunities for Clergy families: 1) The General Board of Pensions and Health Benefits does have a long term disability plan for those who are interested. This opportunity was made available to all pension participants. 2) The Board would also remind the Annual Conference that it has been the practice of the Conference to provide Grave Markers for deceased United Methodist Clergy. Requests should be made to the Office of Administrative Services or to the chair of the Conference Board of Pensions. Years ago, the Conference Board of Pensions set a goal for the pre-82 plan past service rate of at least 1.0% of conference average compensation (CAC). This Board is proposing for 2009 a past service rate of $614 for pre-1982 service years, which will be 1.05% of the 2009 CAC. This represents a $29 (or 5%) increase over the 2008 rate.

Board of Pensions 2009 Budget CRSP/CPP & Special Grants Board Expenses Emergency/Moving Expenses Death Benefits Pension Office Retirement Planning Seminar Total $ 3,240,743 5,000 15,000 3,000 139,514 15,000 $ 3,418,257

To fund the Board’s budget for 2009 of $3,418,257 including $3,240,743 for CRSP, CPP, and Special Grants, the Board requests an apportionment for 2009 of $2,652,000 which reflects a zero (0%) increase over 2008. The remaining $766,257 will be funded by the income and growth of the Conference’s pension and benefit reserves. The Board of Pensions would also move that money presented by Cokesbury to our Conference Board of Pensions at this 2008 session be sent to the Central Conference Pension Initiative which was established by the 2004 General Conference. It has been a joy to serve this past quadrennium as the Chair of the Tennessee Conference Board of Pensions. I have enjoyed working with a wonderful Board and have delighted in working with clergy who are just beginning their ministries in this conference. Perhaps my greatest joy has been in doing what little I could to express appreciation to those who are in the process of moving into a retired relationship and to those who are retired. You are my heroes! Respectfully submitted, Dr. Steve Angus, Chairperson

SUPPLEMENT TO THE BOARD OF PENSIONS REPORT A. Changes in the list of Conference Claimants: 1. The following have died in the past year: a. Ministers: S. Steven Smith William C. Finch Wayne F. Lineberry William D. Comperry Calvin W. Reagan Gerald W. McCulloh Roy J. West Albert Rogan Herman Yates, Jr. April 11, 2007 June 13, 2007 August 30, 2007 November 16, 2007 February 16, 2008 February 23, 2008 March 4, 2008 March 14, 2008 March 20, 2008

b. Surviving Spouses: E. June Case Jessie S. Hembree Estelle M. Cherry Pearl C. Hunt Ida Mae Churchwell c. Spouses: Margaret A. Smith Sharon B. Huffman Evelyn Ruth Davis E. Joyce Pennington

April 3, 2007 May 14, 2007 June 25, 2007 August 13, 2007 December 10, 2007 June 13, 2007 June 26, 2007 November 22, 2007 February 26, 2008

2. Additions by Regular Retirement (eff. July 1, 2008 unless otherwise noted): Leland T. Carden Kenneth L. Clayton Dorris N. French Francis J. Hagan Daniel M. Hyde Dickie W. Johnson James E. Kayler Thomas W. Madron John A. Pennington Jo Bentley Reece September 20, 2008 James L. Williams December 31, 2007 3. Additions by Early Retirement (eff. July 1, 2008): Chestina M. Archibald Joel T. Jones 4. Addition by Honorable Location-Retirement: Brian J. McKerley 5. Other: Recognition for service in the Tennessee Conference (none). 6. Surviving Spouses Added: Harriett E. Comperry Melisa J. Derseweh Lucy B. Finch Michael M. Hodge Dorothy W. Reagan Karen J. McCulloh Margaret C. West Edna R. Yates B. Special Grants: Wilma Wayne

C. We recommend Incapacity Leave be granted to the following: NAME AGE on 6/30/2008 55 52 57 63 52 62 63 64 53 ORIGINAL LEAVE DATE 07/01/1999 09/01/1999 01/01/2000 07/01/2002 07/01/2003 05/01/2005 07/01/2005 11/01/2005 11/01/2007

Roy Hardiman, Jr. Virginia Kessen J C Lawson Thomas Rascoe Isaac Davis Richard Kaleida Donald Stone H. James Smith R. Clay Hall