You are on page 1of 6

Chronology of india's freedom struggle


Partition of Bengal annouced to come in force from Oct 15 1906.

1906 DEC 31
Muslim League founded at Dacca.

1908 April 30
Khudiram Bose executed.

1908 July 22
Tilak sentenced to six years jail on charges of sedition.

1909 May 21
Minto Morley reforms Of Indian Council Act 1909

The coronation or Delhi Durbar held at which the Partition of Bengal was cancelled.

Delhi becomes the new capital of India.

1912 Dec 23
Bomb thrown on Lord Hardinge on his state entry in India.

1913 Nov 1
Ghadar Party formed at San franscisco.

1914 June 16
B G Tilak Realeased from Jail.

1914 Aug 4
Out Break of the First World War.

1914 Sep 29
Komagatu ship reaches Budge Budge

1915 Jan
Gandhiji arrives in Delhi.

1915 Feb 19
Death of Gopal Krishna Gokhale.

1916 April 28
Tilak found the Home Rule League with its HQ at Poona.
1916 Sep 25
Another Home Rule League started by Annie Besant

1917 April
Gandhi Launches the Champaran Campaign in Bihar to focus attention on the grievances of
indigo planters.

1917 Aug 20
The Secretary of State for India, Montagu, declares that the goal of British Govt in Ind is the
introduction of Responsible Govt.

Beggining of Trade Union Movement In India.

1918 April
Rowlatt Committee Submits its Report. Rowlatt Bill introduces in Feb 1919.

1919 April 6
All India Hartal over Rowlatt Bill.

1919 April 13
Jallianwala Bagh Tragedy.

1919 Dec 5
The House of Commons Passed the Montagu Chelmsford Reform or the Govt of India Act,1919.
The new reforms under this act came in peration in 1921.

First Meeting of the All India Trade Union Congress.(Narain Malhar Joshi)

1920 Dec
The INC adopts the Non Cooperation Resolution (Started in Aug 31 1920)

The Non coperation Movement suspended on Feb 11 12, after the voilent incidents at Chauri
Chaura on Feb 5 1922.

1922 Aug
Moplah rebellion on the Malabar Coast.

1923 Jan 1
Swarajist Party formed by Motilal Nehru and others.

The Communist Party of India starts its activities first at Kanpur.

1925 Aug
Kakori Train Conspiracy

1927 Nov 8
The British PM Annouces the appointment of the Simon Commission to suggest future
constitutional reforms in India.Simon Commission arrives in Bombay on Feb 3 1928 and all
India Hartal.Lala Lajpat Rai assaulted by police at Lahore.

Nehru Report Recommends principles for the new constitution of India . All Parties Conference
considers the Nehru Report Aug 28

1928 nov 17
Death of Lala Lajpat Rai.

Sarda Act Passed prohibiting marriage of girls below 14 and boys below 18 of age with effect
from 1930.

1929 Mar 9
All Parties Muslim Conference formulates the Forteen points under the leadership Of Jinnah.

1929 April 8
Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt drops bombs on Central Legislative Assembly.

1929 Oct 31
Lord Irwin's Announcement that goal of British policy in India was the grant of Dominion status.

1929 Dec 31
the Lahore session of INC adopts the goal of complete independece-poorna Swaraj for India.

1930 Jan 1
Nehru hoists the tricolour of Indian Independence on the banks of Ravi at Lahore.

1930 Jan 26
First Independence Day Observed.

1930 Feb 14
The working committee of the INC meets at Sabarmati and passes the civil Disobedience

1930 March 12
Gandhi Launches the Civil Disobedience movement with his epic Dandi March (March 12 to
April 5),First phase of the C D Movement March 12 1930 to March 5 1931.

1930 Nov 30
First round table conference begins in London to consider the report of Simon.

1931 March 5
Gandhi Irwin Pact signed , Civil Dosobedience Movement Suspended.

1931 March 23
Bhagat Sing, Sukh Dev and Rajguru Executed.

1931 Sep 7
Second Round Table Conference.

1931 Dec 28
1930 Mar 12 Gandhi Launches the Civil Disobedience movement with his epic Dandi March
(March 12 to April 5),First phase of the C D Movement March 12 1930 to March 5 1931.

1932 Jan 4
Gandhiji Arrested and imprisoned without Trial.

1932 Aug 16
British Prime minister Pamsay Macdonald annouces his infamous "Communal Awards".

1932 Sep 20
Gandhiji in jail begins the epic fast unto death against teh Communal Awards and the fat on sep
26 after the Poona Pact.

1932 Nov 17
The IIrd RTC begins in London.

1933 May 9
Gandhiji released from prison as he begins the fast for self purification .INC suspends C D
Movement but Authorizes Satyagraha by ndividuals.

Gandhiji withdraws from active politics and and Devote himself to Constructive programmes.

1935 Aug 4
The GOvt India Act Passed.

Elections held in India Under the Act of 1935 (Feb 1937).The INC contest election and forms
ministries in 7 provinces.

1938 feb 19-20

Haripura session of INC Subhas Chandra Bose elected Congress President.

1939 March 10-12

Tripura session of INC.

1939 April
Subhash Chandra Bose resignd as the president of INC.
1939 Sep 3
Second World War.

1939 Oct 27
the INC ministries in Province.

1939 Nov 5
The congress ministries in province resign in protest against the war policy of British Govt.

1939 Dec 22
The Muslim League observes the resignation of the congress minister as the Deliverance Day.

1940 March
Lahore session of the Muslim League passes the Pakistan Resolution.

1940 Aug 10
Vice roy Linlithgow annouces the August Offer.

1940 Aug 18-22

The congress working committe rejects the August Offer.

1941 Jauary 17
Subhas Chandra bose escapes from India Arrives in Berlin (March 28).

1942 March 11
Churchill annonces the Cripps Mission

1942 Aug 7-8

The INC meets in Bombay Adopts Quit India resolution.8

1942 Aug 9
Gandhiji and other Congress leaders arrested.

1942 Aug 11
Quit India Movement begins the great August Uprising.

1942 Sep 1
Subhas Chandra Bose establish the Indian National army (Azad Hind Fauz)

1943 oct 21
Subhash Chandra bose proclaims the formation of Provisional Government of free India.

1943 Dec
Karachi session of the Muslim League adopts the slogan Divide and Quit.

1944 June 25
Wavell calls Simla Conference in a bid to form the Executive Council of Indian Political leaders.
1946 Feb 18
Mutiny of the Indian Naval Ratings in Bombay.

1946 March 15
British P M Attlee annonces Cabinet Mission to propose new solution to the Indian Deadlock
Cabinet Mission Arrives in New Delhi (March 14) issue proposal (May 16)

946 July 6
Jawaharlal Nehru takes over as Congress President.

1946 Aug 6
Wavell invites Nehru to form an Interim Govt Interim Governmnet takes office.(Sep 2).

1946 Dec 9
First session of Constituent Assebly starts .Muslim League boycotts it.

1947 Feb 20
British PM Atlee Declared that the british govt would leave India not later than june 1948.

1947 March 24
Lord Mountbatten the last British Viceroy and Governor Genral of India sworn in (March 24
1947 to june 21 1948).

1947 June 3
Mountbatten Plan for the partition for the partition of India and the annoucement (june 4) that the
transfer of power will take place on Aug 15.

1947 Aug 15
India wins Freedom.