Case 2:12-cv-02546-DGC Document 251 Filed 04/30/14 Page 1 of 4

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18

Jennifer Chang Newell*
Cecillia D. Wang*
Christine P. Sun*
Araceli Martinez-Olguin*
Michael Tan*
R. Orion Danjuma*
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION
IMMIGRANTS’ RIGHTS PROJECT
39 Drumm Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
T: (415) 343-0770
F: (415) 395-0950
jnewell@aclu.org
cwang@aclu.org
csun@aclu.org
amartinez-olguin@aclu.org
mtan@aclu.org
odanjuma@aclu.org
Daniel J. Pochoda (Bar No. 021979)
James Duff Lyall (Bar No. 330045)**
ACLU FOUNDATION OF ARIZONA
3707 North 7th Street, Suite 235
Phoenix, AZ 85014
T: (602) 650-1854
F: (602) 650-1376
dpochoda@acluaz.org
jlyall@acluaz.org

19
20

Victor Viramontes*
Jorge M. Castillo*
MEXICAN AMERICAN LEGAL
DEFENSE AND EDUCATIONAL FUND
634 S. Spring Street, 11th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90014
T: (213) 629-2512
F: (213) 629-0266
vviramontes@maldef.org
jcastillo@maldef.org
Linton Joaquin*
Karen C. Tumlin*
Shiu-Ming Cheer*
Nora A. Preciado*
Nicholás Espíritu*
NATIONAL IMMIGRATION LAW
CENTER
3435 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 2850
Los Angeles, CA 90010
T: (213) 639-3900
F: (213) 639-3911
joaquin@nilc.org
tumlin@nilc.org
cheer@nilc.org
preciado@nilc.org
espiritu@nilc.org
Attorneys for Plaintiffs
Additional Co-Counsel on Subsequent Pages

21
22

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

23

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

24
25
26
27
28

ARIZONA DREAM ACT COALITION;
et al.,
Plaintiffs,
vs.
JANICE K. BREWER; et al. ,
Defendants.

CASE NO. 02:12-cv-02546-DGC-PHX
PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR
SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND FOR
PERMANENT INJUNCTION
[ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED]

Case 2:12-cv-02546-DGC Document 251 Filed 04/30/14 Page 2 of 4

1

Pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Local Rule Civil

2

56.1, Plaintiffs, by and through their counsel of record, moves this court for summary

3

judgment on their Equal Protection claims for declaratory and injunctive relief, on the

4

grounds that Defendants are unlawfully discriminating against Plaintiffs in violation of

5

the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. This motion is supported by

6

the attached Memorandum of Points and Authorities, the accompanying Statement of

7

Facts and Declaration of Christine P. Sun, and all exhibits and statements previously

8

submitted to this Court and the Ninth Circuit, and incorporated by reference.

9

Plaintiffs request that the Court enters an order granting summary judgment,

10

permanently enjoining Defendants, their officials, agents, employees, assigns, and all

11

other persons acting in concert or participating with them from implementing or

12

enforcing the state’s illegal policy and practice of denying driver’s licenses and state

13

identification cards to Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals grantees; and orders such

14

further relief as this Court deems just and equitable.

15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24

Dated: April 30, 2014

Respectfully submitted,
/s/ Christine P. Sun
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
FOUNDATION IMMIGRANTS’ RIGHTS
/s/ Karen C. Tumlin
NATIONAL IMMIGRATION LAW
CENTER
/s/Jorge M. Castillo
MEXICAN AMERICAN LEGAL
DEFENSE AND EDUCATIONAL FUND
Attorneys for Plaintiffs

25
26
27
28
1

Case 2:12-cv-02546-DGC Document 251 Filed 04/30/14 Page 3 of 4

1

Additional Co-Counsel

2

Tanya Broder*
NATIONAL IMMIGRATION LAW
CENTER
405 14th Street, Suite 1400
Oakland, CA 94612
T: (510) 663-8282
F: (510) 663-2028
broder@nilc.org

3
4
5
6

Lee Gelernt*
Jessica Polansky*
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
FOUNDATION
IMMIGRANTS’ RIGHTS PROJECT
125 Broad St., 18th Floor
New York, NY 10004
T: (212) 549-2660
F: (212) 549-2654
lgelernt@aclu.org

7
8
9
10

*Pro hac vice
**Admitted pursuant to Ariz. Sup. Ct. R. 38(f)

11

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
2

Case 2:12-cv-02546-DGC Document 251 Filed 04/30/14 Page 4 of 4

1

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

2
3

I hereby certify that on this 30th day of April, 2014, I electronically transmitted the

4

foregoing document to the U.S. District Court Clerk’s Office by using the ECF System

5

for filing and transmittal.

6
7
8

By: /s/ Christine P. Sun
Christine P. Sun

9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
3