Sharia Law

Sharia law is the law of Islam. Sharia
(also spelled 'Shariah') is cast from the Quran, the actions and words ofMuhammad, and the collective
reasoning and deductions of Muslim imams.
As a legal system, Islam's Sharia law covers a wide range of subjects. The stipulations of the Sharia law,
however, are unlike any other legal system in the world.
According to the Sharia law:

Theft is punishable by amputation of the right hand (above).
Criticizing or denying any part of the Quran is punishable by death.
Criticizing or denying Muhammad is a prophet is punishable by death.
Criticizing or denying Allah, the moon god of Islam is punishable by death.
A Muslim who becomes a non-Muslim is punishable by death.
A non-Muslim who leads a Muslim away from Islam is punishable by death.
A non-Muslim man who marries a Muslim woman is punishable by death.
A man can marry an infant girl and consummate the marriage when she is 9 years old.
Girls' clitoris should be cut (per Muhammad's words in Book 41, Kitab Al-Adab, Hadith 5251).
A woman can have 1 husband, but a man can have up to 4 wives; Muhammad can have more.
A man can unilaterally divorce his wife but a woman needs her husband's consent to divorce.
A man can beat his wife for insubordination.
Testimonies of four male witnesses are required to prove rape against a woman.
A woman who has been raped cannot testify in court against her rapist(s).
A woman's testimony in court, allowed only in property cases, carries half the weight of a man's.
A female heir inherits half of what a male heir inherits.
A woman cannot drive a car, as it leads to fitnah (upheaval).
A woman cannot speak alone to a man who is not her husband or relative.
Meat to be eaten must come from animals that have been sacrificed to Allah - i.e., be Halal.
Muslims should engage in Taqiyya and lie to non-Muslims to advance Islam.
The list goes on.

Sharia is the national law of Saudi Arabia but has been seeping
into Europe, UK, Canada andAmerica as Islam expands, led by the Muslim Brotherhood movement.

000 hadiths respectively (although the majority of entries are repetitions). There exist five schools of thought of fiqh. ijma and qiyas/ijtihad. Interpretations of the Sunnah 3. only [63] 80 verses of the Quran contain legal prescriptions. The Sunnah is primarily contained in the hadith or reports of Muhammad's sayings. Abu Dawood. including religious. and is based on [71] the Quran.000 and 12. Al-Nasa'i. Ibn Majah. local customs (urf) and laws motivated by public interest. [67] [67] political.e. and thus not a part of Sharia (although scholars categorize it [67] as Islamic law). Sunnah and the actions and sayings of the first three generations of Muslims.Sources of sharia law There are two sources of Sharia (understood as the divine law): the Quran and Sunnah. [72] Sharia must therefore be. Because of the involvement of human interpretation. all founded within the first four centuries of Islam. For Shias. The six acclaimed Sunni collections were compiled by (in order of decreasing importance) Muhammad al-Bukhari. The Sunnah is the life and example of the Islamic prophet Muhammad. contain about 7. regarded the most authentic. Maliki. Muslim ibn al-Hajjaj. and differing perspectives on each interpretation. While the above two sources are regarded as infallible. The process of interpreting the two primary sources of Islamic law is called fiqh (literally meaning "intelligence") or Islamic jurisprudence. Ijma. Shafi'i and Hanbali and one Shia: Ja'fari (followed by most Shia Muslims ) Many Islamic scholars today advocate renewed approaches to fiqh that don't necessarily follow the traditional [67] five allegiances. Qiyas/Ijtihad analogical deduction ("individual reasoning") [67] Amongst the sources unique to fiqh. Much of the Quran exhorts Muslims to general moral values. is confirmed by several verses of [Quran 33:21] [64] the Quran (e. the fiqh is considered fallible. civil. usually by determining the reliability of the narrators that transmitted them. The Salafi movement attracts followers from various schools of fiqh. constitutional and procedural law. perfect and unchanging. Tirmidhi. In Shi'a [68] jurisprudence the fourth source may be expanded to include formal logic (mantiq). Interpretations of the Quran 2. the [66] Sunnah may also include anecdotes The Twelve Imams. The Sunnah's importance as a source of Sharia. with the most authentic ones forming during the sahih period (850 to 915 CE). there are many compilations of hadith. Fiqh covers all aspects of law. his tacit approval of actions and his demeanor. his actions. The collections by al-Bukhari and Muslim. Fiqh depends on 4 sources: 1. While there is only one Quran. The evolution or refinement of [73] sharia is an effort to reflect God's will more perfectly. the former is preferred. there is consensus among Muslims that sharia is a reflection of God's will for humankind.g. the fiqh standards may change in different contexts. Although there are many different interpretations of Sharia. consensus amongst scholars ("collective reasoning") 4. ). Four are [70] Sunni Hanafi. The Quran is viewed as the unalterable word of God. so [69] long as they were allowed by the above four sources. i. in its purest sense. Historically the fiqh [66] [69] also came to include comparative law. The hadiths have been evaluated on [65] authenticity. .