Case 3:07-md-00001-PAM-JRK

Document 315

Filed 01/04/2010

Page 1 of 8

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA IN RE TRI-STATE WATER RIGHTS LITIGATION MDL Case No. 1824 Case No. 3:07-md-01 (PAM/JRK) Joint Motion for Order Regarding Confidentiality of Settlement Negotiations

The States of Alabama, Florida, and Georgia respectfully request that this Court issue an Order declaring that ongoing settlement negotiations among the three States, including related negotiations with any other party to this litigation, as well as any documents, data or other materials prepared in anticipation of or exchanged in the course of such negotiations, and all statements made during the negotiations, are and shall be kept confidential. In support of this motion, the three States state as follows: 1. On December 15, 2009, the Governors of the States of Alabama, Florida and

Georgia met to discuss possible resolution of issues involved in this litigation. The three Governors have directed their staffs to engage in expedited discussions designed to determine whether a negotiated solution is possible at this time. The three States intend to pursue those negotiations in the coming months, and at least five meetings are currently scheduled. 2. Although the three States already have commenced confidential negotiations, they

believe a court order declaring the confidential nature of their discussions may encourage the open exchange of information and proposals necessary to address the issues at bar, and discourage the improper dissemination of the same. 3. The three States anticipate that, from time to time, they might need to include in

their discussions other parties to this litigation, as well as non-parties, if necessary. If the Court

Case 3:07-md-00001-PAM-JRK

Document 315

Filed 01/04/2010

Page 2 of 8

enters an Order requiring all negotiations to remain confidential, then the three States each shall ensure that non-parties participating in the discussions enter a confidentiality agreement. The three States also will deem the Order to be in effect and binding on them despite the presence of those non-parties in their settlement discussions. 4. The three States do not request a stay of Phase Two at this time, nor do they

request any modification to the current schedule for Phase Two at this time. 5. Counsel for parties have been contacted regarding their positions on this motion.

To date, none of the parties has indicated it will oppose this motion. Gwinnett County does not oppose, but reserves the opportunity at the appropriate time to address any agreement which may be reached in the absence of its participation. Southeast Federal Power Customers does not oppose this motion, but intends to file a separate response to the motion. Wherefore, the three States respectfully request this Court enter an Order declaring that the States’ negotiations, including all documents, data or other materials prepared in anticipation of or exchanged in the course of such negotiations, and all statements made during the negotiations, are and shall be kept confidential, and further that all parties to this litigation participating in such negotiations also shall be bound by the Order. DATED this 4th day of January, 2010.

COUNSEL FOR THE STATE OF FLORIDA Bill McCollum ATTORNEY GENERAL Jonathon A. Glogau Florida Bar No. 371823 Chief, Complex Litigation The Capitol, Suite PL-01 Tallahassee, FL 32399 (850) 414-3300 2

Case 3:07-md-00001-PAM-JRK

Document 315

Filed 01/04/2010

Page 3 of 8

jon.glogau@myflorida.com Christopher M. Kise FOLEY & LARDNER LLP 106 East College Ave Tallahassee, FL 32301 (850) 513-3367 ckise@foley.com James T. Banks HOGAN & HARTSON, LLP 555 13th St. NW Washington, D.C. 20004 (202) 637-5802 (202) 637-5910 (fax) jtbanks@hhlaw.com Parker D. Thomson Florida Bar No. 081225 HOGAN & HARTSON, LLP 1111 Brickell Ave, Suite 1900 Miami, FL 33131 (305) 459-6678 (305) 459-6550 (fax) pdthomson@hhlaw.com s/ Thomas R. Wilmoth Thomas R. Wilmoth Nebraska Bar No. 22518 Donald G. Blankenau Nebraska Bar No. 18528 BLANKENAU WILMOTH LLP 206 S. 13th Street, Suite 1425 Lincoln, NE 68508-2002 Tel. (402) 475-7080 Fax (402) 475-7085 tom@aqualawyers.com don@aqualawyers.com

3

Case 3:07-md-00001-PAM-JRK

Document 315

Filed 01/04/2010

Page 4 of 8

COUNSEL FOR THE STATE OF GEORGIA Thurbert E. Baker Georgia Bar No. 033887 ATTORNEY GENERAL Isaac Byrd Georgia Bar No. 101150 Deputy Attorney General Robert S. Bomar Georgia Bar No. 066400 Georgia State Attorney General's Office 40 Capitol Sq SW Atlanta, GA 30334 (404) 656-3300 (404) 656-0667 bbomar@law.ga.gov s/ R. Todd Silliman R. Todd Silliman Georgia Bar No. 646005 Bruce P Brown Georgia Bar No. 064460 John C. Allen Georgia Bar No. 159073 MCKENNA LONG & ALDRIDGE, LLP 303 Peachtree St., NE, Suite 5300 Atlanta, GA 30308 (404) 527-4000 (404) 527-4198 (fax) bbrown@mckennalong.com jallen@mckennalong.com tsilliman@mckennalong.com

Of Counsel: Steven P. Quarles Thomas R. Lundquist CROWELL & MORING LLP 1001 Pennsylvania Ave, NW Washington, D.C. 20004-2595 (202) 624-2500

4

Case 3:07-md-00001-PAM-JRK

Document 315

Filed 01/04/2010

Page 5 of 8

COUNSEL FOR THE STATE OF ALABAMA William D. Little, III Assistant Attorney General for the State of Alabama ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE 11 South Union St. Montgomery, AL 36130 (334) 242-4162 (334) 242-48900 (fax) s/ Matthew H. Lembke Matthew H. Lembke Joel M. Kuehnert BRADLEY ARANT BOULT CUMMINGS, LLP One Federal Place 1819 5th Ave. North Birmingham, AL 35203-2119 (205) 521-8560 (205) 521-8800 (fax) mlembke@babc.com jkuehnert@babc.com William S. Cox, III W. Larkin Radney, IV LIGHTFOOT, FRANKLIN & WHITE, LLC 400 North 20th St. Birmingham, AL 35203 (205) 581-0700 (205) 380-9147 (fax) wcox@lfwlaw.com lradney@lfwlaw.com

5

Case 3:07-md-00001-PAM-JRK

Document 315

Filed 01/04/2010

Page 6 of 8

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE I hereby certify that on January 4, 2010, I caused to be filed electronically with the Clerk of the Court through the CM/ECF system the foregoing JOINT MOTION FOR ORDER REGARDING CONFIDENTIALITY OF SETTLEMENT NEGOTIATIONS; and that CM/ECF system will send an e-notice of the electronic filing to the following: Edward S. Allen eallen@balch.com John C. Allen jallen@mckennalong.com Haley A. Andrews handrews@lightfootlaw.com Thurbert E. Baker pwitte@law.ga.gov;ibyrd@law.ga.gov James T. Banks jtbanks@hhlaw.com;nnbarefoot@hhlaw.com;gecata@hhlaw.com;jrotondi@hhlaw.com Natalie Barefoot nnbarefoot@hhlaw.com;masantana@hhlaw.com Patricia T. Barmeyer pbarmeyer@kslaw.com Donald G. Blankenau don@aqualawyers.com;sharon@aqualawyers.com Robert S. Bomar bbomar@law.ga.gov;bbrbomar@comcast.net Bruce P. Brown bbrown@mckennalong.com James A. Byram , Jr jbyram@balch.com Isaac Byrd IByrd@law.ga.gov;IByrd90211@aol.com Thomas L. Casey , III tcasey@balch.com;jschober@balch.com William S. Cox , III wcox@lfwlaw.com 6

Case 3:07-md-00001-PAM-JRK

Document 315

Filed 01/04/2010

Page 7 of 8

Lee A. DeHihns , III lee.dehihns@alston.com Teri L. Donaldson tdonaldson@ssd.com William M. Droze william.droze@troutmansanders.com;terri.griffin@troutmansanders.com J. Patrick Floyd j.patrickfloyd@jpatrickfloyd.com Jonathan Alan Glogau jon.glogau@myfloridalegal.com;joann.mrazek@myfloridalegal.com Lewis B. Jones lbjones@kslaw.com;abalderamos@kslaw.com;pbarmeyer@kslaw.com Nikaa Baugh Jordan njordan@lfwlaw.com Joel M. Kuehnert jkuehnert@babc.com Matthew H. Lembke mlembke@babc.com James A. Maysonett james.a.maysonett@usdoj.gov;EFILE_WMRS.ENRD@usdoj.gov C. Grady Moore , III gmoore@balch.com Clyde Y. Morris , Jr clydemorris@charter.net W. Larkin Radney , IV lradney@lfwlaw.com Natalie D. Sacha natalie.sacha@troutmansanders.com;angela.levin@troutmansanders.com Robert E. Sasser rsasser@sasserlawfirm.com;kwilson@sasserlawfirm.com;frank.taylor@atchisonlaw.com; tvickers@sasserlawfirm.com Karen A. Sealy ksealy@sonnenschein.com 7

Case 3:07-md-00001-PAM-JRK

Document 315

Filed 01/04/2010

Page 8 of 8

Sean W. Shirley sshirley@balch.com;kepowell@balch.com R. Todd Silliman tsilliman@mckennalong.com Benjamin Lee Snowden ben.snowden@alston.com Ruth Ann Storey ruth.ann.storey@usdoj.gov Spencer M. Taylor staylor@balch.com Andrew McFee Thompson athompson@sgrlaw.com;jreece@sgrlaw.com Parker D. Thomson pdthomson@hhlaw.com;gecata@hhlaw.com Orlando E. Vidal ovidal@sonnenschein.com;ksealy@sonnenschein.com;jaquilina@sonnenschein.com; nreeber@sonnenschein.com;jwhitley@sonnenschein.com Clinton A. Vince cvince@sonnenschein.com;jgratch@sonnenschein.com Thomas R. Wilmoth tom@aqualawyers.com;sharon@aqualawyers.com Charles A. Zdebski charles.zdebski@troutmansanders.com s/ Thomas R. Wilmoth Thomas R. Wilmoth Nebraska Bar No. 22518 BLANKENAU WILMOTH LLP 206 S. 13th Street, Suite 1425 Lincoln, NE 68508-2002 Tel. (402) 475-7080 Fax (402) 475-7085 tom@aqualawyers.com

8

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful