You are on page 1of 2

In Hinduism, an astra (Sanskrit: ) was a supernatural weapon, presided over by a

specific deity. To summon or use an astra required knowledge of a specific

incantation/invocation, when armed. The deity invoked would then endow the weapon,
making it impossible to counter through regular means. Specific conditions existed involving
the usage of astras, the violation of which could be fatal. Because of the power involved, the
knowledge involving an astra was passed from a teacher to a pupil by word of mouth alone,
and only following the establishment of the student's character. Certain astras had to be
handed down from the deity involved directly, knowledge of the incantation being insufficient.
Astras come into importance mainly in the Ramayana and Mahabharata, where they are
used in the great battles described in each epic. They are depicted as used by archers such
as Rama,Lakshman, Arjuna, Meghnad, Karna etc. The astras were generally invoked into
arrows, although they could potentially be used with anythingAshwatthaman invoked an
astra using a blade of grass as his weapon.Indrajit the son of Ravana, is believed to be the
only human who ever possessed the three ultimate weapons of trinity.At a very young age,
Indrajit (Meghnada) became the possessor of several supreme celestial weapons, including
Brahmastra, Pashupatastra and Vaishnavastra, under the guidance of Shukra, the guru of
the daityas (demons).

Indraastra (indra)- bring forth a shower of arrows

Vasavi Shakti (indra)- Magical dart.
Agneyastra (agni)- discharges flames inextinguishable through normal
Varunastra (Varuna)- discharges torrential volumes of water, can
counter agni
Devastra (Devas)- turns weapon into a weapon similar to a ballistic
Asurastra (Asuras)- turns weapon into a weapon similar to a biological
Manavastra (Manu)- overcomes supernatural protections and carries
target hundreds of miles away. Can be used to inspire human traits in
evil targets.
Varunapasha (Varuna)- a powerful noose which not even other gods
could escape.
Bhaumastra (Bhumi)- could create tunnels deep into the earth and
summon jewels.
Bhargavastra (Lord Vishnu)- brings forth a shower of weapons so
powerful that it could destroy the entire planet if not retracted.
Nagaastra (Naga)- inerring aim and take the form a deadly snake,
usually proving fatal.
Nagapsha (Naga)- upon impact the target would be bound in coils of
living venomous snakes.

Garudastra (Garuda)- the only weapon that can defend against the
Vayvayastra (Vayu)- bring forth a gale that is capable of lifting entire
Suryastra (Surya)- creates a dazzling light that dispels all darkness and
dries up water.
Vajra (Indra)- creates lightning bolts
Mohini (Mohini, avatar of Vishnu)- dispel any Maya or sorcery in the
Twashtar (Twashtri)- would cause the target to mistake allies for foes.
Sammohana/Pramohana- cause entire armies to fall into a trance.
Parvataastra- causes a mountain to fall from the sky onto the target.
Brahmaastra (Brahma)- would destroy entire host at once, counter
almost all other astras, similar to a nuclear missile. Never missed its
mark, but had to be used with a very specific intention.
Brahmashira (Brahma)- evolution of Brahmaastra, 4x stronger.
Brahmadanda (Brahma)- defensive weapon, capable of repelling the
Brahmastra. Was similar to a stick.
Narayanastra (Vishnu)- create millions of arrows and disk, increasing in
number the more it is resisted, only invokable once or it would rebound
on the user. Only obtainable directly from Vishnu. Showing total
submission causes the missiles to stop and spare the target.
Vaishnavastra (Vishnu)- would destroy target completely, irrespective
of targets nature. Infallibe. Had to be obtained from Vishnu directly.
Kaumodaki (Vishnu)- a divine mace, could destroy entire armies.
Infallible and without parallel. Can slay demons.
Sudarshana Chakra (Vishnu)- infallible. Flies at command of Lord
Vishnu only, cannot be stopped by anyone, except Vishnu himself.
Considered the strongest of all weapons. Has ten million spikes,
separated into two rows, rotating in opposing directions to give it its
supreme edge.
Sharanga (Vishnu)- a powerful bow.
Nandaka (Vishnu)- sacred sword of Vishnu that is indestructible, and
able to slay demons.
Trishul (Shiva)- trident, infallible. Said to be one of the most powerful
weapons. Can sever the heads of other devas.
Pinaka (Shiva)- a powerful bow, able to kill asura.
Maheshwarastra (Shiva)- contains the power of Shivas third eye.
Shoots a fiery beam that can burn even divine beings into ash,
infallible, although an equally powerful being can negate it.
Pashupatastra (Shiva)- destroy target completely, irrespective of its
nature. When released it summons several monsters and a huge spirit
which personifies the weapon. Can cause catastrophic explosions.
Infallible, never looks the same twice, and can only be obtained from
Shiva directly, however a equally powerful being can negate it. If used
against a mortal, it would destroy the world.