You are on page 1of 3



Astrological words and meanings

Benefic: Venus and Jupiter, particularly when not afflicted. Some authorities include the Sun, Moon and
Mercury, if favorably aspected.

Malefic: The infortunes, Mars and Saturn, and by some modern authorities, Uranus and Neptune,
whether afflicted or otherwise. Mercury unfavorably aspected is deemed a malefic with respect to
money, law and marriage. Modern authorities consider no planet can be truly termed a malefic, except
insofar as its vibrations are improperly applied, and is dependent largely upon its aspects for the nature
of its operation.

Cold and hot.

Cold: The Moon and Saturn; also, according to Sepharial, Mercury and Uranus.

Hot: Sun, Mars. Warm: Venus, Jupiter, Neptune.

Diurnal( ) and nocturnal ( ).

The nocturnal planets are the Moon and Venus, because of their feminine qualities, their cool, moist
temperaments, and their passive natures as compared to the Sun and Mars. Also applied to those which at birth
were below the horizon, and thereby deemed to represent passive qualities. In this case the diurnal planets are
those which at birth were above the horizon, and are thereby considered to represent the more active

Dry and Moist.

Dry: Sun, Mars, Saturn.

Moist: Moon, Mercury, Jupiter, Uranus; also, according to Sepharial.

Neptune. Mercury is both dry and moist.

Electric and Magnetic.

Electric: Sun, Mars, Jupiter.

Magnetic: Moon, Mercury, Saturn, Neptune. According to Sepharial both Sun and Moon are magnetic.

Masculine and Feminine.

Masculine: Sun, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn and Uranus. Feminine: Moon, Venus and Neptune. Also, planets are said
to take on masculine attributes in masculine signs; when in advance of the Sun; or in the oriental quadrants;
and feminine attributes in feminine signs; when following the Sun; when on the opposite side of the horizon
from the Sun; or when in the occidental quadrants.

Morning and Evening.

Matitutinal and Nocturnal. This refers particularly to Mercury and Venus, as morning and evening "stars,"
although all the planets become morning and evening stars at some part of the year, though not all of them are
visible to the naked eye. (v. Retrograde.) It must be observed that a planet which is "behind" the Sun in its
orbital motion, rises in diurnal motion "before" the Sun. The counter-clockwise motion of the Earth's surface
causes objects as uncovered on the Eastern horizon to appear to move in a clockwise direction. Thus the planet
which is behind the Sun in orbit, rises in diurnal motion before the Sun.

Superior and Inferior.

The Major or Superior planets are those that have orbits larger than that of the Earth, and which lie at a greater
distance from the Sun. They are: Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Also called the Ponderous
or Ponderable planets. Their motion appears to us to be slower, due to their greater distance from the Sun.
Their effects are more enduring than those of the Minor or Inferior planets. The Minor or Inferior planets are
those that have orbits smaller than that of the Earth, and which lie closer to the Sun. They are Mercury and
The order of the planets outward from the Sun is used in a recent work in psychology, in illustration of a
memory aid in the form of the sentence: "men very easily make jugs serve usual needy purposes" - the first
initial of each word corresponding to that of a planet: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus,
Neptune and Pluto. Also the word Vibgyor, for the colors of the Solar spectrum, from the top downwards: Violet,
Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange, Red.

Planetary Ages of Human.

By the ancients the planets were caned chronocrators, or markers of time. It was presumed that different
periods of life are ruled by different planets, as:

Moon growth

4 years

1-4 the mewling babe

Mercury education
Venus emotion
Sun virility
Mars ambition
Jupiter reflection
Saturn resignation


10 years
8 years
19 years

5-14 the scholar

15-22 the lover
23-42 the citizen

15 years
12 years
30 years

43-57 the soldier

58-69 the judge
70-99 slippers

These appear to correspond to the Seven Ages of Man, as listed by Shakespeare in "As You Like It," which he
apparently took from the Chaldeans. Sepharial suggests a slightly altered set of measures, to include the
planets of recent discovery:


Duration of Years






Age Period

















From the sign position and aspects to the chronocrators, judgment was formed as to the fortunes of the native
and his environment during the period ruled by each planet. Thus an afflicted Moon indicates ill health and an
adverse environment in infancy; an afflicted Mercury, retarded education; an afflicted Mars, unfortunate in love;
and so on.