You are on page 1of 1


10, 2015

NR # 3738B

House passes bill preventing and controlling pollution from ships
The House of Representatives approved Monday night on third and final reading a measure
that will prevent and control pollution from ships.
Rep. Amado S. Bagatsing (5th District, Manila), chair of the House Committee on Ecology,
said House Bill 5377 should harmonize institutional arrangements concerning marine pollution and
strengthen as well as complement the enforcement of existing related laws on marine pollution.
“The measure shall prevent or minimize marine pollution covering oily substances, harmful
and toxic substances, garbage, sewage and other pollutants coming from ships and floating
structures,” Bagatsing said.
The measure also aims to implement the International Convention for the Prevention of
Pollution from ships or Marpol 73/78, including its annexes and subsequent amendments, Bagatsing
The measure, to be known as “Prevention of Pollution from Ships Act,” shall cover Philippine
ships, wherever they may be found, and foreign-flagged ships, whether or not they are registered
with state parties to the Convention.
It creates the Marine Pollution Adjudication Board with quasi-judicial powers to adjudicate
marine pollution cases.
The measure streamlines jurisdiction, responsibilities and functions of Department of
Transportation and Communication (DOTC), the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), the Maritime
Industry Authority (MARINA) and Philippine Ports Authority (PPA).
MARINA is vested with the right to exercise jurisdiction and regulatory control over
Philippine ships.
PCG is given the sole and exclusive responsibility to enforce environmental pollution regions
and standards over all ships operating within Philippine waters, ports and terminal facilities or
With corresponding penalties, the measure defines prohibited acts, among others, the
discharge of oil, oily mixture, noxious liquid substances, and other harmful substances in packaged
form, sewage, garbage from any Philippine ship or any other ship while within Philippine waters.
House Bill 5377 substituted House Bills 99, 484, 861, 947, 1932, 2664, 2967 and 3204 of
Reps. Douglas Hagedorn (3rd District, Palawan), Rodolfo Biazon (Lone District, Muntinlupa City),
Lawrence Lemuel Fortun (1st District, Agusan Del Norte), Francisco Ashley Acedillo (Party List,
Magdalo), Gary Alejano (Party List, Magdalo), Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (2 nd District, Pampanga),
Diosdado Macapagal Arroyo (2nd District, Camarines Sur), Rufus Rodriguez (2 nd District, Cagayan de
Oro City), Maximo Rodriguez, Jr. (Party List, ABAMIN), and Raymond Democrito Mendoza (Party
List, TUCP). (30) jc