No victory parades, warns IGP

KUALA LUMPUR: There will be no victory parade for any political party. Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan has directed all state and district police chiefs not to issue permits for political parties to hold such parades. Musa, who urged the losing parties to accept defeat, said police surveillance would continue throughout the country after the elections. "We want to ensure that peace and security is maintained," he said. The IGP cautioned the public not to take heed of rumours spread via SMS and urged those who received such messages to lodge police reports. "The SMS messages are lies," he said adding that police were monitoring the situation.
9 MARCH 2008
PP3057/3/2008 (No. 17760) Peninsula RMI.50 Sabah RM2.00 Sarawak RM2.00


people's paper

Political tsunami

The shocks


Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil lost to Nurul Izzah Anwar in Lembah Pantai

BN wins federal govt but opposition takes five states
Lee Hwa Beng lost to Loh Gwo Burne in Kelana Jaya Democracy at work: Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi waving to the crowd on arrival at the Putra World Trade Centre yesterday to monitor the results of the general election last night. He accepted Barisan Nasional's defeat in some states, saying it was all part of democracy.

Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon lost to Dr P. Ramasamy in Batu Kawan

Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu lost to Dr D. Michael Jeyakumar

Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin lost to PKR's Johari Abdul in Sungai Petani KUALA LUMPUR: The Barisan Nasional will form the next Government as it has won more than half the parliamentary seats. However, the coalition suffered some of the greatest defeats in its history. Barisan Nasional chairman Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, in accepting the results, said this was clear proof of democracy at work in the country. Among the results yesterday were: > The Barisan lost Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor, > PAS strengthened grip on Kelantan, > Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting won in their seats, > Among ministers who lost their seats were former Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin, > Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon lost to Dr P. Ramasamy in the Batu Kawan parliamentary seat. Meanwhile, party leaders urged for calm and police have banned all victory celebrations.

Datuk S. Kayveas lost to Nga Kor Min in Taiping

Spend a minimum RM20 and stand a chance to win your'Super Car'!
Plus RM1 million in cash prizes to be given away!
It's the PETRONAS 'Super Car' Craze Contest!
Race over to your nearest PETRONAS Service Station now to stand a chance of winning the 'Super Car' you've crazed for. 6 of the sportiest, dreamiest cars are up for grabs. Mini Cooper S and Audi TT are exclusive for Kad Mesra members.

Contest ends 31 March 2008.

For more information, please contact Mesralink at 1 300 88 8181 or