You are on page 1of 7

Biological Molecules Containing Metal Ions

Vitamin B-12
(a cobalt complex)

Chlorophyll a
(a magnesium complex)

Billones Lecture Notes

*1933-08-14) Development of high resolution nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR) 1992 Rudolph A. Marcus (USA. *1943) Frank Sherwood Rowland (USA. *1927) Carbocations 1995 Paul Crutzen (Netherlands. *1944) Invention of the polymerase chain reaction (PCR) Michael Smith (Canada. particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone Billones Lecture Notes . *1927) for their work in atmospheric chemistry. *1923) Theories of electron transfer 1993 Kary Banks Mullis (USA. *1932) Development of site specific mutagenesis 1994 George A. Olah (USA.Nobel Prizes awarded in areas of chemistry (1991-1995) 1991 Richard Robert Ernst (Switzerland. *1933) Mario Molina (Mexico.

Skou (Denmark. Boyer (USA. *1927) Hideki Shirakawa (Japan. Na+. (USA.Nobel Prizes awarded in areas of chemistry (1996-2000) 1996 Robert F. Jr. *1936) Alan G. K+-ATPase 1998 Walter Kohn (USA. Curl. *1923) John A. *1933) Sir Harold W. *1918) for the first discovery of an ion-transporting enzyme. Kroto (United Kingdom.2004) to Walter Kohn for his development of the density-functional theory and to John Pople for his development of computational methods in quantum chemistry (GAUSSIAN computer programs) 1999 Ahmed H. MacDiarmid (USA. Heeger (USA. 1925 . Pople (United Kingdom/USA. *1941) for their elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate (ATP) Jens C. *1939) Richard E. Egypt. *1946) for his studies of the transition states of chemical reactions using femtosecond spectroscopy 2000 Alan J. *1918) John E. Smalley (USA. *1943) for their discovery of fullerenes 1997 Paul D. *1936) for the discovery and development of conductive polymers Billones Lecture Notes . Walker (United Kingdom. Zewail (USA.

GFP" 2007 Gerhard Ertl "for his studies of chemical processes on solid surfaces" 2006 Roger D. Thomas A. Tsien "for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein.2009 Venkatraman Ramakrishnan. Roger Y. Ada E. Martin Chalfie. Kornberg "for his studies of the molecular basis of eukaryotic transcription" . Yonath "for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome" 2008 Osamu Shimomura. Steitz.

Barry Sharpless (USA. *1917) Koichi Tanaka (Japan.Nobel Prizes awarded in areas of chemistry (2000-2005) 2001 William S. *1938) for their work on chirally catalysed hydrogenation reactions K. Schrock (USA) for the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis. *1941) for his work on chirally catalysed oxidation reactions 2002 John B. *1947) Avram Hershko (Israel. *1937) Irwin Rose (USA. *1959) for their development of soft desorption ionisation methods for mass spectrometric analyses of biological macromolecules Kurt Wüthrich (Switzerland. Billones Lecture Notes . *1917) Ryoji Noyori (Japan. *1938) for his development of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy for determining the three-dimensional structure of biological macromolecules in solution 2003 Peter Agre (USA. Robert H. *1926) for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation 2005 Yves Chauvin (France). Grubbs (USA) Richard R. Fenn (USA. Knowles (USA. *1949) for the discovery of water channels in cell membranes Roderick MacKinnon (USA) for structural and mechanistic studies of ion channels in cell membranes 2004 Aaron Ciechanover (Israel.

Overview of the Development of Inorganic Chemistry in the 20th century Manhattan Project: fission bomb Ziegler-Natta catalyst for polymerization of ethylene Billones Lecture Notes .

Fullerene Compounds: The great discovery in the 90s Billones Lecture Notes .