You are on page 1of 3

In the Name of Allah, Most Kind, Most Merciful


The Messengers and Prophets of Allah/God Almighty (may the Peace and
Blessings of Allah be upon them all) are human beings. They have great
ranks, position and respect in the sight of Allah. Allah the Almighty
chooses all the Messengers and Prophets who came to this world. We
believe that a great number of them came to guide Mankind, from Hazrat
Adam to Hazrat Moses and Hazrat Jesus, and the last of Prophet of Allah,
Hazrat Muhammad – May Allah’s peace and blessings be upon them all.
All of the Prophets were true Messengers of Allah, Subhanahu-wa-ta-ala
(praise is to the Highest).
Allah has mentioned some names of His Prophets in the Holy Qur’an.
The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) has also described the
number of Prophets – approximately 124,000 came into this world.

♦ All the Prophets and Messengers were human beings whom Allah
chose to convey His Message to the people.

♦ They always spoke the truth, committed no sins and passed on the
Message of Allah without any addition or leaving anything out.

♦ They performed miracles as signs with the permission of Allah.

♦ All the Messengers were Prophets, but not all Prophets (Anbiyaa)
were Messengers (Rusul).

♦ A Rasool is a Prophet who received a new Shariah (Divine Law) and a

Book from Allah. A Nabi follows the Shariah of a Rasool or a Prophet
after him.

♦ No person can be a Nabi or Rasool by his own efforts.

♦ No more Prophets will come after our Holy Prophet, Hazrat

Muhammad (peace be upon him)
♦ Hazrat Muhammad (peace be upon him) is the Khatam An-Nabiyyeen
– he is the Last of all the Anbiyaa.

The Holy Qur’an mentions 25 names of the famous Prophets:

 Hazrat Adam
 Hazrat Idris
 Hazrat Nuh (Noah)
 Hazrat Hood
 Hazrat Saleh
 Hazrat Ibrahim (Abraham)
 Hazrat Ismail (Ishmael)
 Hazrat Ishaq (Isaac)
 Hazrat Yaqoob (Jacob)
 Hazrat Yusuf (Joseph)
 Hazrat Ayyub (Job)
 Hazrat Shuaib
 Hazrat Moosa (Moses)
 Hazrat Haroon (Aaron)
 Hazrat Loot (Lot)
 Hazrat Yoonus (Jonah)
 Hazrat Al-Yas’a
 Hazrat Zulkifl (Ezekial)
 Hazrat Dawood (David)
 Hazrat Sulaiman (Solomon)
 Hazrat Ilyas (Elias)
 Hazrat Zakaria (Zacharias)
 Hazrat Yahya (John)
 Hazrat ‘Isa (Jesus)

♦ All the Prophets (peace be upon them) are equal.

♦ Our Holy Prophet Hazrat Muhammad (peace be upon him) holds the
highest position among all the Anbiyaa.

♦ All the Prophets preached the Oneness of Allah/Monotheism –

© Copyright 2008 – Imam Ahmad Raza Institute International
22 Hind Close, Cardiff CF24 2EF. Tel: 07905-260440