You are on page 1of 1

APRIL 6, 2015

NR # 3793B

Creation of Senior high school for each legislative district pushed

The House of Representatives has approved on second reading a measure providing for
the establishment of senior high schools in all legislative districts nationwide.
House Bill 5604, which substituted House Bill 3399 authored by Rep. Edgar R. Erice (2 nd
District, Caloocan City), establishes a senior high school for each of the legislative district in the
country under the control and supervision of the Department of Education (DepEd).
The measure requires the expansion of an existing high school to include the senior high
school or the establishment of a stand-alone senior high school.
Rep. Kimi S. Cojuangco (5th District, Pangasinan), chairperson of House Committee on
Basic Education and Culture, said the bill is consistent with Rule IV, Sec. 15 of the Implementing
Rules and Regulations of RA 10533, otherwise known as the Enhanced Basic Education Act of
The DepEd shall authorize and regulate the offering of senior high school in private
educational institutions. The DepEd shall also prescribe the guidelines on the issuance and
revocation of permits and recognition of senior high schools, Cojuangco said.
Under the measure, the courses to be offered by the senior high schools shall be in
accordance with the enhanced basic education curriculum formulated and designed by the DepEd
in pursuance of Section 5 of Republic Act 10533 and in coordination with the Commission on
Higher Education (CHED), Technical Education and Skills development Authority (TESDA),
and other concerned national government agencies and stakeholders.
The amount needed for the initial implementation of the proposed Act shall be charged
against the current years appropriation of the Department of Education.
Thereafter, such sums as may be necessary for the continued implementation of the
proposed Act shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act.
Co-authors of the bill are Reps. Isidro Ungab (3 rd District, Davao City), Dakila Carlo Cua
(Lone District, Quirino), JC Rahman Nava (Lone District, Guimaras), Mariano Piamonte (Party
List, A TEACHER), Leopoldo Bataoil (2nd District, Pangasinan), Leah Paquiz (Party List,
NARS), Juliette Uy (2nd District, Misamis Oriental), Jose Atienza, Jr. (Party List, BUHAY),
Arthur Defensor, Jr. (3rd District, Iloilo), Jesulito Manalo (Party List, ANGKLA), Ronald Cosalan
(Lone District, Benguet), Sonny Collantes (3 rd District, Batangas), Arthur Yap (3 rd District,
Bohol), Antonio Lagdameo, Jr. (2nd District, Davao Del Norte), Jorge Almonte (1 st District,
Misamis Occidental), Cheryl Deloso-Montalla (2 nd District, Zambales), and Jonathan Dela Cruz
(Party List, ABAKADA). (30) jc