You are on page 1of 2

Constitution of India

The Constitution
The Constitution is a set of laws and rules setting up the machinery of the gov. Of
a State and which defines and determines the relation between the different
institutions and areas of gov. , the executive, the legislative and the judiciary, the
central, the regional and the local governments. Much of the parts of the
constitution were taken from the American constitution and British-made
Government of India Act-1935. So, we can say that the Constitution was result of
considerable imitation and adaptation.
There are 22 parts with 395 original articles in the Constitution of India, many of
which contain a number of exceptions and limitations and 12 Schedules and 94
Amendments up to Jan 09 which makes it the longest constitution in the world.
Our Constitution is a written constitution and is federal in form and is marked by
the tradidtional characterstics of a federal system like division of power between
Union and the State, existence of an independent judiciary and its rigid
procedure for its amendment.
The constitution exhibits a centralising tendency in several of its provisions like
the adoption of lengthy concurrent list, the power of Parliament to rearrange the
political system of India, supremacy of Parliament over state legislation. The
union of India is also empowered to supersede the authority of the state or to
exercise powers otherwise wested in States.
The Union and the State gov. are not sovereign. The validity of a law whether of
Union or States, is judged with reference to their respective jurisdiction as defined
in the Constitution. Democracy is the form of government which India has
adopted. It can be of 2 types:Parliamentary Democracy
Presidential Democracy
A Parliamentary Democracy is one in which elected representatives undertake
the role of Legislature as well as the Executive.

In a Presidential Democracy, a individual runs the executive, while elected

representatives constitute the Legislative, which is separate from the Executive.
India is country with 28 states and 7 Union territories along with 21 High Courts
and 1 Supreme Courts. Our Constitution was adopted on November 26, 1949.
The Constitution came into force on Jan 26 , 1950. The Constituent Assembly
itself became the first Provisional Parliament, and the first elections were held in

The Aims of Indian Constitution.....

Constitution of India has some specified objectives envisaged in its Constitution.
These objectives are: To make India to be a Sovereign Republic.
To estb. India as a Democratic Union.
All the powers and authorities of Central gov and State gov to be
derived from the people.
To guarantee and secure to all the Citizens, Justice- Social,
Economic and Political, equality of status, equality of opportunity
and equality before law, freedom of thought, expression, belief,
faith, worship, vocation, association and action.
To maintain integrity of territory of republic and sovereign rights on
land sea and air accordingly as Justice and Law of civilised nation.
To contribute to the promotion of international peace and security.
To have India a rightful, honoured, and dignified place in world