First in India Men

Field First Indian to swim across the English Channel First to Climb Mount Everest First to climb Mount Everest without Oxygen First Indian to join I.C.S. (I.C.S. now IAS) First Indian to get Nobel Prize First Indian in Space (first Indian cosmonaut) First British Governor General First Governor General of Free India First and the last Governor General of free India First President of India First Vice-President of India First Muslim President of India First Sikh President of India First Prime Minister First Speaker of Lok Sabha First Chief Justice of India First President of Indian National Congress First Indian to become member of Viceroy's Executive Council First Indian to become President of International Court of Justice First Emperor of Moghul Dynasty First Field Marshal First Indian Commander-in-Chief of India First Chief of the Army Staff (Indian) First Chief of the Naval Staff (Indian) First Chief of the Air Force Staff (India) First Indian in British Parliament Mihir Sen Tenzing Norgay Phy Dorjee Satyendra Nath Tagore Rabindra Nath Tagore Sqn. Ldr. Rakesh Sharma Warren Hastings Lord Mountbatten C. Rajagopalachari Dr. Rajendra Prasad Dr. S. Radhakrishnan Dr. Zakir Hussain Giani Zail Singh Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru G.V. Mavlankar Justice H.L. Kania W.C. Bannerjee Lord S.P. Sinha Dr. Nagendra Singh Babar S.H.F.J. Manekshaw Gen. K.M. Cariappa Sinhji Vice Admiral R.D. Katari Subroto Mukherjee Dada Bhai Nauroji Person

First Indian recipient of Victoria Cross (highest award before independence) Khudada Khan First Indian to circumnavigate the globe First Indian to reach the South Pole First Indian to make a solo air flight First Indian to visit England First Indian Member of House of Lords (British) First Bar-at-Law First Chairman of Rajya Sabha Lt. Col K.S. Rao Col J.K. Bajaj (1989) JRD Tata Raja Rammohan Roy (1832) Lord S.P. Sinha J.M. Tagore Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (1952 - 62)

First Indian Test Cricketer First Air Marshall First Judge to face impeachment in the Lock Sabha Fastest Shorthand writer

K.S. Ranjitsingh Arjan Singh Justice V.Ramaswami (1993) Dr. G.D. Bhist (250 wpm)