You are on page 1of 2

February 9, 2010

The Honorable Adrian M. Fenty

John A. Wilson Building
1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 600
Washington, D.C. 20004

Dear Mayor Fenty:

The Council has scheduled a public oversight hearing on the Fiscal Year 2010 budget spending
pressures on Friday, February 19, 2010, at 10:00 a.m., in the Council Chamber, Room 500 of the
John A. Wilson Building, 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. The purpose of this hearing is for
the Executive Branch to brief the Council and public on the Fiscal Year 2010 budget spending
pressures that have been identified by the Chief Financial Officer, and on the Executive’s gap-
closing plan.

To ensure an efficient and thorough discussion of the gap-closing plan, the Council has
structured the hearing in a manner to address each spending pressure. Therefore, I am requesting
the following Executive officials be present at the designated time to respond to any questions
Councilmembers may have.

Opening Statements: 10:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

Panel 1 – Overview: 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

1. Office of the City Administrator
Neil O. Albert, City Administrator
2. Office of the Chief Financial Officer
Gordon McDonald, Deputy CFO, Office of Budget and Planning

Panel 2 – Education (Non-Public Tuition and Special Education Transportation): 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.
1. Office of the State Superintendent
Kerri L. Briggs, PhD, State Superintendent of Education
2. District of Columbia Public Schools
Dr. Richard Nyankori, Deputy Chancellor for Special Education
Panel 3 – Public Safety, Co-chaired with Councilmember Mendelson: 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.
1. Department of Corrections
Devon Brown, Director
2. Fire and Emergency Medical Services
Dennis L. Rubin, Chief

Panel 4 – Human Services, Co-chaired with Councilmember Wells: 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
1. Child and Family Services Agency
Dr. Roque Gerald, Director
2. Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services
Marc A. Schindler, Interim Director

Panel 5 – Health, Co-chaired with Councilmember Catania: 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
1. Department of Health Care Finance
Dr. Julie Hudman, Director
2. Department of Mental Health
Stephen T. Baron, Director

Panel 6 – Fixed Costs, Co-chaired with Councilmembers Evans and Cheh: 4:00 p.m. to 4:45 p.m.
1. Office of Finance and Resource Management
Mohamed A. Mohamed, Director
2. Department of Real Estate Services
Robin-Eve Jasper, Director

Panel 7 – Other, Co-chaired with Councilmembers Barry and Cheh: 4:45 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
1. Office of Risk Management (Disability Compensation and Settlements and Judgments)
Kelly Valentine, Chief Risk Officer and Director
2. Office of the Chief Technology Officer
Bryan Sivak, Chief Technology Officer
3. Department of Employment Services (Unemployment Compensation)
Joseph P. Walsh, Jr., Director

If you should have any questions, please contact me or have your staff contact Christopher
Murray, Committee Clerk of the Committee of the Whole, at (202) 724-8143.


Vincent C. Gray

cc: Councilmembers
Neil O. Albert, City Administrator