Space Hulk 3ED Rules Clarifications

ATTACKS

Q. Can Genestealers attack each other?
A. No.
Q. If a Genestealer rolls a 6, 6, and 4, can a parry force the Genestealer to re-roll both 6s?
A. No, just one.

BROODLORD

Q. Respawning a Broodlord: if the Broodlord model is removed from the game (i.e. dead), can I use it
again in the same mission, when converting a 3 pt blip?
A. No, you only get one Broodlord. It says so in the very first paragraph of the Broodlord rules;
"Revealing the Broodlord" ( once during the mission).

CLIMBING

Q. When climbing, can you voluntarily fall to destroy an enemy below?
A. No.

COMMAND POINTS

Q. Can the Space Marine player look at his command point token at any time?
A. Yes.
Q. Can you clarify how I can spend command points?
A. Command points have priority over everything. In your turn, spend them however,
wherever, and whenever you want with no restrictions, interrupting another Space Marine’s
actions if desired. In the Genestealer's turn, you have to wait until one of your Space Marines
sees something that they can react to. Then decide if you want to spend any command points
– you may do so to carry out a single action with a single Space Marine anywhere on the
board (not just one that saw the Genestealer do something). After spending any command
points, check for overwatch shots for Space Marines that didn’t have command points spent
upon them.
Q. Can command points be used in addition to an overwatch shot in response to one
Genestealer action? In other words, can a Space Marine take his overwatch shot and then
immediately spend a command point to take another shot, clear a jam, or switch to guard
mode, for example?
A. No.
Q. Can command points be spent in the middle of a Space Marine's normal activation? For
example, can a Space Marine activate and use two APs, then have the Space Marine player
Q. Can a Space Marine clear a stormbolter jam using 1 command point during genestealer turn? Rss
A. Yes, its how we do it, after some 'heated rule discussions'. You also lose the sustained fire bonus.
spend a command point to move another Space Marine, then finish the original Space
Marine's activation using the last two APs?

The Space Marine uses another CP to turn-and-shoot the model in such a way as to bring another blip into LOS. can command points be spent on any Space Marine? A. can a Marine activate and use two APs. can the Space Marine turn to face the Genestealer and then immediately spend a command point to carry out an action? A. Yes. suppose the Space Marine player reacts to a Genestealer action. can you move the marine into a separate hallway with his normal AP. and specifically the example of ‘b)’. You can reactivate a marine that has used all its AP if you have CP. intending to move the flamer later with his normal AP. then fire the flamer with 2 CP. Is the Space Marine player allowed to "chain" multiple reactions together like this? A. Q.A. Can command points be spent in the middle of a Marine's normal activation? For example. you must completely finish all actions with one marine before activating another marine. This triggers another involuntary blip conversion. Is this allowed? A. Yes. using a CP to turn-and-shoot a model in such a way as to bring a blip into LOS. Mission 1 has a door in a bend that is commonly approached by a Space Marine. Yes. then finish the original Marine's activation using the last two APs? Q. When responding to a witnessed Genestealer action. Q. Can a Space Marine shoot round a corner if his line of sight is drawn diagonally between a square that blocks the line of sight and a wall? A. Yes. The rules state (page 12) that a door must be in the front three squares of a model and adjacent. Can a door be opened if it is around the corner? For example. See the clarification for LOS in a room from the official FAQ. DOORS Q. but a marine is in the way. You can supplement the actions with Command Points but once that marine is finished he can only perform actions in the opponents turn using Command Points. then have the Marine player spend a command point to move another Marine. then go back to moving the first marine with his normal AP. No. CORNERS Q. Can a door be closed on a model? A. On the Genestealer player's turn. You can also activate a marine and use CP first and come back to it later and use his AP. . When surviving a close assault from the side or rear. This triggers an involuntary blip conversion. Q. Is having a door around the corner considered "adjacent"? A. No. Yes. (Note that the outcome of a close assault is part of the close assault action). No. He does not have to wait for the genestealer turn. Q. and so on. which (according to the rules on page 17) gives the Space Marine model another opportunity to react. When I want to fire my flamer.

Can a Space Marine set himself on Guard while jammed? A. Note that clearing the jam will remove the Guard counter. Yes to both questions. This is slightly counter-intuitive. and later another point is spent to clear the jam. When converting a blip in a section adjacent to a flaming section. would he go back on overwatch? A. I know. a Space Marine is not in overwatch while jammed. Q. Q. If a Space Marine is jammed and has a command point spent on him to turn. Yes. Must a Space Marine armed with an assault cannon who is on overwatch shoot at a closing door? A. he is in a special 'jammed' status instead. As long as the target square is empty or contains a Genestealer. When a Space Marine clears a jam. he waits for the next reaction opportunity and pays 2 command points more. Yes. HEAVY FLAMER Q. Q. Q. can a Space Marine use two command points to go into Guard mode so he could reroll the die when my genestealer attacked him? . must he go back on overwatch? A. can Genestealer models be placed in the flaming section? A. are the Action Points for movement determined based on its facing before or after the free turn? A.FREE TURN Q. for the purposes of the rules. Can a blip in a flaming section be converted? Must the Genestealer models roll for survival when placed? A. When your character is "jammed". The only way he can stop being 'jammed' is to either remove the marker at the end of the turn. but it is how the rules are written and meant to work. Q. Any Genestealer model placed in a flaming square would be destroyed on a roll of 2+ (roll after placing all of the models). Can the heavy flamer target a section that contains a Space Marine? A. After. Yes. or to flip the marker to overwatch by spending a command point. Note that. No. yes. Yes. If a Genestealer takes a free turn before its movement. A. After getting a jam. Q. [Houserule]. if he wants to do any kind of shooting he has to either pay 1 command point to unjam or wait for the end of the turn. No. not automativally. If he wants to unjam and get back to Overwatch. JAMMED Q.

All of these things are referred to as ‘obstructions’. trace a straight line from the centre of the square occupied by one model to the centre of the square occupied by the other model. If the line of sight between 2 models is in doubt. when jammed. but you can use CP to make any other action. blip. An example of this can be found on page 13– the two Genestealers cannot see the Space Marine marked with an ‘X’. If a Genestealer kills a Space Marine who was previously blocking LOS from a Space Marine in overwatch. No. you can do that. you cannot simply use 1 CP to get back Overwatch later. If you want to get back to Overwatch. you can use 1 CP to get back to OW. it is only blocked if both of the squares contain obstructions to the LOS. This is similar to the rule that restricts diagonal movement between two squares (see page 11 – the Genestealer does not have a line of sight to either of the squares marked with a red X). Q. Q. Yes. However. No. Genestealer. Never block the LOS. In other words. you will either have to wait your next turn or spend 1 CP to unjam (but no OW for you anymore). Q. you would have to first use 1 additional CP to unjam. or b) pass between a wall and a square that blocks the line of sight. door. A model in a room can see all of the squares in the room that are in his line of sight. . Does the psychic ability "Force Barrier" block line of sight? A. or through a square that is occupied by a Space Marine. 4TH EDITION update: blocked diagonals. Can the LOS for a Space Marine in a room be explained in a bit more detail? A. power generator or force barrier. then 2 more to go to OW. However.A: Yes. Remember that a model can only see squares in a corridor that are directly in front of it. However. you won't be in "jammed overwatch" anymore but merely in "jammed" state. Obstructions in the attackers and target’s own squares. or must the model simply be on the ladder square? Is the original facing kept when climbing up or down a ladder? A. If you want to shoot. note that a Space Marine on overwatch is not forced to shoot at things that take place on the other side of the barrier. Yes. LINE OF SIGHT 4TH EDITION update: TRACING A LINE OF SIGHT. does the Space Marine in overwatch get to take an overwatch shoot action as soon as the Genestealer is revealed (when the dead Space Marine model is removed from the board)? A. The LOS is blocked if any part of the line passes through a wa o rning square. as long as a line drawn from the model to the target does not a) pass through a square that blocks the line of sight. An example of b) can be found on page 11 of the rules – the Genestealer cannot see either of the squares marked ‘X’. or c) pass between two squares both of which block the line of sight. LADDERS Q Is facing important when using a ladder. though they can see the square in front of him as it is part of the room section. If the LOS passes diagonally between the corners of 2 squares.

The target must be the Genestealer that triggered the overwacht. If a Genestealer kills a Space Marine who was previously blocking LOS from a Space Marine in overwatch. and after any command points have been spent as a result. The overwatch fire is resolved after the Genestealer has performed his action. Must a Space Marine on overwatch shoot at the triggering Genestealer (or closing door). does the Space Marine in overwatch get to take an overwatch shoot action as soon as the Genestealer is revealed (when the dead Space Marine model is removed from the board)? A. LURKING Q. It can happen that a Genestealer performs an action in the fire arc if more than 1 Space Marine in overwatch. If this happens. In practice. allowing the Space Marine player to declare which of the Terminators will fire instead of all of them automatically firing. but does not have to. The former. Q. as the Space Marine is seven squares away from the entry square. as well as when multiple Terminators on overwatch have LOS to the same Genestealer. This change basically makes the Space Marines more intelligent in conducting overwatch fire. then any reinforcement blips placed there must lurk for the rest of the turn. No. The mandatory lurking rules state "If a Space Marine is six or fewer squares away from an entry point square at the start of the Genestealer phase.close a door while within LOS and hope that the Terminator's storm bolter jams). He can. Is there a limit on how many Genestealer models may lurk in each entry area? A. Yes. Declare how many will shoot before carrying out any of the resulting shoot actions. and note that the top blip is not forced to lurk. any number iof the Space Marines can shoot at the Genestealer. take 1 shoot action each time a Genestealer completes an action within his line of sight and within a range of 12 squares. Do blips block line of sight? A." Does that mean the Space Marine must be standing on the sixth space to force a lurk. 4TH EDITION update: Overlapping Overwatch. See the example on page 16. Yes. this will probably only mean that Terminators won't be shooting at closed doors (a nasty little trick that the Genestealer could do under 3rd edition . Comment: Space Marines are no longer required to fire when on overwatch. or can any target be selected? .Q. Q. OVERWATCH 4TH EDITION update: a Space Marine in overwatch can perform shoot actions in the Genestealer turn without expending any action points. or does that mean there can be six spaces between the Space Marine and the entry square to force a lurk? A. Q.

and described on page 6 (see The Game Board). Can the heavy flamer target a map section that contains a Marine? A. roll individually for each target. What is a ‘section’ for ‘section’ effects? A. PSYCHIC STORM Q. There are only Genestealers. Does this apply to other Space Marines on overwatch? A. Q. Can you clarify how Genestealers are placed in a multi-blip reveal? A. The sections are listed in the Box Contents on page 4 of the rulebook (see Board Sections). No. can a Space Marine take his overwatch shot and then immediately spend a command point to take another shot. clear a jam. After all models have been placed. that leaves Marines and Stealers as legal targets. By the letter of the rules. take overwatch shots against the revealed Genestealers.A. Q. but the intent of the rule is that all of the Space Marines on overwatch would get the sustained fire bonus. Can the sustained fire bonus be carried over from the Genestealer player’s turn to the Space Marine player’s turn? A. SUSTAINED FIRE Q. A Space Marine in overwatch that can see one or more of the revealed Genestealers may take a shot against any one of them (the Space Marine player may choose which). for example? A. SECTION Q. One of the conditions in which sustained fire is lost is if a model other than the target takes an action. Yes. is one dice rolled for all of the blips or models in the section? A. The Genestealers are placed one after the other. A flamer would hurt everything. overlapping overwatch could eliminate the sustained fire bonus (depending on the order that the Space Marine player made the shooting rolls). . When using Psychic Storm to affect a section. No. Q. If a Genestealer disappears from view for one square's worth of movement. Note that overwatch sustained fire is a separate condition and would not carry over. starting in the square that contained the blip. The triggering model must be the target if an overwatch shot is taken. Can command points be used in addition to an overwatch shot in response to one Genestealer action? In other words. or switch to guard mode. Since the Broodlord can't be killed by the Flamer. Sustained fire is only lost due to the conditions described on page 19 of the rulebook. Marines and the Broodlord in the game. No. Q. No. is that enough on its own to cancel sustained fire? A. The flamer rules state a model is killed on 2+. Q.

has open map parts without Genestealer Entry markers. This mission was used in the battle report of White Dwarf Weekly issue 33. Regroup. there is a single open part of the map without a Genestealer Entry marker. Jervis Johnson clarified that: yes. Q. Yes. and Mission 8. Exterminate.MISSIONS Mission 2 Q. Can the Space Marine player use ranged fire to affect the Power Field? Can the Librarian's force axe be used with psi points to change this 4 AP requirement? A. In Missions 7 and 8. Escape Route. . the Space Marines can use Power Field Generators. The Roman numerals in parenthesis show the mission numbers.can the Genestealers carry it? A. I've used the mission names as the key identifier since the new missions have re-sequenced things. Q. However. Similarly. there is the Artefact -. Should there be markers? A. No to both questions. with exception of Mission #3. The Artefact. the Space Marines can exit the playing area by moving into the ladder square. with the Genestealers starting the mission in a dormant state (reduced APs). So. the Artefact is an object and follows the normal rules for objects from page 18. Unknown Lifeforms. Suicide Mission (I/II) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has replaced a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. followed by the 4th edition after the slash. No. Does the Space Marine need to spend 2 APs to climb the ladder to escape? A. like some of the victory conditions for the Space Marines). Genestealers are specifically prohibited from picking up the CAT because of the Mission Notes. Is the boundary of the ‘adjacent corridor’ the actual board section (3 spaces)? A. In Mission 11. Q. the Artefact is listed as an object. In Mission 7. Unknown Lifeforms. 4 ed Missions Here's a rundown of the missions in both editions. In Mission 11. normally Genestealers can pick up objects. Q. Mission 9. In Mission 10. In Mission 2. It features two squads of Terminators deploying via boarding torpedoes. following the rules for objects on page 18 of the rulebook. Obviously the Genestealers can't move off the map with it (only missions that specifically allow models to leave the map can do so. No. Yes. Can a Genestealer carry the Artefact? A. Q. Beachhead (-/I). some weapons may not be fired into or out of the adjacent corridor. with the 3rd edition first.

Decoy (V/VI) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has switched squads. Alarm Call (VI/VII) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has replaced a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. exchanging places with a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. exchanging places with a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. Cleanse & Burn (IV/V) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has switched squads. exchanging places with a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. Rescue (III/IV) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has switched squads. Defend (X/XIV) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has switched squads. Hard Vacuum (-/XII) This mission introduces the damaged control room tile and the hard vacuum rule. No Escape (-/XIII) This mission introduces breach counters.Exterminate (II/III) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has been replaced by a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. The Artefact (VII/IX) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has replaced a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. exchanging places with a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. . Regroup (IX/XI) The rules for Space Marine deployment have been expanded/clarified. Escape Route (VIII/X) The Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and chainfist has replaced a Space Marine Terminator with a storm bolter and power fist. I'll go through the old missions to see if this version is an update of something from 1st edition. Into the Depths (-/VIII) This mission introduces the turbo-lift. Unknown Lifeforms (XI/XV) Clarifications to the power field generators rules and the exiting the map rules.

and there have been a few minor clarifications implemented in the rules. Other than that. The 4th edition includes the following additional tiles and counters:  4 corridors  2 boarding torpedo ramps  1 room (the damaged control  1 turbo-lift room)  2 turbo-lift entrances  4 breach1 turn counter  2 dead ends  2 boarding torpedoes . however. but didn't notice any changes to the missions that carried over from 3rd to 4th edition.Pitfall (XII/XVI) Clarification to the assault cannon rules. The line of sight rules and examples have changed slightly (ever so slightly). I only gave a cursory look at each of the maps. the rules are virtually identical between the editions in terms of both substantive content and organization. I'll take a more in-depth look later.

Related Interests