You are on page 1of 3


All mantra-s are considered secretive in nature and oda is not an exception.
Recitation of oda leads to liberation. This mantra does not give any
materialistic gains. It leads straight to the Brahman. Normally, one is not
initiated into this mantra straight away. Guru decides the timing of initiation into
this mantra. Generally one is first initiated into Bl. Depending upon ones
progress, Pacada is initiated. If Guru considers that his disciple is fit for final
liberation, he initiates him into oda. One should recite 900,000 times of this
mantra followed by puracaraa rituals to attain siddhi. Puracaraa is only for
100,000 recitations. Then only liberation is possible. It is also said that initiation
into oda depends upon ones karmic account.
oda vidy is considered as Brahma vidy, knowledge of the Brahman.
Brahman is revealed in the form of mantra-s in oda vidy. Since oda
reveals the Brahman in the form of mantra-s, it is treated as highly secretive in
nature. But the important aspect of its secrecy is the replacement of second Om
in this mantra with the aspirants tma bja. The third aspect of the secrecy is
the worship of ninth varaa of r Cakr that deals with par, parpara and
apara states (these states have been dealt with while discussing nma-s). If one
is able to reach the fourth stage of turya or turya, he gets prepared to attain
liberation in the next stage of turytta. Turya is reached without any difficulty
when oda mantra is mentally recited regularly.
(Turya and turytta: Turya is the fourth state of consciousness, the other three
being active, dream and deep sleep. Turya stage transcends all the above three
stages by bundling them out. The level of consciousness at turya stage is very
close to the stage of blissfulness, derived from experiment and observation
rather than theory. Turytta is the stage where ones consciousness transcends
turya stage. In this stage of blissful consciousness, the Brahman is realised
where one feels that I am That or aham brahmsmi. The final stage of merging
into the Brahman is kaivalya, when a soul ceases to transmigrate.}
In Pacada one can transcend the fourth state of consciousness, the turiya
state. In oda one can merge with the Brahman, by reaching the fifth state of
consciousness, turytta. There is nothing beyond this. What happens if one
transcends turya state? The self is replaced by SELF. This transformative
realization happens in a fraction of a second where near death-like situation is
experienced. One is not the same person after that second.
oa mantra is superior to Pacada. oaan means sixteen and oaa
means sixteenth. oa mantra is derived by adding one more bja to Pacada
mantra. In fact, oa mantra consists of twenty eight bja-s and formed like
this. The first Om is excluded for computation, as all the mantras begin with .
1. Om
2. r - hr - kl - ai - sau: (5 bja-s)

3. om - hr - r (3 bja-s)
4. ka e - la- hr (5 bja-s)
5. ha - sa ka ha - la - hr (6 bja-s)
6. sa ka - la - hr (4 bja-s)
7. sau - ai - kl - hr - r (5 bja-s)
If this mantra is observed, one can find lines 4, 5 and 6 are the Pacada mantra
and each line representing one ka of Pacada. If lines 2 and 7 are observed,
the bja-s contained in the 2nd line are placed in the 7th line in reversed order.
For example, the last bja in line two is sau: and this is placed as the first bja of
the 7th line. This is called sapuikaraa or encasing of a mantra so that the
power of mantra remains within the practitioner.
This mantra is known as oa because of sixteen bja-s, each kal (kal means
a part) representing a kal of moon. This is arrived at by adding Lakm bja r
() at the end of Pacada mantra. These sixteen bja-s are arrived at by
considering each ka of Pacada mantra as one bja. This way, lines 4, 5 and
6 are considered as one bja each, thus forming three bja-s. The sixteen bja-s
are arrived by adding 5+3+1+1+1+5 (from line 2 to 7). There are two in this
mantra. The first is not considered for calculation. The second in line 3 is
replaced by tma bja of the practitioner and this is decided by ones guru. Such
a decision can be made by a guru if he is conversant with mantra-s and bja-s. A
wrong bja can destroy the practitioner.
oa mantra is meant exclusively for liberation and those who seek liberation
alone should be initiated in this mantra. oa mantra is the ultimate of all
mantra-s and there is no other mantra superior to this. Those who are initiated
into this mantra are not supposed to prostrate before anyone except his guru.
akt is worshipped in ten different forms and this is known as daa mah vidy
and oa is one among them. oa vidy has too many prescribed rituals.
Like every mantra oa mantra also has curse removal mantra, also known as
pavimocana mantra. All along this mantra is not revealed to all the aspirants. If
curses on mantras are not removed, mantras will not fructify. pavimocana
mantra for oa mantra is given below for the benefit of sincere aspirants.
However, one should obtain prior approval from ones guru. pavimocana
mantra, which consists of three parts should be recited before the
commencement of mantra japa. First part should be recited seven times, second
part three times and the third part one time.
First Part should be recited seven times:
e ka la hr
ha sa ka ha la hr
sa ka la hr

Second Part should be recited three times:

ha sa ka ha sa ka ha la hr
sa ka la hr
e ka la hr
Third Part should be recited one time.
ha la bha bha bha bha bha a

Full text of mantra japa is available in this link

Mahoa mantra is explained in detail here.