You are on page 1of 4


The Mudgala Purana gives eight Inner Avatars of Ganapati. These

avatars can be understood to symbolize abstract qualities which
triumph over similar personifications of evil and weakness. The
Purana explicitly states that the stories are to be meditated upon for
their inner meaning, which will be revealed according to the inner
development of each individual and are not meant to be understood
as literal narratives.
The first of these is Vakratunda (twisted trunk) an embodiment of
the Absolute Impersonal aspect of Godhood called Brahman in the
form of Ganesha. He defeated a demon called Matsaryasura,
'Envy-Jealousy', born amazingly from the fact that Indra, king of
the gods, was absent-minded and lost control of his faculties of
mind! This lapse in awareness resulted in this impossibly powerful
demon coming into being, and he defeated all the gods including
Shiva (Embodiment of Consciousness), as there is nothing that
envy cannot overpower in the long run. Only the pure abstract

form of god, hence without qualities that can be overcome by

Envy, could beat him. The myth is of course an allegory on the
yogic belief that in the end all the qualities of the mind have to be
transcended for liberation.
The next incarnation was in the form of Ekadanta (single tusked)
who defeated the demon Madasura. This is purely an allegorical
story as Madasura gained power by meditating on the famous
Shakti mantra, 'Hrim', revealing its essentially tantrik source. The
form of Ekadanta has been interpreted to mean Eka, 'one', but also
creative power of matter, Maya and Danta stands for 'truth'.
Ekadanta is thus the Supreme Truth that wields Maya. Madasura
was let off with the admonition that he could benefit from all the
demonic desires manifest in the universe, but he could not harass
those with pure intentions and actions, an obvious statement of the
fact that evil can enter only when it is invited in.
The next was Mahodara who vanquished Mohasura, the demon of
Delusion and Confusion. The confused nature of the tale makes it
difficult to understand exactly what was going on. It seems that
once Shiva was sunk in meditation for eons and showing no signs
of coming out of it. Meanwhile, the gods were in need of help
while he was oblivious. Parvati therefore assumed an alluring form
and wandered round his meditating spot. Shiva was brought back
to normal wakeful consciousness by this act and she abandoned the
alluring 'cover' so as to speak. This abandoned energy form
became a demon in its own right over the ages and Ganesha
subdued it. Shiva and Parvati are the parents of Ganesha, so the
psychological implications of this tale make the head spin.
Equally perplexing in the tangled web of intergenerational
sexuality is the next tale, of the avatar of Gajanana who defeated
the demon Lobhasura (Greed or Covetousness). Kubera, Lord of
Wealth had everything beautiful in the universe, or so he thought.
For when he saw Parvati he realized that at last something was

beyond his power to acquire. Kubera's frustrated desire, and fear at

Parvati's anger if she ever detected his greed for her, combined to
be born as the demon Lobhasura.. Each time the demon sees
Ganapati he instantly surrenders rather than engage in a futile
As Lambhodara, the Essence of Sattva, he defeats Krodhasura
(Anger).. Shiva encountered Mohini and Krodhasura was born.
As Vikata (Intelligence) he defeats Kamasura (Lust). Ganapati
becomes the controller of these dangerous forces and presumably
he can unleash them upon anybody who makes the mistake of
forgetting that he is also Vighneshwara, Lord of Obstacles.
Vignaraja (Lord of Obstacles) defeated the demon Mamasura
Dhumravarna , the destructive power of Brahman, overcame the
demon Abhimanasura (Attachment, Pride)..
All these demons are famously known in Hindu thought as the
Inner Enemies, and represent the qualities that one needs to get rid
of, as one grows in the life spiritually. They are in a real sense
obstacles, and Ganapati is the best to remove obstacles from any
life. Each one of these qualities are part of the Shadow, a vital
aspect of our personas, providing great energy if they are
controlled, but wreaking disaster if they are allowed to become
dominant in the psyche. The more you develop as a human being,
the more the potential for these qualities to manifest and drag you
down. But recognizing that they are within you and refusing to let
them take charge is the way. It is not surprising that the mere sight
of Ganapati, Awareness, renders these demons impotent and
powerless. Once they are recognized and acknowledged for what
they are, they lose their influence instantly.
The Ganesha Yantra
The basic form of the Yantra is always a six pointed star in the
center surrounded by Lotus petals which vary in multiples of eight.
The central six-pointed star represents the harmonious combination
of masculine and feminine energies in dynamic equilibrium, it is

India's symbolic version of the Yin-yang. The Ganesha Yantra for

instance has sixteen petals instead of the normal eight, and they are
inscribed with sacred syllables and mantras, which vary from the
Mahaganapati Yantra, which have only eight petals.
The Yantra is a micro-cosmos and it is always directly in contact
with, and influencing, the macro-cosmos or larger universe outside.
Hence any worship or meditation or affirmation directed towards it
finds the desired outcome being easily manifested in the larger
physical reality. The Yantra is a machine too, apart from being the
symbolic energy body of the god, a machine to bring about
transformation by focusing your intent. The Yantra should always
be treated with great respect, kept in a place of honor and moved as
little as possible. Ideally only one person should handle it at all
times. It is recommended that some daily meditation upon the
Yantra be practiced as the patterns subtly influence and transform
the thought-forms of the mind gently guiding them into habits of
prosperity thinking which after all is more important than merely
hoping for prosperity.