The Seven Sacraments

Jesus taught us many things. He taught us how to behave. He built our Church. He gave us a pope to make sure that his 
words were explained correctly. Jesus is so wonderful! We all want to follow Jesus and be just like him. You must 
remember that Jesus is God and we aren't. We fail all the time. We are so sad when we fail. Jesus knew that we would 
fail and we would be sad. Jesus decided that to help us on our way, he would give us graces. All we have to do is ask 
for them and if it’s his will, he would give them to us. Sometimes we don't know what to ask for.  Sometimes we ask 
for the wrong things. Our church gave us the sacraments so we can get some of the graces Jesus has to give to help us 
get started. With those graces, we will be smarter and know what to ask for later on. We will still make mistakes but 
with the Grace of God, maybe they wont be as bad or so many of them. There are seven sacraments the Church offers 
us. Some of them we only get once but others we can get many times.
The Sacrament of Baptism
Baptism is the very first sacrament that you can receive.  This is where it all starts. When we are baptized, we become 
children of God, members of the church, and are given eternal life. A person is only baptized once. The word "baptize" 
comes from the Greek word, baptizein, and means to "plunge" or "immerse." A priest, a minister, or a layperson can 
baptize.  What you do is to say, "I baptize you in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit."  At the 
same time pouring water over the person that is being baptized. There are two symbols with baptism.  One is water, to 
symbolize the washing of sins, and the second is light to symbolize Christ Himself. Baptism washes away Original 
Sin.  Original sin is the sin we inherited from Adam and Eve.  They disobeyed God and their sin is handed down to us.
The Sacrament of Confession
This sacrament has different names.  Sometimes it’s called, the Sacrament of Penance and sometimes it’s called, the 
Sacrament of Reconciliation. No Matter which name you use, its all the same sacrament. This sacrament is confessing 
your sins to God. God knows what sins you have committed and will commit but with this sacrament, you are aware of 
those sins.  When we go to confession, we receive graces from God to make it easier not to sin again. We should 
receive this sacrament as often as possible.
The Sacrament of Confirmation
The Sacrament of Confirmation is when the Holy Spirit comes to you in a special way making you strong in faith. 
Those who received this Sacrament, by the power of the Holy Spirit, grow in faith and are ready for adult Christian life.
The Bishop confirms us.  He places his hands on us, prays, and blesses us with Holy Oil called chrism. The Holy Spirit 
has gifts to give us. They are: 1. Wisdom 2. Understanding 3. Counsel 4. Fortitude 5. Knowledge 6. Piety. It is up to us 
to recognize and use these gifts everyday.
The Sacrament of The Holy Eucharist
The Sacrament of the Holy Eucharist is when Jesus is with us in the bread and wine. Through prayers, by asking the 
Holy Sprit to come upon the gifts, (the bread and wine), the bread and wine become the Body and Blood of Jesus. Only
a priest can do this. We believe that God is in the Eucharistic bread and wine so they should be adored and honored. 
Christ is present in both the bread and wine, so we don't have to have both. Usually we receive the bread. We should 
receive this sacrament daily.
The Sacrament of Holy Matrimony
The sacrament of Holy Matrimony is when a man a woman get married. They make promises to each other and to God 
to live together helping each other in good times and bad times, in health and in sickness, forever. The sacrament of 
marriage gives grace to the man and woman so they can live together, support each other and raise their children.
The Sacrament of Holy Orders
The Sacrament of Holy Orders, also called the Sacrament of Ordination, is for men to become priests. Jesus at the Last 
Supper gave this sacrament to us. The first men who received the power of priesthood were the apostles. The apostles 
passed on that gift to us. A man that wants to be a priest has to go to school for many years. After that is done, he has a 
ceremony where he is ordained and he becomes a priest. A priest is given special powers through ordination. He then 
can give us all the sacraments. Priests are called in a special way to help us and to preach the Word of God.
The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick
The sacrament of Anointing of the Sick, also called Extreme Unction, is when a priest prays and blesses you with Holy 
Oil when you are in danger of dying. The sacrament gives you a special grace and strength. If you are conscious, you 
should make a confession before death. If you aren't conscious, this sacrament will gain pardon for you. You can 
receive this sacrament more than once.