Mantra: In the Hindu mythology a mantra is an echo, syllable, word, or group of words that are considered capable of creating transformation. Mantra in Sanskrit means "man"to think, and "tra"- to liberate thus to liberate from thought. Mantras are based on two mechanisms, Meaning and Sound. First is the actual meaning of the word or words and the second is the effective sound or vibration. Vedas claim that speech is the essence of humanity. Everything, the Vedas maintain, comes into being through speech. Repeating of mantra is known as Japa. Japa of a particular mantra is a influential tool to control the mind. It is said that in the Kali Yuga, the current age of ending, japa is the only method for realization of the divine within us. It is appropriate to start the japa of a particular planet on the assigned day. for eg Sun on Sunday , Moon on Monday, etc. The sound of the mantra should be repeated 108 times at one go. There are two kinds of Mantra’s one is Tantrik Mantras and secondly Vedic Mantras. Tantrik mantras are the ones we call Beeja Mantra’s whereas Vedic Mantra’s are the ones that are followed under the Vedic system. Every mantra has to be chanted for a definite number of times. Every mantra is a exaltation of a unique combination of unique sound vibrations and divine power of the divinity. A vibration in a mantra brings us in communion with the divine deity. Every mantra has been experienced and accepted by our Rishis and Munis. By regular reciting mantra’s attains freedom from the fears of disease and death.” Some Rules of reciting a mantra:        After bathing perform the chanting of Mantra. Mantras should be chanted only with a pure heart and mind. The correct pronunciation of a mantra. While the chanting of Mantra keep non-vegetarian food and liquor strictly away from your house. The mantra should be chant in a particular day or time according to the planet. One course of mantra should be chanted within 21 days. Do Japa with your right hand.

Numerology Planets Mantra’s Numbers 1 2 3 Planet SUN MOON JUPITER Day Sunday Monday Thursday Mantra
"Om hram hrim hraum sah suryaya namah" "Om som somaaya namah" "Om graam greem graum sah brihasptaye

7,000 times 11,000 times 19,000 times

4 5 6 7 8 9


Saturday Wednesday Friday Saturday Saturday Tuesday

namah" "Om bhraam bhreem bhraum sah rahave namah" "Om braam breem braum sah budhaya namah" "Om shum shukraaye namah" “Om sraam sreem sraum sah ketave namah" "Om praam preem praum sah shanayishraya namah" "Om kraam kreem kraum sah bhaumaya namah"

18,000 times

9,000 times

16,000 times 18,000 times

24,000 times

11,000 times

Some More Vedic influential mantras 1. Om Mantra

Om mantra is one of the basic mantra in Hinduism. It is also known as the "pranava mantra, the source of all mantras and the first sound/vibration created, as the universe is sound. Om mantra is considered to be the most essential and powerful mantra, and thus is prefixed and suffixed to all Hindu prayers. Om mantra relaxes your mind and body , improves the execution of all the organs of the body, helps in curing diseases, improves concentration power, and one feels to be more stronger.


Gayatri mantra

Gayatri mantra is one of the most effective mantra for harmony and happiness. It is also known as the mother of the Vedas in Hinduism. Chanting of the gayatri mantra removes all the obstacles, to increase the growth, wisdom and development. It is the superlative mantra. Gayatri mantra will protect you from harm wherever you are, make your intellect shine, improve your power of speech, and dispel the darkness of ignorance. Gayatri mantra AUM BHOOR BHUWAH SWAHA, TAT SAVITUR VARENYAM BHARGO DEVASAYA DHEEMAHI DHIYO YO NAHA PRACHODAYAT.

Meaning of the Gayatri Mantra Aum = Brahma ; bhoor = embodiment of vital spiritual energy(pran) ; bhuwah = destroyer of sufferings ; swaha = embodiment of happiness ; tat = that ; savitur = bright like sun ; varenyam = best choicest ; bhargo = destroyer of sins ; devasya = divine ; these first nine words describe the glory of God dheemahi = may imbibe ; pertains to meditation dhiyo = intellect ; yo = who ; naha = our ; prachodayat = may inspire! "dhiyo yo na prachodayat" is a prayer to God 3. Hare Krishna Mantra

Hare Krishna Mantra is one of the supreme mantra. Hare krisna mantra is known as Maha-mantra of Kailyug -(the supreme mantra of Kaliyug - the present era of machine where truth and righteousness are at their lowest level. ) It has been said that by repeating this mantra with faith and devotion, one can attain salvation and peace of mind. Hare means the another name of Vishnu meaning he who removes illusions. Ram is the name of the incarnation of Vishnu in the Treta yug. Krishna is the name of the incarnation of Vishnu in the 'Dwaper yug'. It is said that in every yug (era) Vishnu takes incarnation on earth to establish the law of truth and righteousness. “Hare Krishna Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna Hare Hare Hare Rama Hare Rama, Rama Rama Hare Hare" 4. Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra

Maha Mrityunjay Mantra is one of the enormously powerful mantra. It is also known as the Moksha Mantra of Lord Shiva. Chanting of Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra is said to create divine vibrations that heals, removes the fear of death, liberating one from the cycle of death and rebirth. It is truly said that the chanting of Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra gives good health, wealth, long life, peace, prosperity and contentment. It is said if this

mantra is chanted for 1, 25000 times with complete dedication and devotion then a person can even return from the jaws of death. "Om Hom Joom Sah Om Bhur Bhuvah Svah Om Trayambakam Yajamahe Sugandhim Pushtivardhanam Urvarukvamiva Bandhanan Mrityormukshiya Maa Mritat Om Bhur Bhuvah Svah Om Sah Joom Hom Om"

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful