You are on page 1of 8

4/17/2016

(/)

Electric Current and Ohm's Law : Theory Page 1

Electrical Quizzes!

(https://www.facebook.com/pages/ElectricalQuizzes/127532903968028)

(https://plus.google.com/communities/103726788678110648501)
Electric Circuit and Ohm's Law (/electric-circuits/electric-circuits.htm)
Synchronous Generator (/synchronous-generator/synchronous-generator.htm)
Synchronous Motor (/synchronous-motors/synchronous-motor.htm)
Single Phase Motor (/single-phase-motor/single-phase-motor.htm)
Electric Power Generation (/electric-power-generation/electric-power-generation.htm)
Power Generation Economics (/power-generation-economics/power-generation-economics.htm)
Electric Transmission and Distribution (/electric-transmission-distribution/electric-transmission-distribution.htm)
Circuit Breakers (/circuit-breakers/circuit-breakers.htm)
High Voltag Engineering (/high-voltage-engineering/high-voltage-engineering.htm)
Rectiတers and Converters (/rectiတers-converters/rectiတers-converters.htm)
Electric Illumination (/electric-illumination/electric-illumination.htm)
Electric Traction (/electric-traction/electric-traction.htm)
Electric Machine Design (/electric-machine-design/electric-machine-design.htm)
Industrial Drives (/industrial-drives/industrial-drive.htm)
Computation (/computations/computation.htm)

http://www.electricalquizzes.com/electric­circuits/electric­circuits

1/8

4/17/2016 Electric Current and Ohm's Law : Theory Page 1 Electric Circuit Theory Electric Circuit MCQ's (/electriccircuits/electric-circuits-mcqs.com/electric­circuits/electric­circuits 2/8 .htm) Electric Circuits-Page 1 (/electric-circuits/electriccircuits.htm) Electric Circuits-Page 2 (/electric-circuits/electriccircuits-2.htm) Electric Circuit True .htm) Electric Circuit Fill in the blanks (/electric-circuits/electric-circuits-တllblanks.htm) http://www.electricalquizzes.False (/electriccircuits/electric-circuits-true-false.

Thus   I (Ampere) = coulomb/second = ∆ q / ∆ t One coulomb is equivalent to the charge of 6.4/17/2016 Electric Current and Ohm's Law : Theory Page 1 (/#whatsapp) (/#google_plus) (/#facebook) (/#twitter) (/#pinterest) (/#linkedin) (/#email) Electric Circuits and Ohm's Law : Concepts BASIC DATA ABOUT ATOM : Mass of electron = 9.   RESISTANCE : http://www. The unit of current is coulomb per second and is called ampere. 1 emu of current = 3 x 1010 esu of current.11 x 10-31 kg Mass of proton = 1.67 x 10-27 kg Mass of neutron = mass of proton Mass of electron = 1/1840 mass of proton Diameter of nucleus is of the order of 10-14 m Diameter of orbits = 104 times dia of molecule Diameter of electron = 10-15 m Charge on electron = .602 x 10-19 coulomb Charge on proton = + 1.28 x 1018 electrons.   ELECTROMOTIVE FORCE : Electromotive force or potential of a body is the work done in joules to bring a unit electric charge from inတnity to the body.1.electricalquizzes.com/electric­circuits/electric­circuits 3/8 . It is expressed in terms of The volts (V). potential diတerence is deတned as that which causes current to တow in the closed circuit.   UNIT OF CURRENT : The charge on an electron is measured in terms of coulomb.602 x 10-19 coulomb.

). Cross-sectional area of the conductor . of the material of which the conductor is made up 4. Length of conductor.V.4/17/2016 Electric Current and Ohm's Law : Theory Page 1 RESISTANCE : Resistance is the property of a substance due to which it opposes the တow of electrons (i. rubber. mica. acids and salt solutions are good conductors of electricity. Thus R. Some of the insulators are glass.com/electric­circuits/electric­circuits 4/8 . Thus   http://www. the current through a conductor is proportional to the applied potential diတerence and it remains constant... etc.electricalquizzes. copper and aluminium oတer least resistance to တow of current and are called very good conductor of electricity. etc. thereby producing heat. The electrons while တowing through the molecules or the atoms of the conductor. Such substances are called poor conductors or insulators of electricity. the resistance of a conductor is given by   R=ρl/A   where ρ = speciတc resistance or resistivity of the material. the nature of composition. The unit of resistance is ohm ( Metals. A = cross-sectional area of conductor. Its resistivity i. Temperature of the conductor . collide with other atoms and electrons. Silver. electric current) through it.e.   The resistance of a conductor depends on:   1.it almost varies directly with the temperature.it varies directly with the length 2. Ω). dry wood.   Ohm's Law : If the temperature and other conditions remain constant. l = length of the conductors.e.C.it varies inversely with the cross-sectional area 3. polyvinyl chloride (P. Some substances oတer relatively greater di†culty or hindrance to the passage of these electrons. bakelite.

  ELECTRICAL POWER : Electrical power is expressed in terms of watts (W) and is given by   W= E x I = I2 x R = E2 / R http://www.4/17/2016 Electric Current and Ohm's Law : Theory Page 1 Current = Applied Voltage / Resistance of the circuit   Resistance = Applied voltage / Current in the circuit   Potential across resistance = Current x Resistance. The Ohm's law can be applied to DC as well as AC circuits. part resistance and the potential across the part resistance should be used. Thus   G= 1 / R   The unit of conductance is mho. 2. When ohm's law is applied to a part circuit. 3.   Conditions for Ohm's Law : 1. is used in place of resistance. Thus   I = E / Z = Applied voltage / Impedance in the circuit   Conductance (G ) : Conductance is the reciprocal of ( R ) and is measure of the ease with which the current will တow through a substance.electricalquizzes. Ohm's law can be applied either to the entire circuit or a part of a circuit.com/electric­circuits/electric­circuits 5/8 . in case of AC circuits impedance Z. However.

same current တows through all resistances. Electric Circuit > Theory Page 2 → (/electric-circuits/electric-circuits-2. is given by   R = R1 + R2 + R3   Also.000 W.htm) Discuss Electric Circuit Concept : Page 1 !!! http://www.com/electric­circuits/electric­circuits 6/8 . Thus   1 kWh = 1 kW x 1 hour = 1000 watt-hours = 1000 x 60 x 60 watt-sec.   RESISTANCE COMBINATIONS : Resistances in series : When resistances are connected in series.electricalquizzes.   Electrical Energy : Electrical energy is expressed in terms of kilowatt hours (kWh).4/17/2016 Electric Current and Ohm's Law : Theory Page 1   Power is also expressed in terms of kW ( kilowatt ) ( =1000 W ) or MW ( megawatt ) which is 1000 kW or 1000. and overall resistance R.   V = V1 + V2 + V3 = IR1+ IR2 + IR3 .

False (/electriccircuits/electric-circuits-true-false.htm) Answers Electric Circuits-Page 1 (/electric-circuits/electriccircuits.htm) Facts & Answers at Your Fingertips For Free .Get Reference App Today! Electric Circuit Fill in the blanks (/electric-circuits/electric-circuits-တllblanks.4/17/2016 Electric Current and Ohm's Law : Theory Page 1 Electric Circuit Theory Electric Circuit MCQ's (/electriccircuits/electric-circuits-mcqs.htm) Electric Circuit True .electricalquizzes.com/electric­circuits/electric­circuits (/#facebook) (/#twitter) (/#pinterest) (/#linkedin) (/#email) 7/8 .htm) (/#whatsapp) (/#google_plus) http://www.htm) Electric Circuits-Page 2 (/electric-circuits/electriccircuits-2.

ElectricalQuizzes.4/17/2016 Electric Current and Ohm's Law : Theory Page 1 (/forum) About Us (/တles/about-us.htm)Contact Us (/တles/contactus. All rights reserved.php) Copyright © 2010-2014.electricalquizzes.htm) Privacy Policy (/တles/privacy-policy.com/electric­circuits/electric­circuits 8/8 . http://www.