You are on page 1of 4

India Study Guide 

Subcontinent: a large landmass that forms a distinct part of a continent 
Indus River and Ganges River: Prominent rivers in the Indus Valley 
Eastern Ghats: Mountain range on the southeast of the Indian Peninsula 
Mohenjo Daro: Harappa advanced city with appt style houses, plumbing systems, and grid like 
city format. 
Asian Steppes: 
Brahmins: Highest caste in India’s Caste System with priests 
Caste System: Based on occupation and determined role in society. Dictated whom one could 
marry and whom one could interact with. 4 groups (Aryans) 
Upanishads: Interpretations of the Vedas 
Brahma: a Hindu God “the creator” 
Siddartha Gautama: Founder of Buddhism/Buddha, born into a wealthy family but wished to 
seek more through enlightenment. 
Dharma: Religious and moral duties, obey Dharma results in merit for next life. 
Chandragupta Maurya: Mauryan Empire leader, Indian military leader and seizes power. 
Claimed land from Maghada to the Indus River. 
Seleucus 1: Formal general of Alexander the Great and tried to reestablish Macedonian control 
over Indus Valley, but is defeated by Chandragupta. 
Religious Toleration: During Asoka’s reign (Chandragupta’s grandson and best) 
Matriarchal: Tamil region was run by the female 
Hindu Kush: Northern mountains in India 
Ganges River: Western prominent river in India 
Western Ghats: Mountain chain in southwestern India. 
Deccan Plateau: Central plateau in southern India 
Himalayas: largest  mountain chain in the world in northeastern India 

Kalidasa: famous poet for Chandra Gupta.  Moksha: goal of Hinduism. wrote Shakuntala  Monsoons: Seasonal winds that bring wind and rain.  Vishnu: god in Hinduism.  Bodhisattvas:attaining enlightenment but refusing to enter Nirvana. married into royalty and establishes Gupta Empire; son Samudra  Kalinga:  Tamil: a language of southern India also the people who peak the language.  Harappa: city in Harappan Civilization aka Indus Valley Civilization known for advanced city  planning  Aryans: Indo Europeans that originated between the Black and Caspian Sea and migrated for  unknown reasons to the Indus Valley; pastoral  Kshatriyas: second tier in the Caste System made up of warriors  Untouchables: not part of the caste system; violators of caste rules became outsiders; made up of  butchers. spells. grave diggers and trash collectors.  Vedas: Most sacred texts of Aryans that contained a collection of prayers.  . choose to help end others  sufferings and teach Buddhist lessons  Silk Roads:a system of ancient caravan routes across central Asia. Eightfold Path.  Vaishyas: Third tier in Caste System made up of traders and landowners.  Mahabharata:   Reincarnation: In Hinduism and Buddhism. union with Brahmin and free themselves from selfish desires. the preserver  Enlightenment: In Buddhism. and instructions  for rituals. Three  Jewels  Chandra Gupta: King. a state of perfect wisdom where one understands the basic truths  about the universe.  Jatakas: Sacred literature of Buddhism including Four Noble Truths.  Harappan Civilizations:another name for Indus Valley Civilization that arose along the Indus  River characterised by sophisticated city planning. the processes by which a soul is reborn continuously  until it achieves perfect understanding.

 Originally passed  down orally.  Shudras: fourth tier of caste system made up of peasants and workers  Hinduism: Grew out of overlapping beliefs of diverse groups.  Stupas: a mounded stone structure built over Buddhist relics. Bureaucratic  Government .   Mahayana: Less strict interpretation of Buddhism. built roads to communicate and religious tolerant.                . strive achieve nirvana and end suffering caused by  desires through Dharma (teachings that humans can overcome suffering by a prescribed  lifestyle).  Chandra Gupta 2: Defeated Shakas to the west and allowed trade to Mediterranean region  Stone Pillars: policies were written on these (similar to Hammurabi's Code) and guaranteed fair  treatment.Shiva: Hindu God. “the destroyer”  Eightfold Path: a path to achieve the Four Noble Truths and end suffering.  Khyber Pass:  City Planning:  Rig Veda: Most important collection of hundreds of hymns to Aryan Gods.  Asoka: Most capable leader of Mauryan Empire (32 years)  Andhra Dynasty:  Patriarchal: male lead family (Gupta Empire)  Theravada: strict interpretation of Buddhism.  Nirvana:the end of suffering.  Mauryan Empire: first empire in India founded by Chandragupta Maurya.  Karma: all actions of a person’s life that affect his/her fate in the next life  Buddhism: founded by Siddhartha Gautama.