The 1st Conference on Cultural Policies in the Arab Region 7-8 June 2010, Beirut, Lebanon

List of Participants
1. Amin El Zaoui, Novelist, Algeria aminzaoui@yahoo.fr 2. Amine Moumine, Associate Professor, Hassan II Mohammedia, Casablanca University and General Director, Moulay Rachid Cultural Centre, Morocco moumine@menara.ma 3. Ammar Kessab, Researcher in Cultural Management, Expert in Cultural Policies, Algeria a.kessab@yahoo.fr 4. Andreas Wiesand, Executive Director, European Comparative Cultural Research ERICarts, Germany wiesand@ericarts.nl Institute for

5. Areej Hijazi, National Programme Officer, UNSECO Ramallah Office, Palestine a.hijazi@unesco.org 6. Barbara Hewitt, Director, British Council, Lebanon Barbara.Hewitt@lb.britishcouncil.org 7. Basema Al Nabky, Director of Administration and legal affairs department, General organization of Dar Al Assad for Culture and Arts, Syria. basema_alnabky@hotmail.com 8. Bensalem Himmich, Minister of Culture, Morocco – to be confirmed sec.ministre@minculture.gov.ma 9. Cas Smithuijsen, Director, The Boekman Foundation, The Netherlands In collaboration with DOEN Foundation and the British Council

C.Smithuijsen@boekman.nl 10. Catherine Cornet, Journalist, Babelmed, Italy catherinecornet@gmail.com 11. Elga Trad, Member of the Executive Committee, Baalbeck International Festival, Lebanon etrad@terra.net.lb 12. Elham Kallab, Professor in Institute of Fine Arts, Lebanese University, and Islamo-Christian Studies, Saint-Joseph University, Lebanon elhamkallab@hotmail.com 13. Elizabeth White, Director, British Council, Syria Elizabeth.White@sy.britishcouncil.org 14. Emad Abou Ghazi, General Secretary of the Supreme Council of Culture, Ministry of Culture, Egypt emad_a_ghazi@yahoo.com 15. Fanny Bouquerel, Amuni, France info@amuni.org 16. Fathy Abdel Rahman, General Director of the General Directorate of development and planning, Ministry of Culture, Palestine. minister_of_culture@yahoo.com 17. Fatima Azzahrae Chaabani, Researcher in Cultural Policies, Morocco fatimazzahrae@gmail.com 18. Fatin Farahat, Director of Cultural Unit, Ramallah Municipality, Palestine f.farhat@ramallah.ps 19. Giovanni Fontana Antonelli, Programme Specialist for Culture, UNESCO Ramallah Office, Palestine g.fontana@unesco.org 20. Gregor Meiering, Director of the ME office of the Open Society Institute, Jordan gmeiering@osimena.org In collaboration with DOEN Foundation and the British Council

21. Hassan Abbass, Academic and Researcher, Syria h.abbas@scs-net.org 22. Hazaa El Barari, Novelist, Ministry of Culture, Jordan hbarari54@hotmail.com

23. Hikmat El Nawayseh, Poet, Ministry of Culture, Jordan hnawayseh@hotmail.com 24. Jordi Baltà Portolés, The Interarts Foundation, Spain jbalta@interarts.net Project Coordinator ,

25. Joseph Kreidi, Programme Officer, Culture Sector, Focal point for recovery and reconstruction, UNESCO Regional Bureau, Lebanon j.kreidi@unesco.org 26. Laila hourani, Regional Manager Creativity, British Council, Syria Laila.Hourani@sy.britishcouncil.org 27. Lina Attel, Director General, National Center for Culture and Performing Arts, King Hussein Foundation, Jordan lina.attel@pac.org.jo 28. Luis Prados, First Counselor, Spanish Embassy, Lebanon – to be confirmed luis@covados.net; luis.prados@maec.es 29. Makhlouf Boukrouh, Researcher in Cultural Policies, Professor at the Faculty of political sciences and information, University of Algiers, Algeria boukrouhm@gmail.com 30. Menha El Batraoui, Theatre Critic, El Ahram Hebdo Newspaper, Egypt menbat@hotmail.com 31. Michele Warde, President, Assabil Association, Lebanon mwarde@yahoo.com

In collaboration with DOEN Foundation and the British Council

32. Mikhail Gnedovsky, Director, Cultural Policy Institute, Moscow, Russia Gnedovsky@gmail.com 33. Milena Dragicevic-Sesic, Professor of Cultural Policy and Cultural Management, Cultural Studies and Media Studies, Serbia msesic@gmail.com 34. Monika Borgmann, Director, Research, Lebanon monika.borgmann@gmail.com UMAM Documentation and

35. Moukhtar Kocache, Program Officer, Media, Arts and Culture, Ford Foundation, Egypt M.Kocache@fordfoundation.org 36. Mourad Kadiri, Culture Minister’s advisor, Ministry of Culture, Morocco – to be confirmed Kadiri0072003@yahoo.fr 37. Neeme Neeme, Writer and theatre director, researcher in Arts and Education, Lebanon nehmenehme@hotmail.com 38. Nina J. Köprülü, President and Director, Joukowsky Family Foundation, USA ninajk@joukowsky.org 39. Ola Khalidi, Director, Makan, Jordan ola@makanhouse.net 40. Osman Kavala, Chairman of the board, Anadolu Kültür, Turkey osmankavala@superonline.com 41. Ouafa Belgacem, Researcher in Cultural Policies, Tunis belwafe@yahoo.com 42. Rana Yazaji, Programme Manager, Rawafed the Cultural Project of Syria Trust for Development, Syria yazaji.rana@gmail.com In collaboration with DOEN Foundation and the British Council

43. Rani Al Rajji, Studio Beirut, Lebanon ranialrajji@gmail.com 44. Racha Najdi, social management, Lebanon
racha.najdi@gmail.com

activist

and

MA

student

in

cultural

45. Reem Khatib, Artist and Researcher in Cultural Policies, Syria rimkhatib1970@yahoo.com 46. Renata Papsch, Programme Administrator, Anna Lindh EuroMediterranean Foundation for the dialogue between cultures, Egypt renata.papsch@bibalex.org 47. Rima Abou Baker, Cultural Foundation, Lebanon rima.aboubaker@safadi-foundation.or' Program Coordinator, Safadi

48. Rita Azar, Journalist and researcher in cultural policies, Lebanon ritazar@yahoo.com; ritazar@hotmail.com 49. Ritva Mitchell, Director of research for the Finnish Foundation for Cultural Policy Research (CUPORE), Finland ritva.mitchell@cupore.fi 50. Robert Palmer, Director of Culture and Cultural and Natural Heritage, Council of Europe, France Robert.PALMER@coe.int 51. Rym El Husseini, Director of Al Mouna Library, Safadi Foundation, Lebanon library@safadi-foundation.org 52. Salwa Saniora Baassiri, General Secretary, National Commission for UNESCO (LNCU), Lebanon cnlu@cyberia.net.lb the Lebanese

53. Samar Dudin, Founder & Director of Takween Open Spaces for Enlightenment & Creativity, Jordan samar.dudin@ruwwad.jo In collaboration with DOEN Foundation and the British Council

54. Samar Jammoul, Assistant, Al Mouna Library, Safadi Foundation, Lebanon samar.jammoul@safadi-foundation.org 55. Samar Martha, Co-founder and Director of Art School Palestine, Palestine samar@artschoolpalestine.com 56. Sandra Dagher, Board Member and Director of Beirut Art Center, Lebanon sandradagher@beirutartcenter.org 57. Sarah Gardner, Executive Director, International Federation of Arts Councils and Culture Agencies (IFACCA), Australia S.Gardner@australiacouncil.gov.au 58. Sara Selwood, Sara Selwood Associates, UK sara@saraselwood.co.uk 59. Sayed Mahmoud, writer and cultural editor at Al Ahram foundation, Egypt. sayedm131@yahoo.com 60. Sellama El Ghayam, Professor at the Higher Institute of Dramatic Art and Cultural Entertainment ISADAC, Researcher in the fields of Sociology and Culture, Morocco el.sellama@hotmail.com 61. Serhan Ada, Director, Cultural Management Program, Istanbul Bilgi University, Turkey sada@bilgi.edu.tr 62. Shelagh Wright, External Advisor, Creative Enterprise Programme, The British Council, UK Shelagh.Wright@britishcouncil.org 63. Soufiene Chourabi, Journalist, Tunis sofinos1@gmail.com Economy and

In collaboration with DOEN Foundation and the British Council

64. Watfa Hamadi, Researcher in cultural policies, Assistant Professor, Department of Arabic language, Faculty of Arts, Lebanese University, Lebanon and the Higher Institute of Dramatic Arts, Kuwait whamadi@hotmail.com 65. Xavier Troussard, Head of Culture Policy and Intercultural Dialogue Unit, European Commission, Belgium Xavier.Troussard@ec.europa.eu 66. Yahia Yakhluf, Head of Higher Council for Art and Education, Palestine info@c-palestine.org 67. Youma Fall, Cultural Development Advisor and Curator, Senegal yfall@biennaledakar.org 68. Zeina Arida, Director, Arab Image Foundation, Lebanon zen@fai.org.lb 69. Zeyneb Farhat, Cultural Expert, Manager of El Teatro, Tunis zeyneb.farhat@elteatro.net

Organizers
1. Basma El Husseiny, Culture Resource (Al Mawred Al Thaqafy), Egypt b.elhusseiny@mawred.org 2. Hanan Hajj Ali, Culture Resource (Al Mawred Al Thaqafy), Lebanon h.hajali@mawred.org 3. Lyne Sneige, the British Council, Lebanon Lyne.Sneige@lb.britishcouncil.org 4. Marwa Helmy, Culture Resource (Al Mawred Al Thaqafy), Egypt m.helmy@mawred.org 5. Odile Chenal, European Cultural Foundation, the Netherlands OChenal@eurocult.org

In collaboration with DOEN Foundation and the British Council

6. Philipp Dietchmair, Netherlands pdietachmair@eurocult.org

European

Cultural

Foundation,

the

7. Salma Said, Culture Resource (Al Mawred Al Thaqafy), Egypt s.said@mawred.org 8. Tsveta Andreeva, European Cultural Foundation, the Netherlands tandreeva@eurocult.org

In collaboration with DOEN Foundation and the British Council