You are on page 1of 3

UNITED STATES TERRITORY: The territory of the Unites States is about

9629 sq km. It consists of fifty states.
US POPULATION: The population of the USA is about 289 million people.
US LOCATION: The United States is situated in north-America.
US BORDERS: The US has land borders with Canada and Mexico and sea
borders with Cuba and Russia.
UNITED STATES: GOVERNMENT: The United States is a federal
presidential republic. The executive power(végrehajtó hatalom) lies in the
hands of the president and the cabinet. Legislative power(törvényhozó) is
allocated to the House of Representatives, usually called the Congress,
and the Senate, both of which may veto each other's bills(törvény,
határozat). Judicial power belongs to the Supreme Court and other federal
US CURRENCY: The official currency of United States is the U.S. dollar.
US CAPITALS AND POPULATION: The capital of the United States is
Washington DC. It has a population of more than half a million. New York
City is a major port in south-eastern New York State. With its population of
about 7.5 million people, it is the most popular city in the US. It consists
of Manhattan, Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens and Staten Island boroughs. The
second most populous city is Los Angeles with its 3.5 million inhabitants.
You can find Hollywood, the centre of US film and television industry,
here. The third largest town is Chicago, an industrial city on Lake
Michigan with about 2.7 million inhabitants.
RELIGION: The largest religions in the United States are Protestant,
followed by Roman Catholic, and Jews.
US LANGUAGES: In the United States English, Spanish and Native Indian
Languages are spoken.
THE MAIN REGIONS: The main regions of the United States are the
Northeast, the Central Basin, the Southeast, the Great Plains, the
Mountains and Deserts, the West Coast Valleys and the Newest States.
- The East Coast is the oldest and most urban part of the country. This
is the melting pot(olvasztótégely) of many nations. Millions of
Europeans moved to this industrial area bringing with them the
European culture and traditions. The West Coast is famous for big
cities like San Francisco and Los Angeles. You can also find
Hollywood here.
- Las Vegas is famous for its casinos and bars, its neon-lighted resort
hotels, quick marriages and cheap prices.

The European Union (abbreviation: EU)
- There is a confederation of 28 member countries in Europe, started
in 1957 as the European Economic Community (EEC). It has created
a common economic area with Europe-wide laws allowing people to

– Seventeen of these countries also share the same type of money. It’s the official currency of European Union. steel and trade). The free movement of European Union: . . Belgium. The members decide how the Union should act by voting for or against proposals(indítvány. For example. so people can now travel from one country to the other without a passport or identity card. Italy.After World War II. The history of European Union*: . It does this with a common style of passport.A person who is a citizen of a European Union country can live and work in any of the other 28 member countries without needing a work permit or visa. 22 member countries of the EU opened their borders to each other. justice (laws). and Luxembourg created one European Coal and Steel Community in 1952. Now it was a community for coal. Instead of fighting for coal and steel. The Treaty of Lisbon is the most recent treaty that says how the Union is run. With the Schengen Agreement. Most members share a common currency (the euro) and most allow people to travel from one country to another without having to show a passport. the countries in Europe wanted to live peacefully together and help one another's economies.In 1993. 10 new countries became members of the EU in 2004.In 1957 in the Italian city of Rome. Netherlands. The purpose of the EU is to bring its member states closer together with respect of human rights and democracy.- move and trade in other EU countries almost the same as they do in their own. the euro. előterjesztés). Every member state signed to say that they each agreed with what it says. and 1 more in 2013. but also in money. Now already 16 member countries have replaced their national currencies with the euro. and foreign affairs. Now the member countries work together not only in politics and economy (coal. common agreements about law enforcement. Today there are 28 member countries altogether. Later it changed the name to the European Community. the first member countries (West) Germany. 2 more became members in 2007. France. the member countries signed another treaty and made the European Economic Community. and other agreements. common rules about fair trading with each other. steel and for trade. with the Treaty of Maastricht it changed its name to the European Union. a British person can move to . .

. or MEP).In the same way. . or just to live there. For this reason. the members agree rules on product safety .they want to know that a product made in another country will be as safe as it would be if it had been made in their own country.Germany to work there.Hungary was invited to join both the NATO and the European Union in 1997. The Parliament can approve. It became a member of NATO in 1999. The European Parliament: The Parliament has a total of 785 members (called Members of the European Parliament. reject or change proposed laws. products made in one member country can be sold in any other member country without any special permissions or extra taxes. They are elected in their countries every five years by the citizens of the European Union member countries. Hungary took on the presidency of the Council of the European Union for half a year in 2011. and a member of the EU in 2004. . It can also sack the European Commission. In that case. the entire commission would have to give up their jobs. and he or she does not need permission from an authority in Germany.