You are on page 1of 2

Reginald Smith Brindle

Reginald Smith Brindle (5 January 1917 9 September

2003) was a British composer and writer.

ford University Press. 1975. ISBN 978-0-19315468-1. Second edition 1987. ISBN 978-0-19315471-1 (cloth); ISBN 978-0-19-315468-1 (pbk).

Smith Brindle was born in Cuerdon, Lancashire. He began learning the piano at the age of six, and later took
up the clarinet, saxophone and guitar (and won a Melody
Maker prize for his guitar-playing). Under pressure from
his parents, he began to study architecture. At the time,
he was interested in jazz, and played saxophone professionally for a while alongside his studies. On attending an
organ recital at Chester Cathedral in 1937, however, he
was inspired to take up both the organ and composition.
He spent most of the war serving in Africa and Italy as
a sapper. It was during this period that he rekindled his
interest in the guitar, an instrument for which he wrote an
enormous amount of music.

Musical Composition. Oxford University Press.

1986. ISBN 978-0-19-317107-7.

2 External links
Guy Rickards (29 October 2003). Obituary: Reginald Smith Brindle. The Guardian.
Obituaries : reported in Bangoriad 2004. Prifysgol Bangor University.
Museums 18 hour musical marathon. BBC. 21
June 2009.

After the war, Smith Brindle returned to composition.

He submitted a Fantasia Passacaglia (1946) for an Italian
composition competition, and won rst prize. From 1946
to 1949 he studied music at the University College of
North Wales in Bangor. He went to Italy in 1949 to continue his studies. Here his teachers included Ildebrando
Pizzetti and Luigi Dallapiccola.
Although he wrote for many instruments, Smith Brindle
was perhaps best known for his solo guitar music, especially El Polifemo de Oro (1956), written for Julian
Bream, as well as ve sonatas (1948, 1976, 1978, 1979),
Variants on two themes of J. S. Bach (1970), Memento
in two movements (1973), Do not go gentle... (1974),
November Memories (1974), Four Poems of Garcia Lorca
(1975), Preludes and Fantasies (1980) and The Prince of
Venosa (1994). His only opera, The Death of Antigone,
premiered at Oxford in 1971.
Smith Brindle was an expert on the music of 20thcentury Italian composers such as Luigi Dallapiccola,
Ildebrando Pizzetti and Bruno Bartolozzi (he studied with
all three). He also wrote a technical book Serial Composition"(1966). He played many instruments, but was
particularly fond of the guitar, organ and saxophone.

Serial Composition. Oxford University Press. 1966.
ISBN 978-0-19-311906-2.
Contemporary Percussion. Oxford University Press.
1970. ISBN 978-0-19-816247-6.
The New Music: The Avant-garde since 1945. Ox1


Text and image sources, contributors, and licenses



Reginald Smith Brindle Source: Contributors: Deb, Hyacinth,

RedWolf, JackofOz, Duncharris, D6, Rich Farmbrough, Matve, Bluemoose, Kbdank71, Rjwilmsi, SmackBot, Ser Amantio di Nicolao, Cydebot, Jerome Kohl, Waacstats, Nrswanson, Sean.hoyland, MattyAlford, TheRedPenOfDoom, Addbot, Thehelpfulbot, Full-date unlinking
bot, RjwilmsiBot, EmausBot, VIAFbot, KasparBot and Anonymous: 8




Content license

Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0