You are on page 1of 1

Indian Standard (BIS) for Designation of Carbon & Alloy Steels:

A large number of varieties of steels are used for machine components. Bureau of Indian
Standard uses the following designations for steels.
a. Designation of Plain Carbon Steels: The designation of Plain carbon steels indicates
any one of the three properties:
Minimum Tensile strength: Symbol Fe followed by minimum (Ultimate) tensile
strength in 2
Yield strength: Symbol FeE followed by the yield strength in 2
Chemical compositions: Designated by where
represents 100 times the average percentage of carbon
Represents 10 times the average percentage of carbon.

b. Designation of Alloy Steels: The designation of alloy steel consists of the following
A figure indicating 100 times the average percentage of carbon
Chemical symbols followed by a figure for average percentage content multiplied
by a factor.
The letter C is omitted here and just the number is written to denote carbon %.
Alloying elements are arranged in descending order of their percentage content.
If the percentage content of Manganese (Mn) is less than 1% then Mn is not
included in the designation.
Cr, Co, Ni, Mn, Si and W
Mo, V

Multiplying Factor

c. Designation of Cast Steels:There are two varieties of steel casting

Carbon steel castings: Designated by Grade where
represents minimum yield strength in 2
represents minimum tensile strength in 2
High tensile steel casting: Designated by CS followed by a number which
indicates minimum ultimate tensile strength in 2 .

d. Designation for Cast Iron:

Designation of Grey Cast Iron: It is specified by FG followed by a number
indicating tensile strength in 2 .
Designation of Spheroidal Cast Iron: It is also called as Ductile Cast Iron and
nodular Cast Iron. It is specified by SG where
represents minimum tensile strength in 2
Represents minimum elongation in percentage.
Designation Malleable cast iron: There are three types of Malleable cast iron:
blackheart , pearlitic and whiteheart which are designated by symbols BM, PM
and WM respectively and followed by minimum tensile strength in 2 .