National Eligibility­cum­Entrance Test – Post Graduate (NEET­PG)

Press Information Bureau 
Government of India
Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
21­September­2016 11:12 IST

National Eligibility­cum­Entrance Test – Post Graduate (NEET­PG) 
The  National  Eligibility­cum­Entrance  Test  for  entrance  to  MD/MS/PG  Diploma  Courses  in  terms  of  Section  10  of  the
Indian Medical Council Act, 1956 as amended in 2016 shall be conducted by the National Board of Examinations.
1.      The examination shall be held in 86 test centers at 41 cities from December 5th – 13th, 2016. The examination shall be
held  as  a  Computer  Based  Test  and  shall  comprise  of  300  Multiple  Choice  Questions  from  the  MBBS  curriculum
followed  at  medical  colleges  in  India  duly  prescribed  as  per  the  Graduate  Medical  Education  Regulation  notified  by
Medical Council of India with prior approval of the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India. 
2.      NEET­PG is a single window entrance examination for entry to MD/MS/Post Diploma courses.  No other examination
either at state level or institutional level entrance examination conducted by medical colleges /institutions shall be valid
as per the Indian Medical Council Act, 1956 with effect from 2017 admission session.
3.            Scope  of  Examination:  NEET­PG  2017  shall  be  a  single  eligibility  cum  entrance  examination  namely  ‘National
Eligibility­cum­Entrance Test for admission to Postgraduate Medical Courses’ for the academic session 2017 which will
include the following:
    i.    All India 50% quota seats for MD/MS/PG Diploma courses (all states except Andhra Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir and
    ii.        State  quota  seats  for  MD/MS/PG  Diploma  courses  for  all  States/Union  territories  of  India  (including  the  states  of
Andhra Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir and Telangana)
iii.        MD/MS/PG  Diploma  courses  at  all  Private  Medical  Colleges,  Institutions  &  Universities/Deemed  Universities  all
across the country
 iv.    MD/MS/PG Diploma courses at Armed Forces Medical Services Institutions.
   v.    DNB Broad specialty courses (January 2017 Admission Session)
4.      The website for NEET­PG shall be available with effect from 24/09/2016 and online registration for the NEET­PG shall
commence from 0700hrs on 26/09/2016 till 31/10/2016 (23:59hrs).  The entire procedure for registration and application
for the examination is online. 
5.            A  toll  free  number  1XXX  XX  1700  is  available  with  effect  from  26/09/2017.    Further  details  about  the  exam  are
available at www.nbe.edu.in
National  Board  of  Examinations  (NBE)  is  an  autonomous  organization  established  by  Government  of  India  in  1982  with
prime  objective  of  conducting  post  graduate  examinations  on  all  India  basis.    National  Board  of  Examinations  also
conducted  the  NEET­PG  for  MD/MS/PG  Diploma  admissions  in  2013  and  All  India  Post  Graduate  Medical  Entrance
Examination (AIPGMEE) during the period 2014 – 2016. 
AIIMS, PGIMER, JIPMER, NIMHANS and SRICHITRA Institute are not covered by NEET PG. Queries may be directed
to NBE office at 011­45593000, mail@natboard.edu.in.