You are on page 1of 48
**SELECT PREVIEW**
**SELECT PREVIEW**
SelectPreview (Updated12-26-2016) TheFirstEditionofthisbookisprintedinblack&white.
SelectPreview
(Updated12-26-2016)
TheFirstEditionofthisbookisprintedinblack&white.
Theselectedpreviewpagesareshownincolorforyourconvenience.

PREFACE

“Covert racism, subtle in application, often appears hidden by norms of association, affiliation, group membership and/or identity…Covert racism operates as a boundary keeping mechanism whose primary purpose is to maintain social distance between racial majorities and racial minorities.1 Rodney C. Coates, Ph.D.

T his book is both a memoir and a textbook on institutional racism. It is written in a manner that hopefully will be

appreciated and understood by academics and laypersons alike. When I arrived at Emporia State University (ESU) in the hot summer days of July 2014 I never imagined that this book would emerge. I had planned to write peer-reviewed journal articles on my theory of visual cognition, the basis for my dissertation. I was hired as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the School of Library and Information Management (SLIM), and my wife had been hired in SLIM as Assistant to the Dean managing Marketing. My plans were interrupted on April 8 th , 2015 by text messages from my wife Angelica which are shown on the following pages. Angelica had a graduate assistant named Brenda helping her with reports and marketing and the text messages related to what Brenda had shown her and told her that afternoon. I was in the weekly faculty meeting with the dean and my faculty colleagues across the hall from Brenda‘s office on the fourth floor of the SLIM offices in the William Allen White Library building. The text messages you see are foundational facts. This book emerges from these facts, using grounded theory as the benchmark. 2

1 Rodney D. Coates, Covert Racism: Theories, Institutions, and Experiences (Brill, 2011), 2.

2

Norman K Denzin and Yvonna S. Lincoln, The Sage Handbook of

2 Norman K Denzin and Yvonna S. Lincoln, The Sage Handbook of

Qualitative Research (Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2005).

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State x

INTRODUCTION

T HE FIRES FROM THE RIOTS IN CHARLOTTE, North Carolina were still smoldering on September 22 nd , 2016, when

United States House Representative for the 9th District of North Carolina, Robert Pittenger, appeared on a news segment broadcast on the BBC and made the most explicit and offensive commentary that we have ever heard in our lifetimes regarding African Americans. That statement may seem like a stretch, but you can read his words for yourself, or pull it up on the Internet. In one fell swoop Pittenger tore apart the thin flimsy sequined veil that separates everyday covert white racism which operates across all sectors of American life; from the in-your-face uncut vulgarity of swastika-emblazoned skinheads to that insidious silent racism which operates on the ―down low‖ in towering corporations and ivy-wrapped institutions of ―higher learning,he gave it all a singular voice. Pittenger uncloaked the raging white elephant in the room we call America. Joining the ranks emboldened by the likes of Donald Trump, he made no bones about his proclivities and his prejudice. In response to the reporter's question, who asked "What is their grievance in their mind?" he responded without hesitation:

"The grievance in their mind is the animus, the anger. They hate white people because white people are successful, and they're not. And yes, it is. It is a welfare state. We have spent trillions of dollars on welfare, but we‟ve put people in bondage so that they can‟t be all that they are capable of being. America is a country of opportunity, and freedom and liberty. It didn‟t become that way because of a great government that provided everything for everyone. No. The destiny of America,

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

the freedom to come to this country, where they‟re still coming to our shores, is because they can take their work ethic and their hard effort, and put up their cap on their wrist, and build out their lives.” 3 As I sat here, almost a continent away in Arizona, and listened to those cruel words coming from a U.S. Congressman, my reaction was a strange and indescribable mixture of anger, confusion, and hopelessness, because this is the twenty-first century, supposedly light years ahead of the violence of white hooded lynch mobs, crosses burning on front yards, and the toxic ignorance of Jim Crow segregationists. While one could be tempted to classify this racist rant as something from someone on the margins of society, he was elected by a majority somewhere who probably hold similar views, and in reality, he is not that much different from so many other white Americans who bask in hegemonic privilege and seemingly walk the Earth with an air of entitlement to cultural worship, looking down their noses on other cultures, and on black people in particular. Outward appearances can be deceiving, but appearances are what this book is all about. Things in America, especially when it comes to African Americans, have never been what they seem. What is significant is that the need for social awareness of what is factual and what is not has not diminished, despite the election of an African American President and the integration of many aspects and areas of American life. When all was said and done, a U.S. Congressman characterized the anger of the rioters as being directed towards the material

3 Colin Campbell, ―Pittenger Apologizes for Saying Charlotte Protesters ‗Hate White People‘ | News & Observer,‖ News Observer, September 22, 2016, http://www.newsobserver.com/news/politics-

government/politics-columns-blogs/under-the-

dome/article103536037.html.

Introduction

the September 15 th protest march. On the day of the march, the Emporia Gazette interviewed the vice president of the BSU, student Deidra Elijah. Elijah said ―Students see stuff going on and nothing being done about it. We are the voice of this campus. Our generation wants a change, so if no one is going to do it then we are. When you actually sit down [with the Hales] and hear their perspective, that is when you understand things that are important. Even if it isn‘t considered a hate crime, it is emotionally harmful. These are things that scar a person for the rest of their life.‖ 9 Elijah organized a prayer circle at the beginning of the march, and spoke out in a rousing heart-felt prayer.

of the march, and spoke out in a rousing heart-felt prayer. Emporia State BSU vice president

Emporia State BSU vice president Deidra Elijah leading prayer at Sept. 15 th , 2015 March on Emporia

Elijah was an influential student leader, president of the Zeta Phi Beta Sorority at ESU, and secretary of the Multicultural Greek

9 Jessie Wagoner, ―March on Emporia | News | Emporiagazette.com,‖ Emporia Gazette, September 16, 2015,

http://www.emporiagazette.com/news/article_2b5d2855-236c-5b34-

a0ee-090238ea7261.html.

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

Council. She was more active with us than the BSU president, Emmanuel Cockrell, who had just been hired as Interim President Jackie Vietti‘s graduate assistant, and didn‘t want to rock the political boat. This is what he told Jason Brooks. So Elijah‘s support meant a lot, and Angelica felt that they had developed a real bond. In a public Facebook post, Elijah stated ―It‘s been such an honor working with you all! Please let us know if you need anything!‖ Less than two weeks later Elijah and the BSU disappeared from the face of the earth as far as we were concerned. She, along with the vast majority of previous supporters on the campus, abruptly, and without explanation, cut off all communication with us. Elijah never returned phone calls or the t-shirts and money that the BSU made from fundraising for the marches. What had happened? What happened was that ESU administrators, led by Vietti, went on a campaign of personal and group meetings in which they made it clear that they were going to terminate me and tell the world that they need to not communicate with us, in other words, put us under the iron curtain of a ―personnel matter,‖ and demonize all who supported us. Deidra Elijah and the BSU tucked their tails between their legs and backed down. Much of this played out in a September BSU meeting attended by interim president Vietti from which we were excluded, although we had been welcome at previous BSU meetings. Vietti steadfastly refused to even talk to us during her time at ESU. A white student named Jay, who was an ardent supporter of social justice, attended that BSU meeting, and when Vietti came to the meeting he lit into her for numerous things, including her refusal to speak directly to us. Jay asked Vietti point blank if she had ever spoken to the Hales,and her answer was an emphatic ―No.‖ Jay asked the hard questions that Elijah earlier had said she and the BSU were going to ask. According to Jay, he was so intense in his questioning of

Introduction

Vietti and the flawed ESU internal investigation, that Vietti was so angry she left in tears. Elijah and the BSU were furious with Jay! BSU officers had already agreed in their earlier closed-door meeting with Vietti to follow the administration‘s game plan. Jay wasn‘t for sale. Vietti made it clear, no doubt, that those who stood with the Hales would suffer their fate, and those who supported the school would be rewarded. Not only did Elijah verbally berate Jay, other BSU members later accosted Jay and threatened physical violence for his supporting us and confronting them for their silent treatment towards us.

and confronting them for their silent treatment towards us. ESU Interim President Jackie Vietti attending the

ESU Interim President Jackie Vietti attending the September 17 th , 2015 BSU meeting. BSU president Emmanuel Cockrell is on the left and Froilan Huachaca is on the right.

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

answer two days later. Angelica served Kevin Johnson personally in the foyer of Plumb Hall the next day, and you should have seen the look on his face that we could be so audacious. I loved it. What should come as a shock to all, because it certainly came as a shock to us, is that the American Library Association (ALA), the accrediting organization for library schools was likewise aligned with the non-sympathetic racist crowd, and with the politics of silence as perpetrated by ESU. Those in the library field are well aware of the incredible whiteness of the profession, but the public face of the ALA presents the best of democratic ideals: freedom of speech, equality and non-censorship. The reality when it comes to social justice is very different.

reality when it comes to social justice is very different . Angelica serving the summons to

Angelica serving the summons to federal court on ESU General Counsel Kevin Johnson

CHAPTER ONE

Institutional Racism 101

I was sitting in a faculty meeting on April 8 th , 2015, when my cellphone chirped to inform me that I had a message. I quietly

turned it over and entered my password to see who was trying to reach me. Not surprisingly, it was Angelica. We often texted throughout the day. But this was not going to turn out to be an ordinary day. My two word reply after reading her message and seeing the photo she sent along with it was: ―Not good!!!‖ We had no idea how bad it was going to get. On April 8 th , 2015, the graduate assistant who reported to Angelica at Emporia State University came to work in the afternoon to find her office door unlocked, things in the office tampered with, and the word NIGGAZ scrawled on the notepad that she left on her desk before leaving work the previous day. That student worked on media campaigns and projects with Angelica, whose title was Assistant to the Dean, Marketing. We were the only African Americans in the department, the School of Library and Information Management, and we occupied two large offices on the fourth floor, the top floor. My office was 416, Angelica‘s office was 415, and the students‘ office was 413. All of these offices were accessed through locked doors with keys specifically assigned and provided to each of us. They were not interchangeable. ESU General Counsel Kevin Johnson, and Interim President Jackie Vietti would later assert that the student‘s office was a

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

by upstanding African Americans. When white clashes with black at an academic plantation always bet on white.

with black at an academic plantation always bet on white . David Robertson, President and COO,

David Robertson, President and COO, Koch Industries; Dale Gibbens, SVP, Koch Industries; and Kim Penner, President, Koch Pipeline at the dedication of the Koch Center for Leadership and Ethics at ESU.

This type of white power structure is often backed by big money. The situation at ESU is no different. The connection between Emporia State University and Koch Industries is undeniable and inseparable. For more information about this, I refer you to Jane Mayers‘ Dark Money. 18 The current President and Chief Operating Officer for Koch Industries, David L. Robertson, earned his bachelor‘s degree in business administration and marketing from ESU. He is the past president of Koch Petroleum Group, Koch Beef Company and Koch

18 Jane Mayer, Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right, 1 edition (Doubleday, 2016).

CHAPTER TWO

The Cover-Up (and the Whitewash)

A cover-up attempts to conceal facts. It can be passive or active. It attempts to hide information that is evidence of wrong-

doing, and/or things that are embarrassing or humiliating. When

a cover-up is actively endorsed by figures of authority using

deception and misinformation, you have a whitewash. The cover- up typically involves withholding damning information, while the whitewash involves creating lies and false narratives. Institutional and structural racism on an academic plantation travels this low

road while proclaiming to the world that it is taking the high road.

It uses intricate mechanisms to self-validate. The first warning

sign of a cover-up and whitewash is an internal investigation. In a conversation with Mirah Dow I asked her why her lifelong friend, Jackie Vietti, wasn‘t telling the truth. Mirah said: ―I don‘t know. I

really wanted to believe she‘d do the right thing, but I‘ve felt awfully worried about this whole idea of an internal investigation. I felt really worried about that when I came away from that meeting we had on Friday because most of the time an internal investigation is never going to turn out right.Mirah was telling the truth. The meeting on Friday that she referred to was held in July. This conversation took place in October after the results of the investigation came out. Mirah and I both knew that Jackie was lying and that her ―investigation‖ was a stinking pile of fiction. Social justice activist, philosopher, and academic, Cornel West, recently stated that These days, honesty and integrity taken

The Cover-up (and the Whitewash)

Despite the excellence that I brought from UCLA and my popularity as an instructor, I was still just a nigger with sand when it came to my report of a hate crime, and the naming of Gwen‘s office manager as a suspect.

and the naming of Gwen‘s office manage r as a suspect. Angelica Hale and Gwen Alexander

Angelica Hale and Gwen Alexander in the ESU Library Commons at the Geraldine Strader event that Angelica hosted on April 10 th , 2015, only two days after the hate crime.

What about my attitude during the challenging time I was being denigrated and lied on? Was I combative and uncivil? Not according to fellow faculty member Sarah Sutton, who headed up the search committee that recommended hiring me. Here‘s what Sarah had to say in an email message after I was taunted by Dean Alexander in a faculty meeting:

Hi Melvin, I have to say that I really appreciate how gracefully you‘ve handled the whole situation. I greatly appreciate that and respect you for it.

Sarah (August 13 th , 2015)

59

The Cover-up (and the Whitewash)

is a prime example of how a cover-up and a whitewash are implemented on an academic plantation, oppressing and marginalizing and inflicting pain and suffering on upstanding African Americans in the 21 st century. This is a textbook case of institutional, structural, racism. The following chart names some of the influential individuals and entities that support the flawed ―investigation‖ and the lies that were told by Emporia State University.

and entities that support the flawed ―investigation‖ and the lies that were told by Emporia State

77

CHAPTER THREE

The March on Emporia State

T he idea for the march was born with no real forethought or planning, but it surely was meant to be. When we got the call

from Associated Press reporter Margaret Stafford on July 28 th asking us what we planned to do about what was happening at ESU, towards the end of the interview Angelica told me to tell her that we‘re planning a protest march for September 15 th when the American Library Association‘s External Review Panel would be at SLIM. It also coincided with the end of the NAACP‘s march from Selma, Alabama to Washington D.C. that started on August 1 st . History has a way of repeating itself, but unfortunately, the history repeating itself at that moment was the ugly racist behavior of Emporia State University mimicking that of the bigots in Selma, Alabama in 1965 who met MLK and the protest marchers at the Edmond Pettus Bridge with violence. Life has a way of preparing us for the challenges we face. I‘m an award-winning digital artist, and I publish my compositions on canvas. I‘ve owned art galleries in Indialantic, Florida and in Palm Springs, California. Up through my final year at UCLA I had a wide format digital printer which I purchased new in 2001. At that time it was the best archival quality wide format printer money could buy, but by 2014 it was antiquated. Finding ink alone was next to impossible. It was a reliable workhorse though, and during the 13 years I had it, it was a tireless performer, printing literally thousands of fine art prints. I left it next to the dumpster at the

The March on Emporia State

UCLA Apartments on Sepulveda Blvd. in Los Angeles when we moved to Emporia. I had nothing to produce my artwork on, and I couldn‘t afford the wide format printer that replaced the original one, so I didn‘t dare even dream about it. But, to my surprise, I found one for next to nothing in the spring of 2015. A photographer in New Jersey simply wanted someone to come and get it out of his studio. The cost of having it shipped to Kansas cost more than what I paid for it, and it arrived stood up like a fridge, a real no-no, and it was damaged cosmetically. But when I plugged it in and it went through its start-up routine, it finished by flashing ―Ready‖ on the control panel. It physically looked as if it had been to hell and back, but it was ready. And it came with several rolls of photo paper, some of which were 44 inches wide and 100 feet long. Little did I know that this paper would make it possible for me to produce what I like to call the March of Signs and Wonders! Signs talk while marchers walk. In order to be truly impactful and memorable, the signs should tell the story. The theme of the overall protest at ESU was Love Not Hate, so the majority of the signs simply said that. We even made t-shirts with that message.

Love Not Hate , so the majority of the signs simply said that. We even made

Love Not Hate

79

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

Dean Alexander‘s retaliatory actions led directly to this turmoil, so she earned her own photo-sign.

directly to this turmoil, so she earned her own photo-sign . Dismiss the Dean The dean

Dismiss the Dean

The dean made the statement that ―This is Kansas‖ so I felt that it was necessary to make a sign for that too.

the statement that ― This is Kansas ‖ so I felt that it was necessary to

80

This is Kansas

The March on Emporia State

Aside from the messages on the signs themselves, the sight of protesters exercising their First Amendment rights was powerful. Seeing them standing facing Plumb Hall, the administration building, in defiance of its plantation and culturally backwards mentality, confronting decades of white power and privilege was both alarming and infuriating to ESU, occurring after ESU had announced the results of their ―investigation.‖ As I looked up at the windows on the second floor of Plumb Hall I made eye contact with Kevin Johnson. The March of Signs and Wonders was an event that he could never have imagined, and it must have filled him, and many of those looking out those windows, with rage and anger. From here we marched and faced the William Allen White Library where the act of racial bullying had occurred, confronting the resident evil there.

bullying had occurred, confronting the resident evil there. Marchers Standing Facing Plumb Hall Little wonder that

Marchers Standing Facing Plumb Hall

Little wonder that within hours Johnson and Vietti were quickly making the rounds of student organizations, starting with the Black Student Union, demanding that they stand down and renounce their support for our cause and for diversity, or be faced

83

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

conditions on my re-filing, the judge denied their motion and left the door open for me to finish the matter later. Note that I may have to update this chapter of the book with a different outcome later.

this chapter of the book with a different outcome later. Nine of the sixteen individual defendants

Nine of the sixteen individual defendants in my third amended complaint

Now I would like to say a few things about how I was able to write legal briefs that stood up against experienced litigators. What I did would have been impossible prior to the evolution of

96

The Court Battle

the Internet. I learned how to format my legal briefs from looking at similar cases. I had to be able to cite case law that is current and relevant, looking first for cases that have been decided in the Tenth Circuit. This information is on the Internet, but you have to know how to search for it.

on the Internet, but you have to know how to search for it. Seven more of

Seven more of the sixteen individual defendants in my third amended complaint

97

CHAPTER SIX

“This is Kansas

I n November 2015 the state of Kansas was awarded an ―F‖ by the Center for Public Integrity, a winner of the 2014 Pulitzer

Prize. Kansas received this overall mark for State Integrity, which

uses a number of factors to assess the systems in place to deter corruption in state government. The categories studied include:

Public Access to Information Political Financing Electoral Oversight Executive Accountability Legislative Accountability Judicial Accountability State Budget Processes State Civil Service Management Procurement Internal Auditing Lobbying Disclosure Ethics Enforcement Agencies State Pension Fund Management

GRADE:F (54)RANK:

GRADE:C (75)RANK:

GRADE:F (58)RANK:

GRADE:F (57) RANK:

GRADE:D-(62)RANK:

GRADE:F (49)RANK:

GRADE:F (59)RANK:

GRADE:D-(60)RANK:

GRADE:F (49)RANK:

GRADE:F (54)RANK:

GRADE:F (59)RANK:

GRADE:F (54)RANK:

GRADE:C-(73)RANK:

13

6

37

th

th

th

32 nd

29

43

46

25

49

50

29

33

15

th

rd

th

th

th

th

th

rd

th

Kansas holds four of the lowest ten rankings, including 49 th and 50 th for Procurement and Internal Auditing. As the saying goes, crap flows downhill, so it should come as no surprise that Emporia State University gets an ―F‖ for transparency and truth.

“This is Kansas”

“This is Kansas” MugBase, the digital imaging system I designed for law enforcement in the early

MugBase, the digital imaging system I designed for law enforcement in the early 1990‘s

system I designed for law enforcement in the early 1990‘s No one has ever accused me

No one has ever accused me of being intellectually lame; quite the contrary. My verbal score on the GRE in 2008, which I took at age fifty-five with less than two weeks to study was 94%. I have never needed affirmative action. I am affirmative action. I hold a Bachelor‘s in Theology from Pacific Union College, a Masters in Religion from Andrews University, a Masters in Library and Information Science from UCLA, and a Ph.D. from UCLA in Information Studies. I‘m no saint, but I do possess a strong predisposition for social justice and equality. Why do I need to tell you all of this? As a result of these vicious lies there were angry

135

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

perform right from the start. I like people, and I like to be liked, so I did not feel comfortable being caught in the middle of a raging battle. However, I could not ignore the fact that many of the faculty and staff that the dean had disposed of were persons of color. It became clear that Gwen did not want to award tenure to anyone of color, although she rushed and gave Andrew Smith tenure after only two years at SLIM. Smith had zero publications and no library degree! At the end of my first semester in SLIM the dean also terminated Capps and Hinson. Angelica would end up in Hinson‘s old office. So, within the space of six months I personally watched as Dean Alexander terminated four faculty members; two persons of color and the two white faculty members who empathized with them. I was beginning to have my doubts about SLIM being a great place to work, and Dean Alexander being a great boss.

great place to work, and Dean Alexander being a great boss. Photo taken at the Ph.D.

Photo taken at the Ph.D. Student Retreat in Overland Park, Fall 2014

After the termination of Singh, Tuai, Capps and Hinson, only three faculty remained from those who had been on staff when I

138

CHAPTER SEVEN

KBI Theory and Racism

R acism is a visually mediated practice. KBI is a theory of visual perception and a qualitative method. KBI stands for know,

believe, imagine. I am going to use KBI to look at notions of race and racism. This chapter is adapted from a presentation I gave at the National Conference of African American Librarians in St. Louis, Missouri on August 5 th , 2015 entitled ―Demystifying Visuality: Reframing the Discussion on Social Justice.‖

Visuality: Reframing the Discussion on Social Justice .‖ Couple in Raccoon Coats - Reimagined is a

Couple in Raccoon Coats - Reimagined is a color composition I created from a famous James VanDerZee black & white photo using the KBI method in art practice.

As with many scientific discoveries, KBI was discovered by accident. KBI emerged when I set about adding color to black-and- white photographs in May 2006. In order to accomplish this task, I followed a strict method. I did research to determine known colors when possible; I am constrained to use colors that are plausible and appropriate for the period; and many of my color choices are pure artistic license, resulting in a blend of all three

KBI Theory and Racism

mental states. It is art after all. I want the finished reimagined composition to be as realistic and aesthetic as possible. This tri- part method has never failed me. No pixels are ever left behind.

method has never failed me. No pixels are ever left behind. KBI in art practice brought

KBI in art practice brought awards and devoted patrons. Shown above is the color composition Chi Chi and Cubana which won a Crystal Award of Excellence at the 2007 California State Fair. It was composed from a 1943 black-and-white real postcard of Palm Springs. Three other pieces of mine won Awards of Merit at the California State Fair.

The KBI method in art practice has been consistently applied to hundreds of images with wonderful results. This work demands factual information, well-informed beliefs, and a large measure of imagination. It reverse engineers how visual cognition works. By slowing down the process, I was able to understand how the mind makes sense of visual stimuli. In daily use, as the foundation of seeing, KBI is a powerful mental strategy that makes economical use of limited cognitive resources.

147

KBI Theory and Racism

are constant reminders that we need a science-based assessment of the situation, and that platitudes, and gestures, and even laws, are woefully inadequate and insufficient to dismantle the effects of centuries of racism. KBI offers insight into the science of seeing.

of racism. KBI offers insight into the science of seeing. The blackface mask capitalized on longings

The blackface mask capitalized on longings for "authentic" African American culture while satisfying feelings of white supremacyall toward the profit of the white performers

The issue with blackface arose as recently as November 2016 at ESU when Kayla Gilmore, now president of the BSU, and Sarah Spoon, still with the Bulletin, confronted a white visitor in blackface on the campus on Halloween and was offended. It is interesting that both Gilmore and Spoon, original defendants in my lawsuit, are speaking out against discrimination, but The Bulletin wrote a story on it where Gilmore says, ―Blackface is something that used to be in minstrel shows when white people would emulate their perception of how black slaves were…It was

159

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

how they perceived black people would entertain their masters and the company that they brought around them.‖ She continued by saying that I got frustrated because there is obviously a long history to blackface.‖ I find it interesting that when something happens to Kayla and Sarah they are now quick to speak out against their own experiences with racism, but allowed themselves to be muzzled when we were referred to as Niggaz and spoke out against racism; and the prime suspect in our case is a longtime ESU staff member. The conduct of the administration at Emporia State University is a clear indication and is a remnant thread passed down of the sick twisted plantation mentality that dehumanized and degraded African 300 years ago is still alive in public institutions in the 21 st century. Public institutions are a smaller reflection of society. For example, images of me posted in the ESU Bulletin never portrayed me as a professional to paint a picture of me to their student population, Hornet Nation. They did their very best to portray me as unsophisticated; as a nigger. And they never addressed me by my academic title: Dr. Melvin Hale, it was always just Melvin Hale. They stopped using the term professor. The following is a typical image of me printed in the Bulletin.

Melvin Hale. They stopped using the term professor. The following is a typical image of me

160

CHAPTER EIGHT

Love Not Hate

O ne of the more challenging facets of pursuing justice at an institution that practices overt racism is doing so without

succumbing to rage and mimicking their violation of crucial social values. The positive value we wanted to express in the March on Emporia is that the culture of love is the cure for the culture of hate. A clear indication that ESU did not value a culture of love is embedded in the rant that Dean Alexander gave in the faculty meeting on August 26 th , 2015. Here‘s a transcript of what was said. This transcript also illustrates a blatant violation of free speech:

Mirah Dow: ―And so, in the tradition of getting organized for a meeting, I invited you all to share items from the agenda, and so I hope I haven‘t left out anything, and I want to remind you that you can send those to me at any time. I keep a list of those as they evolve over the course of two weeks, and that‘s what we finally have. And you can even share items at the last minute as you think of them. The procedure shouldn‘t keep us from having what we need on that agenda.‖

Melvin Hale: ―And Mirah, did you get mine already [that] I sent? Okay, I was going to say a few words on the march.‖

Andrew Smith: ―I‘m opposing that. Not appropriate.‖

Django Unchained and the March on Emporia State

and doing damage to liars long after the writer is dead. The truths that were told in the marches, and in the lawsuit, will be enshrined forever in the words of this book. The message will always be:

in the words of this book. The message will always be: I love myself way too

I love myself way too much to morph into a hater as recourse for settling a heinous affront to my Constitutional and God-given right to the pursuit of happiness. I‘m not going to hate racist unsympathetic white people; but if and when they cross that line and think that they can treat me like a nigger (as they define that term), I am within my rights as a full citizen of this republic to deal with their aggressions, and I will so with all my might. I do not consider successgained by bigotry as something to emulate or to envy. I believe that ultimately everyone will reap what they sow! I am well within my right to push back against white rage and white aggression.

The trigger for white rage, inevitably, is black advancement. It is not the mere presence of black people that is the problem; rather, it is blackness with ambition, with drive, with purpose, with aspirations, and with demands for full and equal citizenship. It is blackness that refuses to accept subjugation, to give up. A formidable array of policy assaults and legal contortions has consistently punished black resilience, black resolve.

166

Appendix B

Appendix B
Appendix B