You are on page 1of 4


Maharashtra (/mhrtr/; Marathi: pronunciation: locally: [mharar] ( listen), abbr. MH) is a state in the western region
of India and is India's third-largest state by area and is also the world's second-most populous sub-national entity. It has over 112 million
inhabitants and its capital, Mumbai, has a population of approximately 18 million. Nagpur is Maharashtra's second capital as well as winter
capital.[5] Maharashtra's business opportunities along with its potential to offer a higher standard of living attract migrants from all over India.
Ancient and medieval Maharashtra included the empires of the Satavahana dynasty, Rashtrakuta dynasty, Western
Chalukyas,Mughals and Marathas. Spread over 118,809 sq mi (307,710 km2), it is bordered by the Arabian Sea to the west and the Indian
states of Karnataka, Telangana, Goa, Gujarat, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and the Union territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli. The major
rivers of the state are Godavari, and Krishna. The Narmada and Tapi flow near the border between Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh and
Gujarat.. Maharashtra is the second most urbanised state in India.[6] The state has several popular Hindu places of pilgrimage
including Pandharpur, Dehu and Alandi. Other places that attract pilgrims from other parts of India and beyond include Hazur
Sahib Gurudwara at Nanded, and Sai Baba shrine at Shirdi.

Maharashtra is one of the wealthiest and the most developed states in India, contributing 25% of the country's
industrial output and 23.2% of its GDP (201011).[7] As of 2011, the state had a per capita income of 1.0035
lakh (US$1,500), more than the national average of 0.73 lakh (US$1,100). Its GDP per capita crossed
the 1.20 lakh (US$1,800) threshold for the first time in 2013, making it one of the richest states in India.
However, as of 2014, the GDP per capita reduced to 1.03 lakh (US$1,500)[8]Agriculture and industries are the
largest parts of the state's economy. Major industries include chemical products, electrical and non-electrical
machinery, textiles, petroleum and allied products.

Karnataka (Kannada: , IPA:/krntk, kr-/)[7] is a state in south western region of India. It was formed on 1 November 1956, with
the passage of the States Reorganisation Act. Originally known as the State of Mysore, it was renamed Karnataka in 1973.[8] The capital and
largest city is Bangalore (Bengaluru). Karnataka is bordered by the Arabian Sea and the Laccadive Seato the west, Goa to the
northwest, Maharashtra to the north, Telangana to the northeast, Andhra Pradesh to the east, Tamil Naduto the southeast, and Kerala to the
southwest. The state covers an area of 191,976 square kilometres (74,122 sq mi), or 5.83 percent of the total geographical area of India. It is
the seventh largest Indian state by area. With 61,130,704 inhabitants at the 2011 census, Karnataka is the eighth largest state by population,
comprising 30 districts. Kannada, one of the classical languagesof India, is the most widely spoken and official language of the state.
The two main river systems of the state are the Krishna and its tributaries, the Bhima, Ghataprabha, Vedavathi, Malaprabha,
andTungabhadra, in the north, and the Kaveri and its tributaries, the Hemavati, Shimsha, Arkavati, Lakshmana Thirtha and Kabini, in the
south. Most of these rivers flow out of Karnataka eastward into the Bay of Bengal.
Though several etymologies have been suggested for the name Karnataka, the generally accepted one is that Karnataka is derived from the
Kannada words karu and ndu, meaning "elevated land". Karu nadu may also be read as karu, meaning "black", and nadu, meaning
"region", as a reference to the black cotton soil found in the Bayalu Seeme region of the state. The Britishused the word Carnatic,
sometimes Karnatak, to describe both sides of peninsular India, south of the Krishna.[9]

Arunachal Pradesh
runachal Pradesh /rntl prd/ ( ) is one of the twenty-nine states of the Republic of India. Located innortheast India, it
holds the most north-eastern position among the states in the north-east region of India. Arunachal Pradesh borders the states
of Assam and Nagaland to the south, and shares international borders with Bhutan in the west, Burma in the east and China in the
north. Itanagar is the capital of the state. Arunachal Pradesh has territorial disputes with both the PRC and ROC due to its cultural, ethnic
and geographic proximity to Tibet.
Most of the state, formerly called the North-East Frontier Agency, was ceded to Britain by the Tibetan government with the Simla Accord
(1914). China does not recognise the legality of that treaty, and claims most of the state as South Tibet. The state is seen to have major
potential for hydropower development.[9]
Arunachal Pradesh ( ), whose name means Land of the Dawn-Lit Mountains[10] in Sanskrit, is also known as theOrchid State of
India or the Paradise of the Botanists. Geographically, it is the largest among the North-east Indian states commonly known as the Seven
Sister States. As in other parts of Northeast India, the people native to the state trace their origins to the Tibeto-Burman people. In recent

times, large number of migrants from various parts of India and other lands have built extensive economic and cultural ties with the state's
No reliable population count of the migrant population exists, and the percentage estimating the total actual population accordingly, vary.
Arunachal Pradesh has the highest number of regional languages in the Indian subcontinent,[11] enriched with diverse culture and traditions.