You are on page 1of 1


Eucalyptus urophylla X E. grandis
Ricardo Gallo (PhD student in Forest Science - DEF / UFV;;
Brener de Almeida Oliveira (Forestry student - DEF / UFV);
Luciana Coelho de Moura (PhD student in Forest Science - DEF / UFV);
Kellen Cristina Gatti (PhD student in Forest Science - DEF / UFV);
Aloisio Xavier (Professor - DEF / UFV);
Wagner Campos Otoni (Professor - DBV / UFV).

Despite the methodology diffusion of plants in vitro culture, there is need of
basic studies in vitro multiplication of Eucalyptus, since the knowledge, the
adequacy of protocols for each specie, and the needed time in which happen
each subculture are methodologies that still need optimizations. Subcultures
performed periodically bring some inconvenience like the increases in
manpower demand, increases in gelling agent costs, and a bigger risk of
material contamination. In this sense, the addition of liquid media aliquots
during the subculture period can solve these mentioned problems without affect
the development and multiplication in vitro of the material. Therefore, this work's
goal was to evaluate the nutrient media addition in in vitro multiplication of
Eucalyptus urophylla x E. grandis. Were inoculated four tufts containing six to
eight buds in glass flasks, containing 40 mL of JADS medium, additioned 30 g
L-1 of sucrose, 100 mg L-1 of mio-inositol, 800 mg L-1 of PVP-30, 7 g L-1 of agar,
0.5 mg L-1 of BAP and 0.01 mg L-1 of ANA. Every 10 to 20 days were added
distinct volumes of liquid media JADS, being (0; 3; 6; 9 e 12 mL) in each flask.
After 60 days were evaluated fresh mass (g), dry mass (g) and the buds'
increment. For all of evaluated characteristic, the liquid media addition every 10
days presented higher value in statistic for the volumes (3; 6; 9 e 12 mL).
Regarding doses, they follow increasing linear trend in all characteristics, in
other words, higher doses, larger masses, and increase during the
aforementioned time.
Keywords: Tissue culture; in vitro propagation; vegetative propagation.
Financial support: Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e
Tecnológico (CNPq); e Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de Minas
Gerais (FAPEMIG).