You are on page 1of 35

Social, Political, Economic &

Cultural Barometer
May 2010 Report

Date: 15th June 2010

2010. Synovate Ltd. All rights reserved.

The concepts and ideas submitted to you herein are the intellectual property of
Synovate Ltd. They are strictly of confidential nature and are submitted to you under
the understanding that they are to be considered by you in the strictest of confidence
and that no use shall be made of the said concepts and ideas, including
Steadman now Synovate communication to any third party without Synovates express prior consent and/or
payment of related professional services fees in full.
Methodology
Poll Methodology

Dates of polling May 9th May 19th

Sample Size 2,000 respondents

Sampling methodology Random, Multi-


Multi-stage stratified using PPS

Universe Tanzania adults, aged 18+ living in Urban


and Rural areas

Data collection Structured Face-


Face-to
to--Face interviews at the
methodology household level

Sampling error +/-


+/-2.2 with a 95% confidence level

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 2


Poll Methodology (Cont..)
The target population for this survey was all Tanzania adults aged 18 and above (voting age).
A sample size of 2,000 respondents was drawn to achieve a 40:60 urban to rural ratio. The
maximum margin of error attributed to sampling and other random effects of this polls sample
size is +/- 2.2 % margin at 95% confidence level. At the same time this sample size is large
enough to administer strict quality control measures in order to manage any occurrence of
non-random errors. The fieldwork for this survey was conducted between 21st and 26th March
2010

To achieve this sample a randomized multi-stage stratified design using probability
proportional to size (PPS) was used. This ensures that regions with a higher population size
had a proportionately higher sample size allocation. This survey was conducted in 27 regions
in Tanzania

The interviews were done at household level. Household interviews were preferred because
they allow for pure random sampling ensuring full representation of the various demographics
and also for quality control.

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 3


Poll Methodology (Cont..)
These face-to-face in-home interviews are also preferred because they allowed for further probing as
respondents have more time to respond to questions as compared to street interviews.

The households were selected using the systematic random sampling procedure. In this case a random
starting point was selected within a cluster of households. From that point the interviewers mainly skipped 4
households until the sample size for that cluster in the district was achieved. One eligible respondent was
then selected from each qualifying household through a household member randomization technique known
as the Kish Grid. This was done to ensure that there was no bias related to household member selection. In
cases where the eligible respondent was not available for interviewing, the field interviewers made at least 3
callbacks. If after the third callback the required respondent was still not available for the interview, the field
interviewer substituted that household for another.

The data collection involved the use of a semi-structured questionnaire having both open and closed ended
questions. The poll questions were structured in a very open manner, with all possible options provided,
including no opinion. This ensures that there is no bias at all with the way the questions are asked.

Strict quality control measures for data collection were applied. The fieldwork Supervisors made a minimum
of 15% on-site back checks and accompanied a minimum of 10% of all interviewers calls, while the field
managers made 2% back-checks. These back-checks were made within the same day of interviewing

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 4


Satisfaction with Govt
The Most serious problem facing Tanzania- by Total

Corruption/bribery 51%
HIV/AIDS 43%
Poverty 37%
Price of food 34%
Roads 33%
Jobs 33%
Famine 33%
Education 30%
Health 26%
Electricity 26%
Water 25%
Cost of living 24%
Farming 23%
Drug trafficking/ drug use 17%
Drought 17%
Climate change 16%
Human rights 14%
Foreign exploitation of resources 13%
Price of fuel 13%
Fuel Scarcity 11%
Political instability 11%
Crime/insecurity 11%
Government 10%
Shelter 10%
Tribalism / national identity 7%
Malaria 1% Base: n=2000 (All respondents)
Lack of farm inputs 1%

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60%

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 6


The biggest Economic problem facing
Tanzanians By Total

1 2 3 4 5 8Total
High food & other commodity prices (Inflation) 33% 31% 20% 11% 5% 0% 100%
Poverty 41% 30% 17% 8% 3% 0% 100%
High cost of transport 7% 20% 38% 29% 6% 0% 100%
Unemployment 23% 23% 21% 27% 5% 0% 100%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 7


How Tanzanians have coped with high
commodity price By total
Cutting budget on other household
45%
items

Skipping meals 23%

No response to high commodity prices 23%

Borrowing money from the Bank 5%

DKN/RTA 5%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)


0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50%

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 8


How Often Have you gone without the
following?
Need Total
Food Frequently 12%
Occasionaly 32%
Rarely 20%
Never 35%
DK/RTA 0%

Cooking Fuel Frequently 15%


Occasionaly 31%
Rarely 27%
Never 26%
DK/RTA 2%

Clean drinking water Frequently 20%


Occasionaly 27%
Rarely 24%
Never 29%
DK/RTA 1%

Medical care Frequently 19%


Occasionaly 35%
Rarely 24%
Never 20%
DK/RTA 1% Base: n=2000 (All respondents)
Cash for daily needs Frequently 39%
Occasionaly 31%
Rarely 19%
Never 10%
DK/RTA 1%

Electricity Frequently 34%


Occasionaly 19%
Rarely 15%
Never 14%
DK/RTA 18%

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 9


Do you support Bishop Kakobe in His fight
to Stop power cable?
Recently the leader of the Full Gospel Bible fellowship Church in Tanzania Bishop Kakobe led
his followers in 72 days stand off with the government to oppose the laying of electric cables
over their church.

50%
50%

40%

30% 27%

20%
15%

10%
6%
2%

0%
Yes No Neither RTA Don't know

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 10


Has the Media Prompted the Growth of
language By Total

Total
Radio Promotion 77%
Dettered 8%
NR/Nome 15%

Television Promotion 51%


Dettered 12%
NR/Nome 37%

Newspapers Promotion 40%


Dettered 11%
NR/Nome 48%

Internet Promotion 20%


Dettered 14%
NR/Nome 66%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 11


Employment
How many Tanzania are currently Employed

No
93%

Yes
7%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 13


How many Tanzanians supported the
national Strike called by TUCTA on 5th May
2010

No
59%

Yes
41%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 14


Whom do Tanzania blame for the plight of
workers
40% 39%

30%

26%

20%

12%

10%

6% 6%
5%
4%
2%

0%
Leader of the The government President The government Workers Governement Employer at DK
Trade Union itself by ignoring should be blamed themselves leaders companies
(TUCTA) the workers for not raising
workers sara

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 15


POLITICS
Do you Approve or disapprove of the
Governance general Performance
Approve
54%

DKN/RTA
22% Disapprove
How much do you trust the following Institution? 24%

Trust No trust DK/RTA Total


Parliament 72% 26% 1% 100%
The President 82% 17% 0% 100%
The Prime Minister 83% 15% 2% 100%
The Cabinet 65% 32% 3% 100%
Tanzania Police Force 39% 59% 1% 100%
National Examination Council 47% 49% 3% 100%
The Judiciary 45% 53% 2% 100%
Financial institutions 51% 46% 3% 100%
Public health system 51% 48% 1% 100%
PCCB/TAKUKURU 32% 64% 4% 100%
Opposition Parties 51% 46% 3% 100%
National Electoral Commission 52% 45% 3% 100%
Zanzibar Electoral Commission 46% 43% 12% 100%
SUMATRA 44% 44% 12% 100%
TUCTA 51% 40% 9% 100%
Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 17


How would you rate the performance of the
following leaders/Institutions
Good Poor DK/RTA
President Jakaya Kikwete 78% 8% 14%
The Prime Minister Mizengo Pinda 82% 6% 12%
The Vice President of the United Republic of Tanzania 76% 5% 19%
Cabinet Ministers 57% 13% 30%
Members of Parliament 60% 13% 28%
Civil Servants 44% 17% 39%
The Police force 28% 40% 32%
Health Facilities 40% 26% 36%
NGOs 58% 10% 32%
Media 77% 4% 19%
Musicians 71% 7% 22%
TANESCO 30% 35% 35%
TUCTA 43% 20% 36%
SUMATRA 36% 21% 43%
PCCB 27% 36% 37%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 18


Opinion Polls
In your opinion do you think that NEC/ZEC
has made the registration of voters?
50%

43%

40%

30%

21%
20% 18%

10%
10%
7%

1%
0%
Very easy Very difficult Complicated the Done nothing Delayed the NR
process process

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 20


Are you a registered voter?
Are you a registered voter?
Yes
88%

NR/RTA
1% No
11%

If the elections were to be called tomorrow? Would you Vote?

I will most
likely vote,
78%

I will not vote


DNK/RTA, 1% at all, 22%

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 21


Why are you not sure whether you will vote?

I am fed up with politics 60%

I have not updated my voter's card 23%

The nature of my work won't allow me to vote 6%

I am not prepared to vote 4%

The elected candidates have no help 2%

Mwanafunzi 1%

I don`t believe my leaders 1%

NR 1%

0% 20% 40% 60%

Base: n=430 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 22


Who will you most likely vote for as
president in October current election?
80%
73%
69%
Oct - Dec 09 Jan - Mar 2010

60%

40%

20%

10% 11%
9%
6% 5%
1% 1% 1% 2% 1% 1% 0% 1% 1% 1% 2% 2% 1%
0%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 23


If you were to select one of the youthful
leaders to be president today who would you
vote for?
40% 39%

30%

20%

13%
11%
10% 8%
6%
4%
3%
2% 2%
1% 1% 1% 1% 1% 1%
0%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 24


If you think of democracy in Tanzania
today, Would you say it is

60% 55%

50%

40%

30%
21%
20% 16%

10% 5%
2%
0%
Democracy Full Democracy Not a DNK/RTA
with minor democracy with major democracy
problems problems

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 25


Political Parties
Which political party do you feel closest to?
80%

70%
Oct - Dec 2009 Jan - Mar 2010
65%

60%

40%

20% 17%18%

9% 10%

3% 2%
1% 1% 1% 1% 1%
0%
CCM Chadema CUF TLP CCJ it is my secret UDP I am not NR
concerned
with party
issues

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)


Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 27
In your opinion, to what extent do you think
the launch of CCJ will affect the currently
operating political party in Tanzania?

Will not affect To a less Neither To large


at all extent affect extent DK
CCM 212 209 83 183 102
Chadema 144 196 131 44 274
CUF 147 172 119 58 293
TLP 124 148 114 70 333
DP 125 127 110 68 359
NCCR Mageuzi 12 - - - 777
SAU 12 - - - 777
UDP 12 - - - 777

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 28


Do you support the establishment of a
government of National Unity in Zanzibar?
Yes
63%

No
Recently HE Amani Karume and Mr Seif Sharif Hamad the secretary of Civic United Front
established Talks to improve on the relationship between to their parties. What is your 36%
opinion about the political ceasefire that is prevailing? NR
1%

50%
44%

40%
35%

30%
In your opinion do you support the call that there should be a referendum in
20% Zanzibar to determine whether Zanzibar should have government of National
14% unity

10% 6% Yes
54%

0%
It will last It is Don't know No comment
temporary

No
Don't know 33%
9% Neither
Base: n=2000 (All respondents) 4%

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 29


In your opinion do you support the idea of
independent candidates running for
elections?
No
25%

DK
Yes 27%
48%

Do you support the suggestion by MPs that Tanzania should withdraw from the customs
union on account of the failure of Tanzania in DOHA?

Refused to
Answer
15%
Yes
36%

No
49%

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 30


In your opinion which Member of Parliament has performed
very well in the current parliament?

Zitto Zuberi Kabwe 28%


Dr. Wilbroad Slaa 9%
Anna Kilango Malecela 8%
Mizengo Pinda 4%
John Pombe Magufuli 4%
Halima Mdee 2%
Samuel Sitta 2%
Dr.Harrison Mwakyembe 2%
Peter Msola 1%
Hamisi Kagasheki 1% What about Members of Parliament? Would you
Omar Sheya 1% say they are ...
Charles Mwera 1%
Respectful
Fuya Kimbita 1%
79%
Edward Lowassa 1%
Mohamed Seif Khatib 1%
Ndesamburo 1%
Rostam Aziz 1%
DNK/RTA
Jenista Mhagama 1% 2%
Lawrence Masha 1% Disrespectful
Mohammedi Sinani 1% 19%

Hawa Ghasia 1%
Dr Hussein Mwinyi 1%
Mohamed Dewiji 1%
10 % Refuse to answer the
Christopher Ole Sendeka 1%
Question
Hamadi Rashidi Mohamed 1%

0% 5% 10% 15% 20% 25% 30%

Base: n=2000 (All respondents)


Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 31
The government has taken to court several high profile
suspects to answer charges of corruption. To what extent do
you support this move?
80% 77% LSM LSM8 154 to 186

60%

40%

20% 17%

3% 4%
0%
Support Support Do not support DK/RTA
strongly somewhat at all The government has taken to court several high profile suspects to answer charges of
corruption. To what extent do you support this move?

79%
80%

60%

40%

20% 14%
4% 4%
0%
Base: n=2000 (All respondents) Support Support Do not DK/RTA
strongly somewhat support at all
Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 32
How happy are you about your life
generally? Would you say? Happy
49%

DK
25%
Unhappy
26%
What makes you happy/unhappy?
Life is very difficult, money are not available 18%
I have tested my health 12%
I am satsfied with what I get 12%
I not satsfied with my current life status 10%
To have my family 9%
To get all my daily needs like food 8%
As I live in a peace country and the power to do 5%
I trust God 3%
I am suffered with Diabates 3%
My business activities is doing well as I have 3%
Small income 3%
Poverty is making me to be unhappy 3%
Because I am unemployed 3%
still there are lot of problems in this world which 2%
I delivered a child 1%
My relaive has pased away 1%
My spouse have got a job 1%
I have success in my examinations 1%
I didn't complete my education 1%
To see my child doing well with the studies 1%
I don't want to be naging 1%
To sit with friends discusing about life, football 1%
NR 1%

0% 4% 8% 12% 16% 20%


Base: n=2000 (All respondents)
Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 33
Thank You For Your
Attention.
Our Curiosity Is All Yours.

Synovate 2010 Steadman now Synovate 34