You are on page 1of 3

In the Deccan region, the Kakatiya kingdom (AD 1083-1323) encompassed what is now known as Telangana.

After the Kakatiya kingdom was invaded by the Delhi Sultanate, the political autonomy of the region came to an
end. In the course of the next two centuries, it became a province of the Bahmani Sultanate between 1347 and
1518. When the hegemony of the Bahmani Sultanate ended, the Telangana region became part of the Golconda
Sultanate (1518-1687).
With the collapse of Golconda in the face of the invasion of Aurangzeb, the region became a Mughal province.
With the dissolution of the Mughal empire formed the Nizamate of Hyderabad. This continued from 1720 till
1950 and during this period the region saw various shifts in status first as a formal subsidiary to the Mughal
emperor but actually to the Maratha empire (the first Nizam paid the Chauth tax to the Maratha court at Poona),
later allied with the French and then with the English East India Company. Eventually, the Nizam acknowledged
the British sovereign as Empress of India and, thereby, his overlord.
With the India Independence Act of 1947, all the Indian princely states resumed their independence.
Accordingly, from August 15, 1947 till September 17, 1948, Hyderabad was an independent state. The
independence ended with Indian invasion and annexation. Later, the Nizam had been the Rajpramukh (an
administrative title) of the Hyderabad state.

The Nizam officiated as Rajpramukh through the first general election of 1952 and finally gave up his nominal
role in 1956 when Hyderabad state was dismembered and the Telangana region annexed to the Andhra state.
Thereafter, Telangana witnessed two major movements for a separate statehood. Finally, on October 3, 2013,
the Union Cabinet approved the formation of a Telangana state.
Source: A recently published book, The Fall and Rise of Telangana by Gautam Pingle, formerly Dean of
Research and Consultancy, Administrative Staff College of India.

Telangana Movement History 1956 to 2014

1956 Telangana, comprising predominantly Telugu-speaking areas of erstwhile Hyderabad state, merged
with the state of Andhra to form Andhra Pradesh (AP)
1969 Jai Telangana agitation launched for a separate Telangana state
1972 Jai Andhra movement launched for separate Andhra state
1997 Telangana issue resurfaces with BJP passing a resolution. A year later, the partys Lok Sabha poll
slogan is One Vote, Two States
2001 K Chandrasekhar Rao launches Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) for separate Telangana
Dec 9, 2009 Then Union Home Minister, P Chidambaram, announces the Centres decision to initiate the
process of a Telangana state
Dec 23, 2009 Following en masse resignation of Seemandhra MPs and MLAs, Centre puts the process on
Feb 3, 2010 Centre sets up five-member Srikrishna committee to look into the issue. Panel submits report
in December, suggesting options
July 30, 2013 Congress Working Committee passes resolution recommending formation of Telangana state
Oct 3, 2013 Union Cabinet approves proposal to bifurcate AP
Dec 5, 2013 Union Cabinet approves draft AP Reorganisation Bill, 2013. Bill referred to AP legislature for its
Jan 30, 2014 AP legislature, by voice vote, rejects the Bill
Feb 7, 2014 Union Cabinet clears Bill; Lok Sabha passes Bill on Feb 18
March 1, 2014 Bill receives assent of President
June 2, 2014 The 29th state of India is born

About Telangana State

1. Telangana is a newly formed 29th state of India on June 2nd 2014.
2. It has an area of 114,840 Square Km (44,340 sq. mi), and a population of 35,286,757 (according to 2011
census), it ranked as 12th largest state in southern region.
3. Mostly the area a part of the Hyderabad Medak and Warangal which was ruled by the nizams during British
raj before the year 1947.
4. IN 1956 Andhra state was merged with Telangana region when Hyderabad as the state to form

5. After the success in Telangana movement central government stated 29th state of south India as Telangana.
6. And India consisting of the ten north-western districts of Andhra Pradesh with Hyderabad as its Joint capital
for 10 years.
7. It mean Hyderabad will be served as joint capital for both the state for 10 years until 2024.
8. Telangana State is boarded by the Andhra Pradesh to the south and east, state of Maharashtra to the north
and north-west, state of Karnataka to the west and state of Chhattisgarh to the north-east.
9. Hyderabad, Warangal, Nizamabad, Karimnagar and Ramagundam are the major cities in Telangana.

Telangana History English BOOK

This book describing about Telangana culture, Art and craft; Telangana History, Telangana Geography; Telangana
This book is useful to the aspirants of all competitive exams. The book deals with the following:
1. History of Telangana
(a) Ancient Period
(b) Medieval Period
(c) Modern Period
2. History of Pre-independence Period
3. Formation of Andhra Pradesh (1956 Nov.1)
4. Telangana Movement (1969-2013 )
5. Availability of infrastructure in Hyderabad State before 1956
6. Culture, Festivals of Telangana, Arts and Crafts
7. Profile of Telangana Districts
8. Historical Places of Telangana
9. Temples of Telangana
10. Telangana Poets
11. Telangana Freedom Fighters
12. Telangana Martyrs
Click here to buy bestTelangana History English Book
Ads by Google

English Telugu
Andhra Pradesh Telangana
How to Edit PDF

Books of Telangana History