`

Food Ingredients and Their Halal Status

" O ye who believe! Eat of the good things that We have provided for you, and be grateful to
Allah, if it is Him ye worship"

Food Ingredients and Their Halal Status
Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
B. Sc (Agri.), M. Sc (Agri.), M. S. (Cereal Technology)
Former Senior Food Scientist II
Kraft Foods USA
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products
10685 Rushmore Lane Huntley, IL 60142 USA
Phone Number: 847-802-6917
E-Mail: Halalfoods@hotmail.com

This first edition was published by
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products
10685 Rushmore Lane
Huntley, IL 60142 USA

Copyright © 2013 by Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed

Printed in USA by K & M Printing Co. Schaumburg, IL 60173 USA

All rights reserved. No part of this book may be printed in any form or
by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter
invented, including photocopying, or by an information storage or
retrieval system, without permission in writing from the author.

ISBN: 978-1-4675-6040-5
ISSN: 2325-9930
First Edition: 2013

Du'a
The author prays to Allah Subhanahau wa Taala to Bless:

* Our beloved Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu alaihi
wassallum, his companions and his Ahle baie'at

* Sayyidina Shaik Hazrat Abdul Quadir Jeelani R. A.
* Hazrat Khwaja Moinuddin Hasan Sanjary Chishti R. A. of Ajmer Shareef, India
* My Murshed Late Hazrat Habeeb Jaffar Bin Habeeb Ahmed Bin Habeeb
Aidroos Al- Aidroosi R.A.
of Hyderabad, India

Dedicated to:
My parents Syeda Kareemunnisa Begum Quadri and Syed Mohiuddin Ahmed,
My stepmother Waheedunnisa Begum and my father- in- law Dr. Syed Hameed
Shuttari Professor of Arabic and Urdu Osmania University Hyderabad, India.
May Allah bless them in Janna.

Preface

All praise due to Allah Subhanahau wa Taala and Allah's Blessing to Our beloved
Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu alaihi wassallum, his companions and
his Ahle baie'at.
Alhumdulillah this is the first edition of the book "Food Ingredients and Their
Halal Status" and I will ask Allah Subhanahau wa Taala to accept my efforts in
writing this book so that Muslims all over the world can be benefited.
This book is good in the US and Canada, England, European Union countries,
Australia, African countries, Arab and Muslim countries and also in India.
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products is appreciates the Sharia guidance
about Halal food ingredients and products from Mufti Khaleel Ahmed of Jamia
Nizamia Hyderabad, India, Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman of Dallas, TX and
Mufti Muhsin Mekki of Chicago Sunni Muslim Society.
May Allah forgive any mistakes I unintentionally made in writing this food
ingredients book. May Allah also help all Muslims to lead our lives according to
the Quran and Sunnah of Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu alaihi
wassallum.
Amen.

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
Huntley, IL
January 2013

Table of Contents
1. Introduction...................................................................................... 1
2. Criteria used to identify Halal food ingredients............................. 3
3. Description of food ingredients...................................................... 5
4. List of Halal food ingredients.......................................................... 11
5. List of Haram food ingredients....................................................... 51
6. List of Not Halal food ingredients
(Not Halal status foodingredients is based on fatwa from Islamic Scholars
and scientific facts)............................................................................ 53
7. List of Mushbooh food ingredients.............................................. 56
8. List of E-Numbers.........................................................................

81

9. References....................................................................................

106

10. About the Author........................................................................

107

Introduction

Allah says in the Qur'an, Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the
flesh of the swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name other than
Allah, that which hath been killed by strangling or by a violent blow or by
headlong fall or by being gored to death, that which hath been (partly) eaten by
wild animals, unless you are able to slaughter it (in due form) that which is
sacrificed on a stone (altar); forbidden also is the division of meat by raffling with
arrows that impiety (Chapter V:3).
According to a Hadith, Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu alaihi wassallum
said Allah will not accept the prayers and duas of a Muslim for forty days if a
small bit of Haram food was consumed.
Al- Halal (the lawful): That which is permitted, with respect to which no restriction
exists, and the doing of which the Law-Giver, Allah has allowed.
Al-Haram (the prohibited or unlawful): That which the law- Giver has absolutely
prohibited; anyone who engages in it is liable to incur the punishment of Allah in
the Hereafter as well as legal punishment in this world.
Mushbooh: Mushbooh means suspected, If there is no clear knowledge whether
a food ingredient or food product Halal or Haram then it will be considered
Mushbooh.
Muslims all over the world are required to follow Islamic dietary laws and
practices. Many food ingredients are made from Halal sources or from Haram
sources. Some ingredients have dual status because they can be made from
Halal and Haram sources and also Haram sources. They could also fall under the
Mushbooh category.
The food ingredients are listed under Halal, Haram, Not Halal, or Mushbooh
category. Not Halal ingredients listed in this book are based on the use of alcohol
during processing, or they can be considered as not Halal because of various
fatwas.

1

2

Criteria used to identify Halal food ingredients

The Halal status to a food ingredient is assigned if the food ingredient is made
from:

A. Grain or plant sources
B. Inorganic Chemical Sources
C. Non fat based organic chemical Sources
D. Mineral sources
E. Synthetically made from Halal sources
F. Egg and Fish Sources
G. Natural sources such as Milk from cow, goat, buffalo
H. Insect secretion such as Shellac or Honey by honey bees

How a Mushbooh ingredient can become Halal:
A fat or dairy based Mushbooh ingredient can become Halal if:

1. If a Halal or Kosher symbol (if the Kosher certification meets the Halal
requirements) appears on food package.

2. If there is a claim "Suitable for Vegetarian" on the food package.
3. If a vegetarian symbol appears on the food package.
4. If a Green Dot under the square appears on food package.
3

4

Description of food ingredients
Brewer Yeast:
Brewer yeast is used in beer making. After beer making it is separated from beer,
washed, dried and used in food products. MCG does not consider it Halal
because alcohol or beer during beer making penetrate inside the brewer yeast
cells and will not convert into a new thing.
Confectionery Glaze:
Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze is made from Shellac (Shellac is a insect
secretion) which is dissolved in alcohol, and then alcohol is evaporated and
glazed on the surface of food products. It is also part of sprinkles on top of
bakery products and ice cream. MCG does not consider it as a Halal ingredient
because of alcohol.
What are Nucleotides?
Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells
grown on alcohol, used in Infant baby formulas to help babies build a good
immune, digestive system and decrease incidents of diarrhea. MCG does not
consider it as Halal ingredient.
What is Cochineal or Carmine?
Carmine or Cochineal is a natural red color made from red female beetles in
South America. All insects except locust are Haram under Hanafi fiqah.
Is Kosher Gelatin Halal?
No, Kosher gelatin is not Halal because it is made either from pork or non zabiha
beef and therefore kosher gelatin from pork is Haram. A liberal kosher symbol K
appears on yogurts containing kosher gelatin because some Rabbis consider
kosher gelatin from pork as kosher.
Is Gelatin Halal?
Gelatin is Halal only if it is made from fish bones and skin or if gelatin is made
from a zabiha slaughtered cow.

5

Vanilla Bean Specks:
Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained
after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover
after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla bean specks. This is
called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in the food industry. Vanilla beans specks
without alcohol extraction are very expensive, so many ice cream manufacturers
use exhausted types of vanilla bean specks. Our ulema consider exhausted
vanilla bean specks as not Halal because it is obtained after alcohol extraction.
Alcohol is used on vanilla beans to get vanilla flavor and it contaminates the Halal
vanilla bean seeds.
What is Torula Yeast, and is it Halal?
Torula Yeast has the capacity to utilize pentose sugars. It is not used in making
bread, beer or wine. It is grown on refined sugar feed stocks such as cane sugar,
corn syrup, glucose, or alcohol. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to
manufacture Nucleotides for infant formula and this is the reason Nucleotide is
not a Halal ingredient. In other countries if it is grown on cane sugar, corn syrup,
or glucose then it will considered Halal. Torula yeast grown on alcohol is also
used in other food products then it is not considered Halal by MCG according to
its criteria.
What are the ingredients of Haram Soy Sauce?
The Naturally Brewed Soy is the Haram soy sauce. It is made just like wine
containing 2-3% alcohol. The ingredients list contains Wheat, Soy and other
ingredients. Food companies do not mention Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce under
the ingredients statement. They just mention soy sauce but within parenthesis
they write Wheat and Soy. This is the only way to find a Haram Soy Sauce.
What are the ingredients of Halal Soy Sauce?
All purpose soy sauce or non naturally brewed soy sauce is a Halal soy sauce
made from water, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup and sodium benzoate.
La Choy All Purpose Soy sauce is a Halal Soy Sauce.
Which Vinegar is considered Halal?
Distilled white vinegar, apple cider vinegar, malt vinegar, corn (Maize) sugar
vinegar are considered Halal. Wine Vinegar and Balsamic vinegar are not
considered Halal because of leftover wine in wine vinegar and high content sugar
containing grape in Italy, which in turn provides more alcohol available to convert
it to vinegar, causing some alcohol to remain.
6

Halal status of Yeast Extract or autolyzed Yeast:
If the yeast extract or autolyzed yeast is made from baker's yeast then it is a Halal
ingredient. However if it is made from brewer's yeast, a by-product of beer
making then it is not considered as Halal according to the MCG criteria because
beer can penetrate in the yeast cells and never convert other things. Autolyzed
Yeast Extract or Yeast Extract from beer is use mostly in cheese and crackers to
provide bitterness. Autolyzed Yeast Extract from baker yeast is used in food
products such as soups and other products to give a meaty taste without adding
meat.
Is Vanilla Extract a Halal ingredient?
No, Vanilla Extract is used as a flavor and it is made from vanilla bean extract. It
contains a minimum of 35% ethyl alcohol otherwise it will not be called vanilla
extract according to the FDA regulations.
Is Vanilla or Vanilla Flavor Halal?
No, vanilla or vanilla flavor is obtained from vanilla beans by use of ethyl alcohol.
Alcohol remained in vanilla and vanilla flavor.
Vanillin or artificial vanilla flavor:
Vanillin or artificial vanilla flavor is Halal because no alcohol is used during its
processing and it is not made from vanilla beans.
Halal Status of Chocolate Liquor:
Chocolate Liquor is manufactured from grinding the cocoa nibs from cocoa bean.
It is a Halal ingredient and does not contain any liquor or alcohol.
Are all natural or artificial flavors Halal?
No, in order for a natural or artificial flavor to be Halal, it has to be made from
Halal flavoring material and a Halal solvent such as vegetable oil or propylene
glycol. If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent then MCG will not consider it as Halal
according to the MCG ulema. If a Kosher symbol (which meets the Islamic dietary
requirements) appears on a food package containing natural or artificial flavor,
this indicates that it is manufactured from Halal flavoring material but ethyl
alcohol may or may not be used as a solvent. It requires further investigation
from food manufacturer to confirm that no alcohol is used as a solvent. Only food
manufacturers know whether alcohol is used as a solvent or not in natural or
artificial flavors.
7

Are all apple juice brands Halal?
No, only those apple juice brands which bear a Kosher symbol on the containers
are considered Halal because it indicates no pork gelatin. There are some apple
juice manufacturers who still used pork or beef gelatin in apple juice processing.
Halal status of L-Cysteine:
L-Cysteine is an essential amino acid and it is used as a dough conditioner in
bagels, pizza, bread, and hard rolls. If L-Cysteine is manufactured from human
hair then it will be Haram. If it is obtained from non zabiha or dead chicken/duck
feathers then it will not be Halal according to MCG's criteria. Halal L-Cysteine is
made from synthetic sources and Halal fermented processes. MCG consider it
Halal if it is made from either synthetic or fermentation sources.
FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 colors:
FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 are chemical dyes and they are Halal if
used in pure granular or powder form but if the FD&C colors are required to make
it in liquid form then a solvent is needed to make FD&C colors in liquid form.
Liquid FD&C colors are used in liquid foods such as soft drinks. Vegetable oil or
glycerin is used to make liquid artificial colors. Liquid FD&C colors are Halal only
if vegetable oil or soy fat based glycerin is used. If glycerin is obtained from pork
fat then liquid FD&+C colors will be Haram. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet
the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing these
colors indicates that no pork or beef fat glycerin was used as a solvent.
Is Whey a Halal ingredient?
Muslims think that if whey is a milk based ingredient then it has to be Halal, but
this is not true. There are two kinds of whey, one is sweet or rennet whey and the
other is acid whey. Acid whey is obtained during the making of acid type cheese
such as cottage cheese. Sweet or rennet whey is used more in food products
then acid whey. Sweet whey or rennet whey is a by-product of rennet cheese
such as cheddar cheese or Mozzarella cheese. Whey is a portion of milk
remaining after coagulation and removal of curd. Whey is Halal only if the Halal
starter culture bacteria, Halal medium on which starter culture bacteria are grown
(Starter culture bacteria are Halal if they are obtained from milk source not meat
source, and media on which these starter culture bacteria are grown. These
requirements can only obtained if the cheese and whey are Halal or Kosher
certified (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements). A Halal or Kosher symbol
(which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package
containing whey indicating that it is manufactured under Halal or Kosher
supervision. MCG considers Lactose Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified.
8

What is Mono and Diglycerides?
Mono and Diglycerides are fat based emulsifier and are made by reacting glycerol
(fat based) with fats and oils. Mono and diglycerides can be made from beef,
pork, or soybean fat. Only soybean or zabiha slaughtered cow fat based Mono
and Diglyceries are Halal. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic
dietary requirements) on a food package containing Mono and Diglycerides
indicates that it is obtained from soybean fat.
What is Lactose?
Lactose is a milk sugar. It is a disaccharide carbohydrate that is a part of milk. It
functions as a flow agent, humectants, crystallization control agent and
sweetener.
It is commercially obtained from rennet whey and its Halal requirements are the
same as rennet whey. Lactose is also used in medicine.
MCG considers Lactose Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified.

9

10

List of Halal Food Ingredients
A
1. Acacia: A gum obtained from breaks or wounds in the bark of Acacia tree.
2. Acesulfame -K: Acesulfame - K is a calorie-free sugar substitute (artificial
sweetener).
3. Acetic Acid: It is an acid made by converting alcohol to acetaldehyde then to acetic
acid.
4. Acetone: A chemical.
5. Acid Sodium Pyrophosphate or Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate: It is an acid
chemical used in chemical leavening.
6. Acidulants: Acids used in processed foods.
7. Adipic Acid: It is a acidulant and flavoring agent.
8. Agar: A gum obtained from red seaweeds.
9. Agar - Agar: A gum obtained from seaweeds.
10. Albumin: It is found egg white, a water soluble protein.
11. Aldehyde: A Chemical.
12. Algin: A gum obtained from brown seaweeds.
13. Alginate: A gum derived from alginic acid used in thickening & gelling.
14. Alginic Acid: It is a acidic insoluble form of algin.
15. All Purpose Flour: A wheat flour.
16. Allspice: A spice made from ripe berries.
17. Allyl Cinnamate: A synthetic flavoring.
18. Almond: A nut from almond tree.
19. Almond Oil: Oil obtained from almond.
11

20. Almond Paste: A paste is obtained by cooking sweet and bitter almonds.
21. Alum: A preservative.
22. Aluminum Ammonium Sulfate: A chemical.
23. Aluminum Calcium Silicate: A chemical anticaking agent.
24. Aluminum Sulfate: A chemical.
25. Ammonium Alginate: A gum.
26. Ammonium Bicarbonate: Baking soda, a chemical used in chemical leavening.
27. Ammonium Carbonate: A chemical leavening agent.
28. Ammonium Chloride: A chemical & dough conditioner and yeast food.
29. Ammonium Hydroxide: An alkaline chemical.
30. Ammonium Phosphate: A chemical.
31. Ammonium Sulfite: A chemical.
32. Amylase: A enzyme obtained from plant or bacteria or fungal sources.
33. Anise: A dried spice.
34. Annatto, Annatto Extract: A source of yellow to reddish orange color obtained
from Bixin seed. Annatto extract is made by using water.
35. Anticaking Agents and Free Flow Agents: Chemical additives.
36. Antimicrobial Agents: Preservative.
37. Apple Vinegar or Cider Vinegar: Vinegar made from apple.
38. Arrowroot: A starch made from Rhizomes.
39. Ascorbic Acid or Vitamin C: It is an organic compound obtained from glucose or
synthetically produced.
40. Azodicarbonamide: A chemical used as dough conditioner.
12

B
1. Babassu Oil: Oil obtained from nut of Babassu palm.
2. Baking Powder: A chemical leavening agent consists of a mixture of sodium
bicarbonate and sodium aluminum phosphate or monocalcium phosphate.
3. Baking Soda: Sodium bicarbonate, used in chemical leavening.
4. Baker's yeast: Saccharomyces cervisiae, used in baking of baked products as a
natural leavening agent.
5. Baker's Yeast Extract: A flavoring agent resulting from concentration of the solubles
of mechanically ruptured Baker' Yeast cells.
6. Barley: A cereal grain.
7. Barley, Malted: The barley produced under controlled sprouting of barley grain.
8. Basil: A spice.
9. Bay Leaves: A spice consists of dried leaves obtained from evergreen tree.
10. Beans: Beans are vegetables.
11. Beeswax: The purified wax obtained from honeycomb.
12. Beet: A vegetable.
13. Beet Sugar: Sugar made from beet.
14. Benzaldehyde: A chemical & flavoring agent.
15. Benzoic Acid: A preservative.
16. Benzyl Peroxide: A chemical.
17. Benzyl Alcohol: A non intoxicant alcohol.
18. Benzyl Propionate: A chemical.
13

19. Bixin: Main coloring compound of annatto.
20. Bleached Flour: A flour which is whitened by removing yellow pigment.
21. Bran: The outer coating of cereal grain kernels.
22. Bread Flour: A hard wheat flour.
23. Bromine: A chemical element.
24. Brominated Vegetable Oil: It is vegetable oil to which bromine is attached. Many
countries banned it because it has bad effect on health.
25. Bromelain Enzyme: A protease enzyme obtained from stem of pineapple.
26. Brown Sugar: A sucrose crystal covered with a film of cane molasses.
27. Buckwheat: Buckwheat is a grain.
28. Bulgur Wheat: A precooked cracked wheat which retained bran and germ.
29. Butter, salted: A dairy product made of cream and salt..
30. Butterfat: The fat of milk.
31. Butter Oil: The clarified fat portion of butter.
32. Butyric Acid: A fatty acid which is commonly obtained from butter fat.

14

C
1. Cabbage: A vegetable.
2. Caffeine: It is a white crystalline xanthine alkaloid that acts as a stimulant drug. It is
bitter in taste and found in coffee and tea.
3. Cake Flour: A soft wheat flour.
4. Calcium: An alkaline earth element.
5. Calcium Acetate: The calcium salt of acetic acid.
6. Calcium Acid Phosphate: A chemical.
7. Calcium Alginate: The calcium salt of alginic acid.
8. Calcium Ascorbate: The salt of ascorbic acid.
9. Calcium Carbonate: The calcium salt of carbonic acid.
10. Calcium Chloride: A chemical.
11. Calcium Citrate: The calcium slat of citric acid.
12. Calcium Diacetate: The salt of acetic acid.
13. Calcium Gluconate: It is a mineral.
14. Calcium Hydrate: A Chemical.
15. Calcium Hydroxide: A chemical.
16. Calcium Iodate: A chemical.
17. Calcium Lactate: The calcium salt of lactic acid.
18. Calcium Oxide: A chemical.
19. Calcium Peroxide: A dough conditioner.

15

20. Calcium Phosphate: A chemical.
21. Calcium Propionate: The salt of propionic acid and a preservative.
22. Calcium Pyrophosphate: A nutrient.
23. Calcium Silicate: Anticaking agent.
24. Calcium Sorbate: A chemical used as a preservative.
25. Calcium Sulfate: A chemical.
26. Candelilla Wax: A wax obtained from Candelilla plant.
27. Cane Sugar: Sugar made from sugarcane.
28. Canola Oil: A low Erucic Acid Rapeseed Oil.
29. Canthaxanthin: A synthetic red colorant. It is available in oil soluble, oil dispersible
and water dispersible forms.
30. Caramel: A colorant obtained from control heat treatment of sugar.
31. Caraway: A spice seed.
32. Carbohydrates: The most abundant class of organic compounds constituting 3/4 of
the dry weight of plant world.
33. Carbonated Water: A beverage made by absorbing carbon dioxide in water.
34. Carboxymethylcellulose (CMC): A water soluble plant cellulose gum.
35. Cardamom: A spice.
36. Carnauba Wax: It is a wax obtained from Brazilian Wax Palm.
37. Carob: A cocoa substitute obtained from the pods of carob tree.
38. Carob Gum: It is a Locust Bean Gum.
39. Carrot: A vegetable.

16

40. Carrot Oil: Hexane(a Halal chemical solvent) is used to extract oil from carrot then
the hexane was removed b vacuum according Code Of Federal Regulation Title 21
Part 73 Sec 73.300.
41. Castor Oil: A release and anticaking agent.
42. Caviar: According Food & Agriculture Organization Caviar is salt cure of fish eggs.
Caviar is a luxury delicacy. The term Caviar is also use to describe fish such as salmon,
Trout and white fish.
43. Cayenne Pepper: Red Pepper, a spice.
44. Celery Seed: A Spice.
45. Cellulose: A carbohydrate polymer.
46. Cherry: A fruit berry.
47. Chicle: A natural masticatory substance of vegetable origin. It is the latex of
Sapodilla tree.
48. Chives: A spice.
49. Chlorine: A gas.
50. Chlorine Dioxide: A gas used in bleaching and aging of the flour.
51. Chlorophyll: A pigment present in green plants.
52. Chocolate, Bitter or plain, not Sweet Chocolate: A solid or semiplastic food
made from chocolate liquor derived from cocoa nibs of cocoa beans.
53. Chocolate Liquor or Cocoa Liquor: The liquor (no wine or alcohol) obtained by
grinding cocoa nibs obtained from cocoa beans.
54. Cider Vinegar: A vinegar made by the alcoholic and subsequent acetous
fermentation of apple juice or apple juice concentrate.
55. Cinnamon: A spice.
56. Citric Acid: A acidulant.

17

57. Citrus Oil: A oil obtained from citrus fruits.
58. Clove: A spice.
59. Cocoa Butter: The fat obtained by pressing chocolate liquor.
60. Cocoa Powder: The powder produced by the grinding, pulverizing of cocoa
presscake which obtained by compressing the cocoa liquor.
61. Coconut: The nut obtained from the coconut palm.
62. Coconut Oil: The oil obtained from the kernel of the nuts of the coconut palm.
63. Cod: A fish.
64. Coffee: A beverage made from the hot water extraction of solubles from ground
roasted coffee beans.
65. Copper: A metal.
66. Coriander: A spice.
67. Corn: A cereal grain.
68. Corn Bran: The outer coating of the corn kernel.
69. Corn Flour: Flour obtained by milling corn.
70. Corn Gluten: Protein of corn kernel.
71. Cornmeal: A ground corn.
72. Corn Oil: Oil obtained from germ of the corn.
73. Cornstarch: Starch made from corn endosperm.
74. Corn Syrup: It is obtained by complete hydrolysis of cornstarch.
75. Corn Syrup Solids: The dry form of corn syrup.
76. Cottonseed: Cottonseed when matured it enrobed in cushion of fibers.
77. Cottonseed Oil: Oil obtained from cottonseeds.

18

78. Cracked Wheat: The wheat prepared by cracking and cutting cleaned wheat.
79. Cranberry: A fruit berry.
80. Cream: The portion of milk that is high in milkfat. It is obtained by separation of the
fat fraction of the milk.
81. Cream of Tartar (For USA/Canada Only): The acid potassium salt of tartaric acid.
In USA/Canada it is obtained from unfermented damaged grapes obtained from table
grape. In other countries they are obtained from the deposit of wine barrels which is not
Halal.
82. Cultured Corn Syrup Solids: Cultured Corn Syrup solid is made by adding
bacteria to corn syrup solid for non alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such
as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the ph of the wheat
flour. This cultured corn syrup solid is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise
chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to
retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products. Cultured
Corn Syrup Solid is a Halal flour.
83. Cultured Wheat Flour: Cultured wheat Flour is made by adding bacteria to wheat
flour for non alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic
acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the ph of the wheat flour. This cultured
wheat flour is used as a natural mold inhibitor. Cultured wheat flour is a Halal flour.
84. Crushed Wheat: Wheat is obtained by crushing wheat.
85. Cumin: A spice.
86. Curry Powder: A blend of spices used as seasoning in curries and sauce.

19

D
1. Dates: A palm fruit.
2. Dehydroacetic Acid: A preservative.
3. Dextrin: It is a lower molecular weight carbohydrate obtained by hydrolysis of starch.
4. Dextrose: A glucose polymer formed by the hydrolysis of starch.
5. Dicalcium Phosphate: A chemical.
6. Dipotassium Phosphate: A chemical.
7. Dill: A herb.
8. Dill Seed: A spice.
9. Distilled White Vinegar: A vinegar made by acetous fermentation of dilute distilled
alcohol.
10. Durum Flour: The fine powder obtained from durum wheat to make egg noodles.
11. Durum Granular: It is obtained from durum wheat by grinding to obtained semolina
used in making macaroni products.
12. Durum Wheat: It is hard wheat high in protein used to obtain semolina and durum
flour used in making macaroni products.

20

E
1. EDTA: Ethylenediaminetetraacetate is sequestrant and chelating agent.
2. Egg: The hard-shelled reproductive body of poultry.
3. Egg Albumen or Egg White: The protein and white fraction of egg.
4. Egg Yolk: The yellow portion of egg.
5. Egg White: The egg protein or white portion of egg.

6. Encapsulation: Coating consists of gums.
7. Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour: The wheat flour that has been whitened by
removing the yellow pigment and fortified with vitamins and minerals.
8. Enriched Corn Flour: The corn flour fortified with vitamins and mineral.
9. Enriched Durum Flour: The durum flour fortified with vitamins and mineral.
10. Enriched Rice Flour: The rice flour fortified with vitamins and minerals.
11. Enriched Wheat Flour: The wheat flour fortified by vitamins and minerals. All
vitamins and minerals used in flour enrichment are kosher certified & Halal.
12. Erythorbic Acid: It is vegetable derived food additive.
13. Ethylene Oxide or Dioxide: A chemical.
14. Ethyl Lactate: A solvent manufactured from lactic acid.
15. Ethyl Maltol: It is a Organic compound used as a flavorant.
16. Ethyl Vanillin: A flavoring agent that is a synthetic vanilla flavor.
17. Eugenol: A flavoring Obtained from clove oil.
18. Extract of Malted Barley: A extract obtained from barley by using water.

21

F
1. Farina: A coarse granular wheat flour.
2. Fennel: A spice.
3. Fenugreek: A seed.
4. Ferric Ammonium Citrate: A nutrient and a chemical.
5. Ferric Chloride: A nutrient and a chemical.
6. Ferric Citrate: A nutrient and a chemical.
7. Ferric Orthophosphate: A chemical and source of iron.
8. Ferric Oxide: A nutrient and a chemical.
9. Ferric Pyrophosphate: A nutrient and a chemical.
10. Ferric Sulfate: A nutrient and a chemical.
11. Ferrous Ascorbate: A nutrient and a chemical.
12. Ferrous Carbonate: A nutrient and a chemical.
13. Ferrous Citrate: A nutrient and a chemical.
14. Ferrous Fumarate: A chemical source of iron.
15. Ferrous Gluconate: A nutrient and source of iron.
16. Ferrous Lactate: A ferrous salt of lactic acid and source of iron.
17. Ferrous Sulfate: A nutrient and source of iron.
18. Fig: A fruit.
19. Fish: A fish is any member of a paraphyletic group of organisms that consist of all
gill -bearing aquatic craniate animals.
20. Fish Gelatin: Gelatin obtained from fish bones.

22

21. Flour: The food prepared by grinding and bolting cleaned wheat other than durum
wheat.
22. Folic Acid in Foods: Folic acid is the synthetic version of the B-vitamin folate.
Although folate occurs naturally in many real foods such as whole grains, fruits and
vegetables, folic acid is added to many processed foods such as boxed breakfast cereal
and processed white rice. It is a part of enrichment for flours.
23. Food Starch Modified: Starch treated with chemicals to modify the physical
characteristic of starch.
24. Formic Acid: A flavoring substance.
25. Fructose: A sweetener which is a monosaccharide found naturally in fruit and
honey.
26. Fructose Corn Syrup and High Fructose Corn Syrup: It is also called GlucoseFructose syrup in UK. The corn syrup is under gone enzymatically to convert some
glucose or dextrose to Fructose to produce a desire sweetness.
27. Furmeric Acid: An acidulant.

23

G
1. Garlic: A spice.
2. Gelatinize: It is not a ingredient. Some Muslims confused it with gelatin. It is a
process to soak starch in water and pressure cooking to completely gelatinize the starch
(or break the starch).
3. Gellan Gum: A polysaccharide gum.
4. Ghatti: A plant gum.
5. Ghee: A clarified butter from cow or buffalo milk commonly used in India, Pakistan
and Bangladesh.
6. Ginger: A spic obtained from rhizome of ginger plant.
7. Glacial Acetic Acid: A acidulant.
8. Glucono-Delta-Lactone: An acidulant.
9. Glucose or Dextrose: A simple sugar.
10. Gluten: A protein complex made from wheat or corn.
11. Graham Flour: Another name for whole wheat flour.
12. Grain Vinegar: A acidulant made by acetous fermentation of dilute distilled grain
alcohol.
13. Grape: A fruit.
14. Guar: A plant gum.
15. Gum Arabic: A plant gum.
16. Gums or Hydrocolloids: Polysaccarides that function as water control agent.

24

H
1. Homogenized Milk: Milk that has mechanically treated to reduce the size of fat
globules in milk.
2. Honey: A natural syrup and sweetener. Nectar gathered by honey bees from plant
flowers and stored at honeycomb.
3. Horseradish: A spice.
4. Hydrochloric Acid: It is an acid.
5. Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil: The oil which has been hydrogenated to modify the
texture from liquid to semisolid or solid.
6. Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates: It is a sugar alcohol.
7. Hydrolyzed Cereal Solids. These are maltodextrin of low Dextrose Equivalent.
8. Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP): A flavor enhancer obtained from vegetable
protein.
9. Hydroxylated Lecithin: An emulsifier and clouding agent. It is manufactured by
treating soy lecithin with peroxide.
10. Hydroxypropyle Cellulose: A gum.
11. Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose: A gum.

25

I
1. Invert Sugar: A sweetener that is a mixture of equal weights of dextrose and
fructose.
2. Invert Sugar Syrup: A sweetener, it is produced by solubilizing sucrose in water
followed by hydrolization to a mixture of dextrose and fructose.
3. Iodine: A halogen element.
4. Iron: A mineral.
5. Iron Ammonium Citrate: A chemical used as anticaking agent.
6. Iron Oxide: A mineral.
7. Iron Reduced: Iron in a lower valence state.
8. Isomalt: A sugar alcohol.
9. Isopropyl Citrate: A antioxidant.

26

J
1. Juniper Berries Oil: It is obtained from dried ripe fruit of Juniperus.
2. Juices, 100% Fruit Juices: 100% fruit juices with or without ascorbic acid and
without flavors.

27

K
1. Karaya: A tree gum.
2. Kelp: A brown seaweed.
3. Kola Nut: The seed of Cola nitida.

28

L
1. Lactic Acid: It is an acidulant and present in milk as a natural organic acid.
2. Lanolin: Lanolin is fat obtained from sheep wool without slaughtering the sheep.
3. Lanolin Alcohol: Lanolin Alcohol is non drying organic compound obtained from
Lanolin. It does not contain alcohol.
4. Lauric Acid: A fatty acid obtained from coconut oil and other vegetable fat.
5. Lecithin: An emulsifier obtained from soy fat and very rarely from egg yolk.
6. Lecithinated Soy Flour: Soy flour to which lecithin is added.
7. Lemon Oil: Oil obtained from rinds lemons.
8. Lettuce: A vegetable.
9. Licorice: A flavoring agent made from the dried root of Glycyrrhizin.
10. Lime (Fruit): A citrus fruit.
11. Lime (Material): it is a calcium Oxide.
12. Limestone. It is Calcium Carbonate.
13. Locust Bean Gum: A gum obtained from plant seed of locust bean tree.

29

M
1. Mace: A spice.
2. Magnesium: A metallic element.
3. Magnesium Carbonate: A chemical and anticaking agent.
4. Magnesium Chloride: A source of magnesium.
5. Magnesium Hydroxide: An alkali.
6. Magnesium Oxide: A chemical and source of magnesium.
7. Magnesium Silicate: A chemical and a anitcaking agent.
8. Magnesium Sulfate: A nutrient.
9. Maize: Another name of corn.
10. Malic Acid: An acidulant.
11. Malt: A source of alpha amylase enzyme. It is produced by controlled sprouting of
barley.
12. Malted Barley: The barley produced under controlled sprouting followed by drying.
13. Malted Cereal Syrup: The syrup obtained from barley.
14. Malt Extract: A flavorant obtained by water extraction of barley.
15. Malt Flour: The flour prepared by the drying and grinding of barley or wheat
sprouted under controlled conditions.
16. Maltitol: A sugar alcohol.
17. Maltodextrin: The product obtained by partial acid or enzymatic hydrolysis of
starch.
18. Maltol: A flavor enhancer , it is a naturally occurring organic compound found in the
bark of larch tree.

30

19. Maltose: A sweetener obtained from starch and it has two molecules of dextrose.
20. Malt Syrup: The syrup obtained from barley by water extraction.
21. Malt Vinegar: A vinegar made by alcoholic and acetous fermentation of barley
cereal.
22. Manganese: A metallic element.
23. Mannitol: A polyol or sugar alcohol.
24. Maple Sugar: A sweetener obtained from maple sugar tree.
25. Maple Syrup: A sweetener made by concentrating the sap of the sugar maple tree.
26. Marjoram: A spice.
27. Methylcellulose: A gum composed of cellulose.
28. Methylparaben: A antimicrobial agent.
29. Microbial Enzyme: Enzyme obtained from microorganism.
30. Microbial Lipase: A lipid or fat breaking enzyme obtained from microorganism.
31. Microbial Rennet: A enzyme obtained from microorganism used to coagulate milk
or milk protein
32. Microcrystalline Cellulose: A gum that is the non fibrous form of cellulose.
33. Millets: A cereal.
34. Milk: The natural secretion of mammary glands of female cows, buffalos and goats.
35. Milkfat: The fat of the milk.
36. Mint: A spice derived from mint plant.
37. Modified Food Starch: The product resulting from treatment of starch with certain
chemical to modify the physical characteristics of native starch.
38. Molasses: The by- product of manufacture of sugar from sugarcane in which syrup
is separated from crystals.

31

39. Monocalcium Phosphate: An acidulant and leavening agent.
40. Monopotassium Phosphate: A buffer neutralizing agent.
41. Monosodium Phosphate: An acidulant.
42. Mushroom: A vegetable.
43. Mustard: A flavorant made from the dried ripe seed of mustard plant.
44. Mustard Flour: The ground seeds of mustard plant.
45. Mustard Oil: The oil obtained from mustard seed.
46. Mustard seeds: A spice.

32

N
1. Natural Hickory Smoke Flavor: Smoke flavor of any kind whether liquid or dried is
from the distilled fumes of a smoked wood. No alcohol is used.
3. Natamycin: A preservative.
4. Nitrate: The salt of nitric acid.
5. Nitrite: The salt of nitrous acid.
6. Nitrous Oxide: A gas.
7. Nutmeg: A spice.

33

O
1. Oat: A grain, it is a source of oat flour.
2. Oat Flour: Fine mesh ground oats with hull removed.
3. Oatmeal: The food produced by grinding oats after removing husk.
4. Oleoresins: Extractions from spices that contains volatile and non volatile flavor
components.
5. Oleoresin of Black Pepper: Acetone or Hexane or CO2 extraction of black pepper.
Some food companies labeled it as natural flavoring or natural flavor.
6. Oleoresin of Paprika: A seasoning and colorant, Acetone or Hexane may be used
as solvent.
7. Olive: Fruit of olive tree.
8. Olive Oil: The oil obtained from the fruit of olive tree.
9. Onion: A flavorant and vegetable.
10. Orange Oil: Oil obtained from rind of orange.
11. Oregano: A spice.

34

P
1. Palm Kernel Oil: An Oil obtained from palm kernels.
2. Palm Oil: The oil obtained from the fruit of palm tree.
3. Papain: A tenderizing protein digesting enzyme.
4. Paprika: A spice and colorant.
5. Parabens: Antimicrobial agent.
6. Parboiled Rice: The rice obtained by soaking in water, draining and pressure
cooking completely to gelatinize the starch.
7. Parsley: A plant leave.
8. Partially Hydrogenated Oil: The hydrogen is added to the oil to change it liquid
state to semisolid or solid state.
9. Pastry Flour: A wheat flour obtained from soft wheat.
10. Patent Flour: Flour made from the separation of 40 to 90 percent of that portion of
grain.
11. Peach: A Fruit.
12. Peanut: A legume, it is seed of peanut plant and it matures below the surface.
13. Peanut Oil: Oil obtained from peanut.
14. Pepper: A spice.
15. Pepper, Black: A spice.
16. Pepper, Cayenne: A spice.
17. Pepper, Red: A spice.
18. Petroleum Wax: A substance produced primarily from the dewaxing of lubricatingoil fractions of petroleum.

35

19. Pineapple: It is a fruit.
20. Phenylethanol: A chemical.
21. Phosphate: An inorganic chemical.
22. Phosphoric Acid: An acidulant and inorganic acid.
23. Plum: The fruit of plum tree.
24. Polydextrose: A bulking agent, condensation polymer of dextrose, containing small
amounts of bound sorbitol and citric acid.
25. Polyethylene Glycol (PEG): A binder, coating agent, a polyether or polymer of
ethylene oxide.
26. Polyvinyl Alcohol: It is a synthetic polymer.
27. Pomace: Ground apple in dry form.
28. Popcorn: 100% popcorn without any added ingredient is a Indian corn that
explodes when exposed to dry heat due to expansion of the kernel.
29. Poppy Seed: Seeds of Papaver somniferum L.
30. Potassium Alginate: A gum.
31. Potassium Bicarbonate: An alkali or leavening agent.
32. Potassium Bisulfite: A preservative that retards bacterial action.
33. Potassium Bromate: A banned dough conditioner or chemical.
34. Potassium Carbonate: An alkali.
35. Potassium Chloride: A nutrient.
36. Potassium Citrate: A sequestrant.
37. Potassium Hydroxide: A bleaching agent or a chemical.
38. Potassium Iodide: A source of iodine.

36

39. Potassium Lactate: Potassium Salt of lactic acid.
40. Potassium Metabisulfite: A chemical preservative.
41. Potassium Metaphosphate: A chemical.
42. Potassium Nitrate: A chemical preservative.
43. Potassium Nitrite: A chemical.
44. Potassium Phosphate: A chemical.
45. Potassium Sorbate: A chemical preservative.
46. Potassium Sulfate: A chemical.
47. Potato: A vegetable.
48. Potato Starch: A starch obtained from potatoes.
49. Powdered Sugar: A sweetener obtained by pulverizing granulated sugar.
50. Pregelatinized Starch: Starch swelled in water, cooked, dried, grind.
51. Preservatives: Antimicrobial agents.
52. Propionic Acid: A chemical used against mold.
53. Propylene Glycol: A petroleum derivative used as a solvent in flavor.
54. Propylene Glycol Alginate: A gum obtained from kelp.
55. Propyl Gallate: A chemical and synthetic preservative.
56. Protease Enzyme: It breaks the protein, obtained from plant or bacterial.
57. Psyllium: A plant gum.

37

Q
1. Quince Seed: Seeds from Quince plant.
2. Quinine: A flavorant naturally obtained from the cinchona tree.

38

R
1. Raisin: A dried grape.
2. Raisin Paste: It is made by adding water to raisin and making the paste.
3. Rapeseed Oil: The oil made from rapeseeds.
4. Rapeseed Oil, Low Erucic Acid (Canola Oil): Fully refined, bleached, and
deodorized oil obtained from certain varieties of Brassica napus.
5. Rennet, Microbial: A milk coagulating enzyme obtained from microorganism.
6. Rhubarb: A delicious vegetable stem.
7. Rice: A grain.
8. Rice Bran: The outer coating of rice kernel.
9. Rice Bran Oil: The oil made from rice bran.
10. Rice Bran Wax: A refined wax obtained from rice bran.
11. Rice Flour: The flour obtained from rice kernel by milling.
12. Rice Starch: The starch obtained from rice.
13. Rosemary: A spice.
14. Rye: A cereal.
15. Rye Flour: The flour obtained by milling rye.

39

S
1. Saccharin: A non-nutritive synthetic sweetener.
2. Safflower Oil: An unsaturated oil obtained from the safflower seeds.
3. Saffron: A coloring spice.
4. Sage: A spice.
5. Salad Oil: It is a vegetable oil made from cooking oil.
6. Salmon: A fish.
7. Salt: A seasoning and preservative whose chemical composition is sodium Chloride.
8. Savory: a spice.
9. Sea Salt: It is formed from natural evaporation of ocean water.
10. Self-Rising Flour: White flour to which sodium carbonate and acid reacting
chemical are added.
11. Semolina: The purified ground middling's of durum wheat. It is used to make
macaroni products.
12. Sesame Oil: The oil obtained from sesame seeds.
13. Sesame Seeds: The seed of the plant Sesamum indicum.
14. Shallot: A member of onion family.
15. Silicon Dioxide: Anticaking agent and a chemical.
16. Skim Milk: Milk from which sufficient fat has been removed to reduce the milkfat
content to less than 0.5 percent.
17. Smoke Flavorings: A flavorant that can be obtained in the form of liquid smoke
derived from burning hardwoods.
18.Sodium: A chemical element.

40

19. Sodium Acetate: A Chemical.
20. Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate: A chemical and leavening agent.
21. Sodium Alginate: A gum.
22. Sodium Aluminum Phosphate: A chemical.
23. Sodium Aluminum Sulfate: A leavening agent.
24. Sodium Ascorbate: The sodium form of ascorbic acid.
25. Sodium Benzoate: A chemical preservative.
26. Sodium Bicarbonate or Baking Soda: A chemical and leavening agent.
27. Sodium Bisulfite: A preservative.
28. Sodium Carbonate: An alkali.
29. Sodium Citrate: A buffering agent.
30. Sodium Diacetate: A preservative.
31. Sodium Erythorbate: It is the sodium salt of erythorbic acid.
32. Sodium Hydroxide: An alkali.
33. Sodium Lactate: Sodium salt of lactic acid.
34. Sodium Metabisulfite: A preservative.
35. Sodium Nitrate: Salt of nitric acid.
36. Sodium Nitrite: Salt of nitrous acid.
37. Sodium Phosphate: A chemical.
38. Sodium Propionate: A preservative.
39. Sodium Silicate: A preservative.
40. Sodium Sorbate: A preservative.

41

41. Sodium Sulfite: Salt of sulfuric acid.
42. Sodium Tartrate: Disodium salt of tartaric acid.
43. Sodium Tripolyphosphate: A binder and sequestrant.
44. Sorbic Acid: A preservative.
45. Sorbitol: A humectant, sugar alcohol and polyol.
46. Sorghum: A grain, Milo is a term used for sorghum.
47. Sorghum Flour: Flour obtained by milling sorghum.
48. Sorghum Oil: The oil obtained from sorghum.
49. Soya Flour: The flour obtained from defatted soybean.
50. Soya Lecithin: It is an emulsifier obtained from soybean fat.
51. Soybean: A legume.
52. Soy Oil: The oil obtained from soybean.
53. Soy Protein: The protein obtained from soybean.
54. Soy Protein Concentrate: The Concentrate obtained by processing soybean flour
to remove carbohydrate.
55. Spice: A variety of dry plants.
56. Spirit Vinegar: Vinegar obtained by the acetous fermentation of dilute distilled
alcohol.
57. Starch: It is the main reserve carbohydrate in plant kingdom. It occurs in seeds,
fruits, tubers, pithy stems.
58. Succinic Acid: An acidulant.
59. Sucrose: Sugar.
60. Sugar: A sweetener that is the disaccharide sucrose, consisting of one molecule of
glucose and one molecule of fructose. It is obtained as cane from sugarcane or beet
sugar from beet.

42

61. Sugar Syrup: A sweetener that is clear solution of sucrose.
62. Sulfur Dioxide: A preservative gas.
63. Sulfuric Acid: An acid.
64. Sunflower Oil: The oil obtained from sunflower.

43

T
1. Tangerine: A citrus fruit.
2. Tangerine Oil: Oil obtained from tangerine fruit.
3. Tannic Acid: A sequestrant that refers to a mixtures of tannins.
4. Tannins: These are phenolic compounds that have several hydrolyzable groups.
5. Tapioca: It is derived from the roots of tropical shrub known as Cassava.
6. Tapioca Starch: Starch obtained from cassava plant roots.
7. Taro: A tropical tuber which are modified plant structure.
8. Tarragon: The dried leaves and flower of the herb.
9. Tartaric Acid: An acidulant that occurs in grapes. In USA/Canada it is made from
damaged grapes taken out from the table grape. In other countries they are obtained
from the deposit of wine barrels which is not Halal.
10. Tea: Leaves derived from tea plant.
11. Textured Soy Flour: Soy flour that is processed and extruded to form products of
specific texture.
12. Textured Vegetable Protein: A vegetable protein that is processed and extruded to
form specific shape.
13. Thyme: The dried leaves and flowering tops of a herb.
14. Titanium Dioxide: A chemical which provide which provides white color to foods.
15. Tofu: A food coagulating the soy juice or soybean curd. The coagulator used are
calcium sulfate (gypsum), Magnesium chloride, and glucono-delta-lactone.
16. Tomato: A vegetable
17. Tomato Paste: The paste prepared from tomatoes without adding any ingredients.
18. Tragacanth: A bush gum.

44

19. Tricalcium Phosphate: A chemical.
20. Trisodium Phosphate: A chemical.
21. Turbinado Sugar: Washed raw sugar of light gold color and larger size than
regular sugar.
22. Turmeric, 100%: A spice and colorant obtained from rhizome or root. Turmeric in
food products in USA/Canada is not 100% turmeric. Emulsifiers such as Polysorbate 60
or 80 is used as processing aid ingredient. A Halal or Kosher symbol on the package
containing turmeric indicates that vegetable fat based Polysorbate 60 or 80 was used in
turmeric as a processing aid or hidden ingredient. The food products containing turmeric
must have a Halal or kosher symbol on the food package and all other ingredients has
to be Halal in the food products.

45

V

1. Vanaspati: A Indian term for vegetable fat.
2. Vanillin: A flavorant made from synthetic or artificial vanilla which can be derived
from lignin and synthetically produced from eugenol.
3. Vegetables: Plants.
4. Vegetable Gum: Gum obtained from vegetable.
5. Vegetable Oil: The oil obtained from vegetable.
6. Vinegar: An acidulant, it is also mean distilled white vinegar in USA/Canada.
7. Vital Wheat Gluten: A powder of high protein concentrate obtained by drying wash
wheat gluten.
8. Vitamin C: It is also called ascorbic acid obtained from plant or made synthetically.

46

W
1. Water: A colorless, odorless, tasteless liquid formed by the combination of two
hydrogen and one oxygen atoms.
2. Waxy Corn: A corn consisting essentially of amylopectin.
3. Waxy Maize Starch: The starch obtained from waxy corn.
4. Waxy Rice Flour: A flour obtained from waxy rice.
5. Waxy Rice Starch: A Starch obtained from waxy rice.
6. Wheat: A cereal grain.
7. Wheat Flour: A fine powdered obtained by milling wheat.
8. Wheat Germ: The oil containing portion of the wheat kernel.
9. Wheat Gluten: The water insoluble complex protein of wheat.
10. Wheat Starch: Starch obtained from wheat.
11. Whole Milk: A milk obtained from Buffalo or cows or goats without taking any fat.
12. Whole Wheat Flour: The flour obtained by grinding clean wheat. It is also called
graham flour.

47

X
1. Xanthan Gum: A gum obtained from Xanthomnas bacteria.
2. Xylitol: It is a sugar alcohol and sweetener for substituting sugar obtained from birch
trees.

48

Y
1. Yeast, Baker: A leavening and fermentation agent that is a single celled plant.
2. Yeast Extract, Baker: A flavor contributor and flavor enhancer obtained from baker
yeast.
3. Yeast Food: A complete food used in dough. It contains dough conditioner
ingredients such as calcium salts, sulfates and phosphates.

49

Z
1. Zein: A corn protein.
2. Zinc: A metallic element.
3. Zinc Acetate: A source of zinc.
4. Zinc Carbonate: A source of zinc.
5. Zinc Gluconate: A source of zinc.
6. Zinc Oxide: A source of zinc.
7. Zinc Sulfate: A source of zinc.

50

List of Haram Food Ingredients
1. Alcohol: Ethyl Alcohol only, it is used as a solvent for food flavors. Also during the
processing of food ingredients and food products. Dried alcohol is also available to be
use in dry natural or artificial flavor.
2. Bacon: It is a cured meat obtained from pig stomach.
3. Bacon Bits: It is obtained by dehydrating the bacon and grinding to bits.
4. Beer: An alcoholic beverage.
5. Beer Batter: Food coating containing dried beer is used for coating of frozen fish,
potato products and other products.
6. Beer Flavor: Actual beer is added as an ingredient in the flavor.
7. Brewer Yeast from Beer: Yeast used in brewing the beer then separated from beer
and is used in food products.
8. Brewer's Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast from beer making: The yeast extract
of brewer yeast obtained from beer making.
9. Cochineal/Carmine color: It is a natural red color obtained from female insects in
South America. It is used in food and cosmetic. All insects except locust are Haram in
Hanafi Mazhab.
10. Dijon Mustard with White Wine: This food is used a ingredient in many product. It
is Haram because it is made with white wine.
11. Fermented Cider: It is a alcoholic fermented apple juice. It is called hard cider in
USA and cider in UK.
12. Gelatin, Pork: The gelatin obtained from hides, skin and bones of pig.
13. Ham: It is a cut of meat from the thigh of the hind leg of pig.
14. Hard Cider: It is alcoholic fermented apple juice in USA.
15. Lard: Fat of the pig.

51

16. Pepsin Enzyme from Pig: An enzyme obtained from the digesting mucous
membrane of the stomach of the pig.
17. Pork: It is the flesh of pig.
18. Rum: It is an alcoholic liquor.
19. Sherry Wine: It is a wine used in food products.
20. Vanilla Extract: Vanilla extract is used as a flavorant in many foods. It is extracted
with alcohol and water from vanilla beans. According to FDA regulations Vanilla Extract
must contain a minimum of 35% alcohol otherwise it will not be call Vanilla Extract.
21. Wine, Red Wine, White Wine: An alcoholic beverage.

52

List of Not Halal Ingredients
(Not Halal status of food ingredient is based on fatwas from Islamic
Scholars and scientific facts)

1. Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate: Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate: It is a
nucleotide. Nucleosides in combination with phosphate group are building block of RNA
and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produce from
Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells.
Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and
other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
2. Aspartame: A synthetic sweetener but alcohol is used during its processing.
3. Balsamic Vinegar: True balsamic vinegar comes from Modena, Italy. Balsamic
Vinegar is made from Trebbiano grape a sweet white grape which contains high amount
of sugar. The grape cooked at about 185 F to obtain concentrated grape juice then
cooled in wooden barrels, inoculated with fermentation culture which include
transferring the grape juice to alcohol then to acetic acid by acetous fermentation and
water then they aged for years. Since it has higher sugar content than other grapes then
it will produce more alcohol which may not be converted to acetic acid and water. It is
also possible they may use wine barrel to provide flavor. It is not made from wine but it
is consider as a wine vinegar. Some company may add wine vinegar to get the right
flavor. MCG do not consider Balsamic vinegar as Halal.
4. Collagen: A protein that is principal constituent of connective tissue and bones of
pork or non zabiha beef. In USA/Canada there is no collagen available from zabiha
slaughtered beef
5. Confectionary Glaze: Confectionary Glaze is made by dissolving Shellac in ethyl
alcohol then evaporating alcohol. Then It is applied to the surface of the food product.
Shellac without alcohol is Halal. Shellac is a insect secretion.
6. Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate: Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate: It is a nucleotide.
Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as
nutrients for growing torula yeast cells.

53

7. Disodium Guanosine 5' - Monophosphate: It is a Nucleotides. Nucleotides are
commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for
growing torula yeast cells.
8. Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate: Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate: It
is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by
providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells.
9. Erythritol: Erythritol is a sugar alcohol obtained either from cornstarch or fruit
alcoholic fermentation.
10. Fish Protein Isolate: A food supplement that consists principally dried fish protein
obtained from edible portion of fish. It is prepared by extraction with Hexane and food
grade ethanol or alcohol to remove fat and moisture.
11. Grape Color Extract: An aqueous solution of anthocyanin grape pigment made
from grape and source could be concord grapes. Alcohol is used during processing.
12. Grape Seed Oil: The oil obtained from grape seeds. The source of grape seeds are
from by- product of wine making, grape juice and damaged table grape.
13. Grape Skin, Grape skin Extract: A natural red colorant with high concentration of
red anthocyanic pigment. The source of skin is from by- product of wine making, grape
juice and damaged table grape.
14. Gelatin, Beef: Many Islamic Scholars do not consider Non Zabiha Beef as Halal.
15. Inosito5' - Monophosphate: Inosito5' - Monophosphate: It is a nucleotide.
Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as
nutrients for growing torula yeast cells.
16. Kosher Gelatin: Kosher gelatin is made either from pork or non-Kosher beef.
17. Nucleotides: Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination with phosphate group.
They are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are
commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for
growing torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are obtained from RNA of torula yeast cells.
Nucleotides are used in baby infant formulas.

54

18. Rosemary Extract: Alcohol is used as extracting solvent.
19. Soya Sauce (Naturally Brewed): Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce with ingredient
statement Wheat and Soy is obtained by fermenting soybean and wheat just like wine.
Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce contains 2-3% alcohol.
20. Stevia: Natural Sweetener, Steviol Glycol is extracted from Stevia plant and
crystallized through alcohol.
21. Tallow: Animal fat mostly from non zabiha beef.
22. Teriyaki, Teriyaki Sauce: Teriyaki or Teriyaki sauce is made by using Naturally
Brewed Soy Sauce(a soy & wheat fermented sauce containing 2-3% alcohol).
23. Vanilla, Vanilla Flavor: Vanilla or vanilla flavor is obtained from vanilla bean by
extracting with ethyl alcohol and water. Vanilla or vanilla flavor in USA and Canada is
obtained by using ethyl alcohol and water as extracting solvents
24. Vanilla Bean Specks or Vanilla Bean: Vanilla bean specks or Vanilla Beans
mentioned under ingredients statement are made mostly from vanilla bean which are
obtained after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors or Vanilla Extract.
These leftover Vanilla Beans after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla
bean specks or Vanilla Beans. This is called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in food
industry. Vanilla beans specks without alcohol extraction are very expensive.
25. Wine Vinegar: Wine vinegar is made from wine which is Haram in Islam. Not all
wine is converted to vinegar. The flavor and color of wine are also Haram which do not
convert to a new thing.

55

List is of Mushbooh Food Ingredients
A
1. Anthocyanin: It is a water soluble pigment obtained from plants. But if it is obtained
from the skin of grapes, a by-product of wine making then it will not be Halal.
2. Apple Juice: Apple juice is used as an ingredient in many food products. Pork or non
zabiha beef gelatin is used during the processing of some apple juices. The gelatin is
not appeared under the ingredient statement because gelatin is considered as a
processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in apple juice. The apple juice which is
made with pork gelatin during apple juice processing is considered Haram. Apple juice
with Halal or Orthodox Kosher symbol is considered or Suitable for vegetarian label as
Halal.
3. Artificial Colors: Artificial colors or FD&C colors are chemical dyes, lakes and they
are Halal if use as is in powder or granular form. If they use as liquid colors then a
solvent such as vegetable oil or glycerin is required. Glycerin is a mushbooh ingredient
because it can be made either from pork fat or vegetable fat. The artificial colors or
FD&C colors will be Halal only if there is Halal or Kosher symbol on the food product
package containing FD&C colors. This Halal or Kosher symbol or Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that no pork fat glycerin was used in these FD&C colors as a
solvent.
4. Artificial Flavors: Artificial Flavors are usually made from chemical or synthetic raw
material. If the flavoring part of artificial flavor is from chemicals or if the synthetic
flavoring part of artificial flavor is from Halal sources then flavoring part of artificial will
be Halal. If the solvent or carrier, the other part of artificial flavor is alcohol then the
artificial flavor will be Haram but if the solvent or carrier is from Halal source then the
artificial will be Halal. Vanillin is only Halal artificial flavor without solvent.
5. Acetylated Monoglyceride: An fat based emulsifier, Halal only if it is made from
vegetable fat and Haram if it is made from pig fat. Acetylated Monoglyceride will be
Halal only if there is Halal or Kosher symbol or Suitable for vegetarian label on the food
product package containing Acetylated Monoglyceride.

56

6. Acid Casein: The principle protein which prepared from skim milk by precipitation
with an acid such as lactic acid, sulfuric acid or hydrochloric acid. It is Halal only if it is
Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label because of starter culture
bacteria and media used to grow starter culture bacteria.
7. Aluminum Oleate: The aluminum salt of oleic acid. It is used as a emulsifier. Oleic
acid is a fatty acid obtained from animal fat or vegetable fat. It is Haram if obtained from
pig fat. Halal if it is obtained from vegetable fat.
8. Amino Acids: When a typical protein is exposed to the hydrolytic action of acids,
alkalies or enzymes a mixture consisting entirely of alpha -amino acids is obtained.
Amino acids are Halal if obtained from vegetable protein and Haram if obtained from pig
protein. Amino acids will be Halal only if there is Halal or Kosher symbol or Suitable for
vegetarian label on the food product package containing amino acids.
9. Ammonium Caseinates: The ammonium salt of casein. Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label on the package.

10. Antioxidant. Substances used to preserve food by retarding deterioration, rancidity,
discoloration due to oxidation. Tocopherol or Vitamin E is mostly used but it is Halal only
if obtained from vegetable fat. BHT and BHT are also used and they are chemicals but
not available in 100 percent, a fat based carrier is used. If carrier is vegetable oil then
BHA and BHT are Halal otherwise not. A Halal or Kosher symbol or Suitable for
vegetarian label on the food package containing above antioxidants indicates they are
obtained from Halal sources and Halal carrier.
11. Arginine: A non-essential amino acid. It is Halal only if obtained from vegetable
protein.
12. Ascorbyl Palmitate: An antioxidant made by combining ascorbic acid with palmitic
acid. Palmitic Acid is a fatty acid and Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat.

57

B
1. Beet Extract: It is not Halal if the extracting solvent is alcohol. Halal if water or
Hexane is used as a extracting solvent.
2. Beta Carotene: A colorant that is a carotenoid producing a yellow to orange hue. It is
a plant based carotenoid but it is not available in 100 percent. Gelatin or fish gelatin is
used as a carrier in dry beta- carotene. Vegetable oil is used as a carrier for liquid betacarotene. These carriers are used to disperse or mix with other ingredients. Only Halal
or Kosher certified beta-carotene or Suitable for vegetarian label is consider Halal.
3. Butter fat Lipolyzed: It is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified because of source of
enzyme. It is not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian
label.
4. Buttermilk: The product that remains when fat is removed from milk or cream in the
processes of churning into butter. Cultured buttermilk is prepared by souring skim milk
with a suitable culture that produces a desirable taste and aroma. It is Halal only if it is
Halal or kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label because the culture has to be
from Halal source such as milk not meat and media to grow culture has to be Halal.
5. Buttermilk Solids: Buttermilk solids are obtained from buttermilk. It is Halal if Halal
or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for
vegetarian label.
6. BHA (Butylated Hydroxyanisole). It is a chemical and antioxidant but it is not
available in 100 percent form, a fat based carrier such as vegetable oil or glycerin has to
be added. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
7. BHT (Butylated Hydroxytoluene): It is a chemical and antioxidant but it is not
available in 100 percent form, a fat based carrier such as vegetable oil or glycerin has to
be added. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
8. Butyric Acid: A fatty acid, Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat.

58

C
1. Calciferol: A fat soluble vitamin D. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or
Suitable for vegetarian label.
2. Calcium Caseinate: The calcium slat of casein. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
3. Calcium Stearate: The calcium salt of Stearic acid. It is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate: A dough conditioner. A mixture of calcium salt of
Stearoyl Lactylate acid. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for
vegetarian label.
5. Caprylic Acid: A flavorant and a fatty acid. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
6. Carrageenan: A gum that is a seaweed extract obtained from red seaweed.
Isopropyl Alcohol( A Halal Alcohol) or Ethyl Alcohol (A Haram Alcohol) or Kcl (chemical)
is also used during it processing. It is Halal only if Isopropyl alcohol or kcl is used during
its processing.
7. Casein: The principal protein of milk. It is obtained by coagulating milk with rennet
enzyme. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
8. Caseinate: The salt of casein. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or
Suitable for vegetarian label.
9. Cheese Culture: Bacteria used in starter culture is to be added before rennet to the
milk. It is Halal only if it is from milk source not meat source or It is Halal only if it is Halal
or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
10. Cheese & Dairy Culture: These are starter culture bacteria added to milk to
provide flavor and texture to cheese and other dairy products. It is Halal only if it is Halal
or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

11. Cheese Powder: A dry form of cheese. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
59

12. Chewing Gum Base: A base containing masticatory substances used in making
chewing gum. It is Halal only if the substances obtained from vegetable or plant
sources.
13. Choline: A member of Vitamin B complex. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
14. Cultured Cream Lipolyzed: The enzyme used in cream has to be Halal. It is Halal
only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
15. Cultured Milk: The cultures added to milk has to be from milk sources not from
meat. The media use to grow these cultures has to be Halal. It is Halal only if it is Halal
or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
16. Cranberry Extract: A extract from cranberry used as colorant. It is not Halal if
alcohol is used as a extracting solvent. Halal only if Hexane is used as a extracting
solvent.
17. Cyanocobalamin: Vitamin B12, It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or
Suitable for vegetarian label.
18. Cysteine, L: A non essential amino acid, There are two companies who makes the
Halal L-Cysteine and they are:
A. Wacker Chemie of Germany who make the L-Cysteine by bacterial fermentation in
which no alcohol is produced. It is also term as L-Cysteine from fermentation.
B. Ajinomonto Company makes L-Cysteine by synthetic method. This L-Cysteine is
Halal certified by Council of Indonesia Ulema.
The L-Cysteine made from human hair is a Haram ingredient. The L-Cystiene made
from chicken/duck feathers is not consider as Halal by ulema.
19. Cysteine: A non essential amino acid. It is Halal if it is made from plant protein or .
It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
20. Cystine: A non essential amino acid. It is Halal if it is made from plant protein or . It
is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

21. Cyanocobalamin: Vitamin B12 and it is Halal only if Halal or Kosher certified or
Suitable for vegetarian label.
60

D
1. DATEM (Di- Acetyl Tartrate Ester of Monoglycerides): It is obtained from fat. It is
Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for
vegetarian label.
2. Diacetyl Tartaric Acid Esters of Mono and Diglycerides: A hydrophilic emulsifier.
It is Halal if obtained from vegetable fat or It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified
or Suitable for vegetarian label.
3. Diglyceride: A hydrophilic emulsifier. It is Halal if obtained from vegetable fat or It is
Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Distilled Monoglyceride: An emulsifier, It is Halal if obtained from vegetable fat or It
is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
5. Disodium Guanylate: Disodium Guanylate is a flavor enhancer used in soups,
gravies, sauces, fish and seafood. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or
Suitable for vegetarian label.
6. Disodium Inosinate: Disodium Inosinate is a flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies,
sauces, fish and seafood. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for
vegetarian label.
7. Dried Whole Milk, Dried Skim Milk, Dried Buttermilk, Non Fat dry Milk: They are
only Halal if they dried on dryers which was not used for pork-by products because it is
very difficult to clean dryers. They are Halal only if they are Halal or Kosher certified or
Suitable for vegetarian label.

61

E
1. Enzymes: Enzymes are biological catalysts of protein nature. The Halal status of
enzymes is depend on the source. All enzymes used in bakery products are obtained
from plant, fungal, bacterial sources and they are Halal. Enzymes used in cheese or in
other products may obtained from animal sources. They are Halal only if they are Halal
or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
2. Enzyme Modified Lecithin: Enzyme-modified lecithin is prepared by treating
lecithin with either phospholipase or pancreatic enzyme. Both enzyme can also be
obtained from pig. So it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for
vegetarian label.
3. Ethoxylated Mono and Diglycerides: An emulsifier prepared by the glycerolysis of
fat. It is Halal if obtained from vegetable fat or It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Extracts: Mostly an alcoholic or alcohol-water solution of ingredients. It is Halal only
if Hexane, acetone used as a extracting solvent or other Halal solvents are used.

62

F
1. Fatty Acids: Fatty acids constitute from 94 to 96 percent of total molecular weight of
fats. Halal only if they obtained from vegetable fat or they are Halal only if they are Halal
or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
2. FD&C(Food Drug & Cosmetic) Blue #1: A artificial color obtained from chemical
dye, lake and it is Halal if used as powder or granular forms but if they have to use as
liquid then vegetable oil or glycerin is added as a solvent. Glycerin can be made from
pork or beef or vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat based glycerin is Halal. Muslim
consumers do not know whether this color is used in dry form or liquid form. So it is
Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
3. FD&C Blue # 2: A artificial color obtained from chemical dye, lake and it is Halal if
used dry forms but if they have to use as liquid then vegetable oil or glycerin is added
as a solvent. Muslim consumers do not know whether this color is used in dry form or
liquid form. So it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian
label.
4. FD&C Green # 3: A artificial color obtained from chemical dye, lake and it is Halal if
used dry forms but if they have to use as liquid then vegetable oil or glycerin is added
as a solvent. Muslim consumers do not know whether this color is used in dry form or
liquid form. So it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian
label.
5. FD&C Red # 3: A artificial color obtained from chemical dye, lake and it is Halal if
used dry forms but if they have to use as liquid then vegetable oil or glycerin is added
as a solvent. Muslim consumers do not know whether this color is used in dry form or
liquid form. So it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian
label.
6. FD&C Red # 40: A artificial color obtained from chemical dye, lake and it is Halal if
used dry forms but if they have to use as liquid then vegetable oil or glycerin is added
as a solvent. Muslim consumers do not know whether this color is used in dry form or

liquid form. So it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian
label.
63

7. FD&C Yellow # 5: A artificial color obtained from chemical dye, lake and it is Halal if
used dry forms but if they have to use as liquid then vegetable oil or glycerin is added
as a solvent. Muslim consumers do not know whether this color is used in dry form or
liquid form. So it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian
label.
8. FD&C Yellow # 6: A artificial color obtained from chemical dye, lake and it is Halal if
used as powder or granular forms but if they have to use as liquid then vegetable oil or
glycerin is added as a solvent. Glycerin can be made from pork or beef or vegetable fat.
Only vegetable fat based glycerin is Halal. Muslim consumers do not know whether this
color is used in dry form or liquid form. So it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified
or Suitable for vegetarian label.
9. Feed for Farm Raised Fish: Feed could be made with pork by-product so it has to
be investigated. MCG recommends Muslims not to consume farm raised fish. Wild
caught fish (Those fish which meet Hanafi fiqah requirements) from seas or rivers is
consider Halal.

64

G

1. Glutamic Acid: An amino acid, The sodium salt of glutamic acid, monosodium
glutamate (MSG), is a widely used additive in the food industry. It is used as flavor
enhancer. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified. In 2004 Ajinomonto Indonesia
manufactured MSG with Micrococcus glutamicus bacteria. They used pork based media
to grow. In USA and Canada, Ajinomonto USA is kosher certified and Halal but in other
countries they might use pork based media.
2. Glycerin or Glycerol: It is a syrupy, water-white, odorless sweet liquid. A polyol that function
as humectant. It is Halal if it is made from vegetable fat and Haram if it is made from pig fat.
Glycerin is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
3. Glyceryl- Lacto-Stearate: An emulsifier. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Glycerol Monooleate: It is made by esterification of Oleic acid. It is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
5. Glycerol Monostearate: Esterification of stearic acid, It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
6. Glycine: A nonessential amino acid. It can be obtained from animal or vegetable protein. It is
Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

7. Gum Base: The component of chewing gum that is insoluble in water and remains
after chewing. It is prepared by blending and heating several masticatory ingredients. It
is Halal only if all ingredients are obtained from vegetable sources.

65

I

1. Isolated Soy Protein: Soy protein isolate is made from de-fatted soybean flakes that
have been washed in either alcohol or water to remove sugars and dietary fiber. Soy
protein isolate is used throughout the food industry for both nutritional and functional
reasons. It is Halal only if no alcohol is used during its processing.

66

L

1. Lactalbumin: A milk protein obtained from whey. It is Halal only if whey and Lactalbumin is
Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

2. Lactitol: Lactitol is a sugar alcohol. It is made from whey a by-product of cheese
making. It is Halal only if it is obtained from Halal or Kosher certified sweet whey or acid
whey or a Halal or kosher symbol or suitable for vegetarian appears on food package
containing Lactitol.
3. Lactoglobulin: A protein obtained from whey. it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified
or Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Lactose: Lactose is a milk sugar and obtained from whey, a by-product of cheese making. it
is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
5. Lactylated Fatty Acid Ester of Glycerol and Propylene: An emulsifier, It is Halal only if
whey and Lactalbumin is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
6. Lactylic Ester of Fatty Acids: An emulsifier, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.

67

M

1. Magnesium Caseinate: The magnesium form of casein. it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
2. Magnesium Laurate: The magnesium salt of lauric acid. It is Halal only if whey and
Lactalbumin is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
3. Magnesium Oleate: Magnesium salt of oleic acid. it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Magnesium Stearate: Magnesium salt of stearic acid. it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
5. Margarine: A product whose consistency and application similar to butter. It is made

by mixing milk, fat (either plant or animal) and artificial flavor to provide butter flavor.
According to many flavor companies the solvent used in artificial flavor is vegetable oil
but it is possible they may use alcohol as a solvent in the artificial flavor. It should be
Halal or kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
6. Mono & Diglycerides: Mono and Diglycerides are fat based emulsifier and are made

by reacting glycerol (fat based) with fats and oils. Mono and diglycerides can be made
from beef or pork or soybean fat. Only soybean or zabiha slaughtered cow fat based
Mono and Diglyceries are consider Halal. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the
Islamic dietary requirements) or Suitable for vegetarian label on a food package
containing Mono and Diglycerides indicates that it is obtained from soybean fat.
7. Monoglyceride: A liophilic emulsifier prepared by the direct esterification of fatty acids with
glycerol. So it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
8. Monosodium Glutamate (MSG): A flavor enhancer that is the sodium salt of glutamic acid. It
is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
9. Myristic Acid: It is obtained from coconut but it is possible it could be obtained from animal
fat. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

68

N

1. Natural Flavors: Natural flavor is made from any natural material including meat. It is Halal if
it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label and alcohol is not used as a
solvent. A natural flavor could be Kosher certified but alcohol could be use as a solvent then in
this case it is not consider as Halal. So there two requirements, one the Halal flavoring material
has to be used and second no alcohol is used as a solvent. Any flavor has two component one
is flavoring component and other is solvent or carrier.
2. Natural Flavoring: Some food companies labeled Oleoresin of black pepper as

natural flavoring or natural flavor. It is mostly used in Tomato Ketchups, BBQ Sauces
and other sauces. The extracting chemical is acetone (a Halal chemical). The only way
to know the Halal status of natural flavoring or natural flavor in above products is by
finding out from food companies who makes above food products whether alcohol was
used as a solvent or not.
3. Niacin: A water soluble B-complex vitamins, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Niacinamide: A nutrient and dietary supplement that is available in the form of niacin. it is
Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

69

O

1. Oleic Acid: A unsaturated fatty acid function as lubricant, binder, and defoamer. it is Halal
only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
2. Oxystearin: It is a modified fatty acid composed of glycerides and oxidized stearic acid. it is
Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

70

P

1. Palmitic Acid: A fatty acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for

vegetarian label.
2. Pantothenic Acid: A water soluble Vitamin B5, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified
or Suitable for vegetarian label.

3. Pectin: It is a gum obtained from citrus peel and apple pomace but during its
processing ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol is used to crystallized pectin in to powder or
granular form. If alcohol is used then pectin became Not Halal because they do not take it out
during processing they evaporate alcohol but it does not qualify it as Halal. According many
Ulema if alcohol is mixed in to Halal ingredients then all those Halal ingredients loses their Halal
status.
On the other hand if isopropyl alcohol is used it has to completely removed because isopropyl
alcohol is a poison.
4. Pepsin, Enzyme from Calf and Sheep: A enzyme obtained from the digesting
mucous membrane of the stomach of the calf and Sheep. It is Halal only if calve and
sheep are zabiha slaughtered.
5. Peptone: A polypeptide, Halal if obtained from vegetable protein and Haram if obtained from
pork protein. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
6. Protein: Proteins are the most abundant organic molecules with cells of animal and plant.
Plant proteins are consider Halal and proteins in the form gelatin from pork collagen are Harm.
Proteins are Halal only if they are Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
7. Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids: Emulsifiers, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
8. Polyoxyethylen Sorbitan Fatty Acid Esters: Emulsifiers, It is only Halal if whey and
Lactalbumin is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

9. Polyoxyethylen Sorbitan Monooleate or Polysorbate 80 : An emulsifier, it is Halal only if it
is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
71

10. Polyoxyethylen Sorbitan Monostearate or Polysorbate 60: An emulsifier, it is Halal only
if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
11. Polyoxyethylene Sorbitan Tristearate or Polysorbate 65: An emulsifier, it is Halal only if
it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
12. Potassium Oleate: The potassium salt of oleic acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
13. Potassium Palmitate: The potassium salt of palmitic acid, It is only Halal if whey and
Lactalbumin is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
14. Potassium Stearate: The potassium salt of stearic Acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

15. Probiotics: The most widely accepted definition of a probiotic is the one suggested
by a joint FAO/WHO working Group (2002): Live microorganisms which when
administered in adequate amount confer a health benefit on the host.
The organisms are bacteria such as Lactobacillus, Bifidobacterium, Lactococcus,
Leuconstoc, Pediococcus, Propionibacterium, Streptococcus, Bacillus and yeast such
as Saccharomyces, Schizosaccharomyces, Xantothophyllomyces. From Halal point of
view, only probiotic bacteria which perform lactic acid fermentation by producing lactic
acid are consider Halal. The probiotic yeasts which perform alcoholic fermentation by
producing alcohol are consider not Halal.
Only manufacturers know what type of probiotic microorganism were used in probiotic
foods. Then we have to contact them to verify the Halal status of probiotic
microorganism used in the probiotic foods.
16. Propylene Glycol Mono-and Di-Esters: A liliphilic emulsifier, it is Halal only if it is
Halal or Kosher certified.
17. Propylene Glycol Monostearate: A liliphilic emulsifier, it is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified.
18. Pyidoxine: It is a vitamin 6, a water soluble vitamin and it is Halal only if it is Halal
or Kosher certified.

19. Pyridoxine Hydrochloride: An acid form of vitamin B6, a water soluble vitamin. it is
Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified.
72

R

1. Reduced Lactose Whey: The portion of the milk obtained by the removal of lactose from
whey. it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
2. Reduced Mineral Whey: The substance obtained by removal of a portion of the minerals
from whey. it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

3. Rennet: Rennet is a mixture of complex enzymes obtained from calves stomach or
pork stomach or lamb (Kid) stomach. This complex enzymes are consist of a proteolytic
enzyme called Protease which coagulate the milk protein causing it to separate into
curds or solids and liquid whey. The active enzyme in rennet called Chymosin,. But
there are other enzyme pepsin and lipase also present. Only Zabiha slaughtered calve
rennet is consider Halal.
4. Rennet Casein: The product that results from the precipitation of pasteurized milk with
rennet enzyme. Rennet casein is the protein of milk coagulated by rennet enzyme. Rennet
casein is Halal only if it Halal or kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

5. Rennin: A milk coagulating enzyme obtained from the abomasum portion of the
stomach of suckling mammals. It is Halal only if obtained from zabiha slaughtered
calves.
6. Retinol: A fat soluble vitamin A, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for

vegetarian label.
7. Riboflavin: A water soluble Vitamin B2, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.

73

S

1. Shellac: It is a secretion of insect. It is Halal if alcohol is not used during its
processing.
2. Sodium Caseinate: The sodium salt of Casein, a milk protein, it is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
3. Sodium Laurate: The sodium salt of Lauric Acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: An emulsifier and whipping aid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
5. Sodium Oleate: The sodium salt of Oleic Acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified
or Suitable for vegetarian label.
6. Sodium Palmitate: The sodium salt of Palmitic acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
7. Sodium Stearate: The sodium salt of Srearic Acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
8. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate: A fat based dough conditioner, It is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

9. Softener: It is used in chewing gum, a term used for ingredients that soften. It is
Halal only if obtained from vegetable sources.
10. Sorbitan Ester: A fat based emulsifier, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.

11. Sorbitan Monostearate: A fat based emulsifier, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

74

12. Sour Cream: Sour cream is a fermented cream product obtained from milk. It is fermented
by certain kind of lactic acid bacteria. In some sour cream gelatin or gum is added thickening
purpose. For its Halal status there are two requirements, one is the bacteria and media to grow
bacteria has to be Halal and second requirement is it should be free of gelatin. Many restaurant
chain such as Taco Bell used gelatin in their sour cream which could be from pork. Sour Cream
is Halal only if it is Halal or kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
13. Sour Cream Solids: Sour cream solids are the dry form of sour cream. It is Halal only if
they are Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label because gelatin can be
used in the manufacturing of sour cream.
14. Stearic Acid: A fatty acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for

vegetarian label.
15. Stearoyl Lactylate: A fat based dough conditioner, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
16. Succinylated Monoglycerides: Emulsifier & dough conditioners, it is Halal only if it is Halal
or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
17. Sucrose Fatty Acid Esters: A fat based emulsifier, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher
certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

75

T

1. Tertiary Butylhydroquinone (TBHQ): An antioxidant and chemical but it is not available in
100 percent. A fat based carrier has added. It is Halal only if vegetable oil is added as a carrier
or it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
2.Thiamine or Thiamine Mononitrate: A water soluble vitamin B1, it is Halal only if it is Halal
or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
3. Tocopherol: A fat based vitamin E, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable

for vegetarian label.
4. Torula Yeast: Torula Yeast has capacity to utilize pentose sugars. It is not use in
making bread or beer or wine. Alcohol is used as a nutrient for torula yeast cells growth.
Torula yeast grown on alcohol is not consider Halal by MCG. But if torula yeast is grown
on sugar cane then it is Halal.
5. Turmeric: A spice but not available in 100 percent to food manufacturer, a fat based
emulsifier Polysorbate 80 is added for uniform distribution of turmeric in the food products. It is
Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.

6. Turmeric Extract: If Turmeric Extract is extracted with Acetone then it will be a Halal
ingredient but if it is extracted with alcohol then it will not be Halal.

76

U

1. Unsalted Butter: Unsalted butter is made with cream and starter distillate and

ingredients of the unsalted butter is cream and natural flavoring.
According to FDA, starter distillate or butter starter distillate is a steam distillate of the
culture of any or all of the following species of bacteria grown on a medium consisting of
skim milk usually fortified with 0.1% citric acid: Streptococcus lactic, S. cremoris, and S.
lactis subsp. diacetylactis, Leuconostoc citrovorum, and L. dextranicum. The ingredient
contains more than 98% water, and reminder is a mixture of organic flavor compounds.
Besides diacetyl, starter distillate contains minor amounts of acetaldehyde, ethyl
formate, ethyl acetate, acetone, ethyl alcohol, 2-butanone, acetic acid and acetoin.
Some food companies do not use starter distillate in Unsalted butter. They use Halal
lactic acid but declared on the ingredients statement as natural flavoring.
Muslim consumers who interested in buying unsalted butter should contact the food
companies to find out whether they use lactic acid or starter distillate.
It is Halal only if no alcohol is used and if it is Halal or Kosher certified.

77

V

1. Vitamins A: Vitamin A is retinol, a fat soluble vitamin and it is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
2. Vitamin B1: Vitamin B1 is thiamine, a water soluble vitamin and it is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
3. Vitamin B2: Vitamin B2 is riboflavin, a water soluble vitamin and it is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
4. Vitamin B5: Vitamin B5 is Pentothenic acid, a water soluble vitamin and it is Halal only if it is
Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
5. Vitamin B6: Vitamin B6 is pyridoxine, a water soluble vitamin and it is Halal only if it is Halal
or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
6. Vitamin B6 Hydrochloride: An acid form of vitamin B6, a water soluble vitamin. it is Halal
only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
7. Vitamin B12: Vitamin B12 is cyanocobalamine, a water soluble vitamin and it is Halal only if
it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
8. Vitamin D2: Vitamin D2 is Calciferol, a fat soluble vitamin and It is Halal only if it is Halal

or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
9. Vitamin E: Vitamin E is Tocopherol, A fat based vitamin and it is Halal only if it is Halal or
Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian label.
10. Vitamin K: A fat soluble vitamins and it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.

78

W

1. Whey: Whey is the separated watery portion of milk usually obtained by acid, heat or rennet
coagulation. It is opaque and greenish- yellow. It is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.
2. Whey Protein Concentrate: The dry portion of whey obtained by the removal of non protein
constituents of whey. it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or Suitable for vegetarian

label.
3. Whey Solid: The solid fraction of whey, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.

79

Z

1. Zinc Stearate: The zinc salt of stearic acid, it is Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified or

Suitable for vegetarian label.

80

List of E-Numbers
Halal
E-Number
Status

Name

Description

Date

1100

Amylase Enzyme

Amylase enzyme is called in
European Union as ENumber 1100 and it is Halal
obtained from plant source or
from fungi.

09/18/1
5

1101

Protease Enzyme

Protease enzyme has ENumber 1101 which can by
obtained from animal or plant.
A Green Dot on the package
of food product in India
indicate it is from plant. A
Halal or Kosher symbol on
food product in USA/Canada
containing protease enzyme
indicates it is from plant
source and Halal.

09/18/1
5

E- 319

Tert-Butylhydroquinone (TBHQ)

TBHQ is not available in
100% form and it has to have
a carrier for mixing purpose. If
it has vegetable oil as a
carrier then it is Halal. If it has
animal based fat then it is not
Halal may be Haram if pork
fat is used. TBHQ is a
chemical, in its 100% form
without carrier it is Halal.

08/15/1
3

E-968

Erythritol

Erythritol is a sugar alcohol
obtained either from
cornstarch or fruit alcoholic
fermentation

07/16/1
5

E100

Curcumin/Turmeric

Color Halal only if they are
100% but in food industry
they are not available 100%
but made with fat based
emulsifiers such as
Polysorbate 80

09/28/0
5

E101

Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)

Color Halal if it is made from
synthetic source otherwise
need investigation for it

09/28/0
5

source
E102

Tartazine

Tartazine if obtained from
natural source then it is
soluble in water then it is
Halal. If obtained from
synthetic dye then it is Halal
only if it mix with vegetable
oil.

05/02/1
5

E103

Chrysoine Resocinol

This is coloring E-Number but
Halal only if the solvents are
Halal. It is obtained from a
plant.

09/28/0
5

E104

Quinoline Yellow

Color It is a chemical dye and
Halal if used as dry powder.
Liquid form is Halal only if
Halal solvent was used

09/28/0
5

E105

Fast Yellow AB

It is a chemical dye and Halal
if used as dry powder. Liquid
form is Halal only if Halal
solvent was used. It is
forbidden in USA & Europe.

09/28/0
5

E107

Yellow 2G

A color, it is a synthetic
chemical dye obtained from
coal tar and yellow Azo dye
and it is soluble in water.

01/07/1
3

E110

Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange
Yellow S

Color It is a chemical dye and
it is Halal as dry powder. Only
2% of it is not soluble in
water.

09/28/0
5

E1103

Invertase Enzyme

Invertase is obtained from
yeast and also synthesized
by honey bees. Invertase
breaks sucrose(table sugar)
into glucose and frustose the
simple sugar.

06/14/1
1

E1105

LysozymeEnzyme

It is an enzyme found in egg
white.

01/07/1
3

E120

Cochineal / Carminic Acid

Color Obtained from insects.
All insects except Locust are
Haram in Islam.

09/28/0
5

E1200

Polydextrose

A starch based thickener,
stabilizer, humectant.

06/14/1
1

E1201

Polyvinylpyrrolidone

Water soluble polymer

06/14/1
1

E122

Carmoisine / Azorubine

Color It is chemical dye and
Halal if use as a powder.
Liquid Color is Halal only if
Halal solvents are used. It is
used in fermented heated
food products which may not

09/28/0
5

be Halal.
E123

Amaranth Dye

Color It is Dry form petroleum
base. It is Halal if use as a
powder dye. Liquid dye is
Halal only if only Halal
solvents are used.

09/28/0
5

E124

Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A

Color Cochineal Red A is a
Haram Color. Ponceau 4R is
a synthetic color. It is Halal if
used in dry form from Halal
sources but liquid form is
Halal if Halal solvents are
used

09/28/0
5

E127

Erythrosine BS

Color It is a chemical dye
Halal only in its dry form.
Liquid form is Halal only if
Halal solvents are used.

09/28/0
5

E128

Red 2G

Colors It is a chemical dye,
Halal only in its dry form.
Liquid form is Halal only if
Halal solvents are used.

09/28/0
5

E129

Allura Red AC

It is a red azo dye used for
color in foods. Since it is
soluble in water, both dry or
liquid forms are Halal.

06/14/1
1

E131

Patent Blue V

Color It is a chemical dye
Halal only in its dry form.
Liquid form is Halal only if
Halal solvents are used.

09/28/0
5

E132

Indigo Carmine / Idigotine

Color It is used to be
extracted from plant but now
it is synthetically produced
and It is Halal if synthetically
produced from Halal sources.
Liquid for requires solvent,
liquid for is Halal only if Halal
solvent are used.

09/28/0
5

E133

Brilliant Blue FCF

Colors It is a chemical dye
made from aromatic
hydrocarbon from petroleum
source. It is soluble in water
so do not need any solvent. It
is a Halal dye.

09/28/0
5

E140

Chlorophyll

Color It is a plant pigment and
Halal only if extracting
solvents are Halal not
alcohol.

09/28/0
5

E1400

Dextrin

It is a low molecular
carbohysrate obtained
through starch hydroloysis or
through action of Amylase
enzyme(Halal). It is used as a

06/14/1
1

carrier in dry flavors, use in
dry beverage mixes and
soups.
E1401

Acid Treated Starch

Starch is modified with an
acid.

06/14/1
1

E1404

Oxidized Starch

Starch oxidized with chemical

06/14/1
1

E141

Copper Complex of Chlorophyll

Color It is a plant pigment and
Halal only if extracting
solvents are Halal not
alcohol.

09/28/0
5

E1410

Mono starch Phosphate

Phosphate in Europe is also
obtained from animal bones.
So please the check the
source of phosphate.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label
on food package indicates
that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained
from minerals and it is Halal.

06/14/1
1

E1412

Distarch phosphate

Phosphate in Europe is also
obtained from animal bones.
So please the check the
source of phosphate.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label
on food package indicates
that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained
from minerals and it is Halal.

06/14/1
1

E1413

Phosphated sistarch phosphate

Phosphate in Europe is also
obtained from animal bones.
So please the check the
source of phosphate.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label
on food package indicates
that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained
from minerals and it is Halal.

06/14/1
1

E142

Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS

Color This is a synthetic color
soluble in water

09/28/0
5

E1420

Acetylated Starch

Chemically modified starch

06/14/1
1

E1422

Acetylated distarch phosphate

Phosphate in Europe is also
obtained from animal bones.
So please the check the
source of phosphate.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label
on food package indicates
that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained
from minerals and it is Halal.

06/14/1
1

E1442

Hydroxy propyl distarch phosphate

Phosphate in Europe is also

06/14/1

obtained from animal bones.
So please the check the
source of phosphate.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label
on food package indicates
that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained
from minerals and it is Halal.

1

E1450

Starch Sodium Octenyl Succinate

Chemically modified starch
with octenylsuccinate.

06/14/1
1

E1451

Acetylated Oxidized Starch

Chemically modified starch

06/14/1
1

E150(a-d)

Caramel Color/with chemicals

Color

09/28/0
5

E1505

Trietyhl Citrate

A ester of citric acid

06/14/1
1

E151

Black PN / Brilliant Black BN

Color This is a synthetic color
soluble in water

09/28/0
5

E1518

Glyceryl Triacetate, Triacetin

A artficial chemical compond
used as a solvent in flavors
and also as humectant.

06/14/1
1

E1520

Propylene Glycol

A petroleum based Halal
humectant used as a solvent
in food flavors.

06/14/1
1

E153

Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon
(Charcoal)

Color Obtained from Coal Tar

09/28/0
5

E154

Brown FK

Colors It is synthetic Azo dye
and soluble in water

09/28/0
5

E155

Brown HT

Colors It is a synthetic coal tar
diazo dye. It is Halal if used
as powder. Liquid Brown HT
is Halal only if the solvents
are Halal.

09/28/0
5

E160a

Alpha, Beta, Gamma Carotene

Color - Carotene Carotene
color is obtained from plant
source but it is not available
in 100% form because it is
not soluble in water. Gelatin
is added to help mix in liquid
products. In USA fish gelatin
is used so it is Halal in USA
but in UK they may not use
fish gelatin but may use
gelatin from pork or beef.

09/28/0
5

E160b

Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin

Color - Annatto is a Halal
color and it is used with water
in liquid products.

09/28/0
5

Halal Status

E-Number

Name

Description

Date

E160c

Capsanthin /
Capsorbin

Color- It has plant origin and
available in oil or water soluble
form.

09/28/0
5

E160d

Lycopene

Color - Carotene Lycopne is a
bright red carotene and carotenoid
obtained from tomato and other
red fruit and vegetables. It is not
soluble in water but dissolve in oil
and organic solvents. It is Halal if
dissolve in oil and mushbooh
when dissolve in organic solvents.

09/28/0
5

E160e

Beta-apo-8-carotenal

Color - Carotene arotene color is
obtained from plant source but it is
not available in 100% form
because it is not soluble in water.
Gelatin is added to help mix in
liquid products. In USA fish gelatin
is used so it is Halal in USA but in
UK they may not use fish gelatin
but may use gelatin from pork or
beef.

09/28/0
5

E160f

Ethyl ester of Betaapo-8-cartonoic acid

Color - Carotene arotene color is
obtained from plant source but it is
not available in 100% form
because it is not soluble in water.
Gelatin is added to help mix in
liquid products. In USA fish gelatin
is used so it is Halal in USA but in
UK they may not use fish gelatin
but may use gelatin from pork or
beef.

09/28/0
5

E161a

Flavoxanthin

Color It is a natural pigment. Halal
status is depend upon (a) what
extracting material used to
obtained the pigment (2) what
solvent used for its liquid form.

09/28/0
5

E161b

Lutein

Color Lutein is xanthophyll
carotene. It is present in plant as
fatty acid ester. It is extrcted from
marigold petals. Its Halal status
depend upon the Halal status of
extracting chemicals, if it is
extracted by alcohol then it is not
Halal.

09/28/0
5

E161c

Cryptoxanthin

Color Cryptoxanthin is a natural
carotene pigment and it is found in
petal of flower of plants. Its Halal
status depend upon the Halal
status of extracting chemicals, if it
is extracted by alcohol then it is
not Halal.

09/28/0
5

E161d

Rubixanthin

Color Rubixanthin is a xanthophyl
pigment of plants. Its Halal status

09/28/0
5

is depend upon extracting
chemicals and solvents used in its
liquid form.
E161e

Violaxanthin

Color violaxanthin is a xanthophyl
pigment of plants. Its Halal status
is depend upon extracting
chemicals and solvents used in its
liquid form.

09/28/0
5

E161f

Rhodoxanthin

Color Rhodoxanthin is a
xanthophyl pigment of plants. Its
Halal status is depend upon
extracting chemicals and solvents
used in its liquid form.

09/28/0
5

E161g

Canthaxanthin

Color Canthaxanthin is a carotene
pigment of plants. Its Halal status
is depend upon extracting
chemicals and solvents used in its
liquid form.

09/28/0
5

E162

Beetroot Red / Betanin

Color Beetroot Red is a food dye
extracted from beet or beet juice.
Its Halal status is depend upon
extracting chemicals and solvents
used in its liquid form.

09/28/0
5

E163

Anthocyanins

Color Anthocyanins is a water
soluble pigment obtained from
plants by extracting with water and
it is a Halal color.

09/28/0
5

E170

Calcium Carbonate
(Chalk)

It is a Inorganic chemical.

09/28/0
5

E171

Titanium Dioxide

It is a Inorganic chemical and use
in food products to provide white
color.

09/28/0
5

E172

Iron Oxides and Iron
Hydroxides

Iron is a metal. Iron Oxide and Iron
Hydroxides are inorganic
chemicals.

09/28/0
5

E173

Aluminium

It is a metal.

09/28/0
5

E174

Silver

It is a metal.

09/28/0
5

E175

Gold

It is a metal

09/28/0
5

E180

Pigment Rubine / Lithol Color - It is synthetic Azo dye. It is
Rubine BK
Halal if used as a powder but it is
mushbooh if used in liquid form
because solvent has to be Halal.

09/28/0
5

E200

Sorbic Acid

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E201

Soduim Sorbate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E202

Potassium Sorbate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0

5
E203

Calcium Sorbate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E203

Calcium Sorbate

A chemical preservative

06/14/1
1

E210

Benzoic Acid

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E211

Sodium Benzoate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E212

Potassium Benzoate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E213

Calcium Benzoate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E214

Ethyl 4hydroxybenzoate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E215

Ethyl 4hydroxybenzoate,
Sodium Salt

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E216

Propyl 4hydroxybenzoate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E217

Propyl 4hydroxybenzoate,
Sodium Salt

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E218

Methyl 4hydroxybenzoate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E219

Methyl 4hydroxybenzoate,
Sodium Salt

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E220

Sulphur Dioxide

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E221

Sodium Sulphite

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E222

Sodium Hydrogen
Sulphite

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E223

Sodium Metabisulphite

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E224

Potassium
Metabisulphite

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E226

Calcium Sulphite

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E227

Calcium Hydrogen
Sulphite

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E228

Potassium Hydrogen
sulphite

Chemical preservative.

09/28/0
5

E230

Biphenyl / Diphenyl

Bipheny is a organic compound
used as heat transfer. It is used in
fungicide. It is used as a
preservative in foods.

09/28/0
5

Halal
Status

E231

2-Hydroxybiphenyl

It is organic compound and used
as a preservative in foods.

09/28/0
5

E232

Sodium Biphenyl-2-yl
Oxide

It is organic compound and used
as a preservative in foods.

09/28/0
5

E233

2-(Thiazol-4-yl)
Benzimidazole

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E234

Nisin

Nisin is a antibacteria protein
peptide, a preservative used in
foods. It is produced from the
lactic acid fermentation of
bacterium Lactococcus lactis.

09/28/0
5

E235

Natamycin

A naturally occurring antifungal,
approved to use only on the
surface of some cheeses and
sausages in European Union.

06/14/1
1

E239

Hexamine

Hexamine is prepared by the
reaction of formaldehyde and
ammonia and it a preservative.

09/28/0
5

E-Number Name

Description

Date

E242

Dimethyl dicarbonate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E249

Potassium Nitrate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E250

Sodium Nitrite

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E251

Sodium Nitrate

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E252

Potassium
Nitrate(Saltpetre)

Chemical Preservative

09/28/0
5

E260

Acetic Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids

09/28/0
5

E261

Potassium Acetate

Miscellaneous - Acids

09/28/0
5

E262

Sodium Acetates

Prservative or acid regulator

09/28/0
5

E263

Calcium Acetate

Miscellaneous - Acids

09/28/0
5

E270

Lactic Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids

09/28/0
5

E280

Propionic Acid

Preservative - Acids

09/28/0
5

E281

Sodium Propionate

Preservative- Acids

09/28/0
5

E282

Calcium Propionate

Preservative- Acids

09/28/0
5

E283

Potassium Propionate

Preservative- Acids

09/28/0
5

E284

Boric acid

Preservative.

09/28/0
5

E285

Sodium tetraborate; Borax

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E290

Carbon Dioxide

Miscellaneous

09/28/0
5

E296

Malic Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts

09/28/0
5

E297

Fumaric Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts

09/28/0
5

E300

L-Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin
C)

Antioxidants- Vitamin C

09/28/0
5

E301

Sodium-L-Ascorbate

Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives

09/28/0
5

E302

Calcium-L-Ascorbate

Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives

09/28/0
5

E304

Ascorbyl Palmitate

Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives.
It is a ester formed by reacting palmitic
acid(fat source)and ascorbic acid(vitamin
C). It is Halal only if the palmitic acid is
obtained from plant fat such as soy fat.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label indicates
that palmitic acid is from vegetable fat.

09/28/0
5

E306

Antioxidants- Vitamin E

If the Tocopherols(vitamin E) is from
plant fat then it is Halal. It is a
antioxidant. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that it is obtained from
vegetable fat or oil.

09/28/0
5

E307

Synthetic AlphaTocopherol

Antioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic
antioxidant.

09/28/0
5

E308

Synthetic GammaTocopherol

Antioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic
antioxidant.

09/28/0
5

E309

Synthetic Delta-Tocopherol Antioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic
antioxidant.

09/28/0
5

E310

Propyl Gallate

Antioxidants and synthetic preservative.

09/28/0
5

E311

Octyl Gallate

Antioxidants

09/28/0
5

E312

Dodecyl Gallate

Antioxidants

09/28/0
5

E315

Erythorbic acid

Erythorbic Acid is Isomeric molecule of
Ascorbic Acid obtained from vegetable
based sucrose.

01/25/1
4

E316

Sodium erythorbate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E316

Sodium erythorbate

Chemical

06/14/1

1
E316

Sodium erythorbate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E320

Butylated Hydroxyanisole
(BHA)

Antioxidants- Preservative It is Halal only
if vegetable oil is used as a carrier
because it is not available in 100% form.
Suitable for vegetarian label indicates
that only vegetable oil is used as a
carrier.

09/28/0
5

E321

Butylated Hydroxytoluene
(BHT)

Antioxidants- Preservative It is Halal only
if vegetable oil is used as a carrier
because it is not available in 100% form.
Suitable for vegetarian label indicates
that only vegetable oil is used as a
carrier.

09/28/0
5

E322

Lecithin

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers It now days
made from soy fat or Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only soy
fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E325

Sodium Lactate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid

09/28/0
5

E326

Potassium Lactate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid

09/28/0
5

E327

Calcium Lactate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid

09/28/0
5

E330

Citric Acid

Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E331

Sodium Citrates

Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E332

Potassium Citrates

Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E333

Calcium Citrates

Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E334

Tartaric Acid

Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its
Salts It is Halal only if made from
unfermented grapes such as in USA and
Canada. But in some countries it is
made from the deposit on the wine
wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.

09/28/0
5

E335

Sodium Tartrates

Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its
Salts It is Halal only if made from
unfermented grapes such as in USA and
Canada. But in some countries it is
made from the deposit on the wine
wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.

09/28/0
5

E336

Potassium Tartrates
(Cream of Tartar)

Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its
Salts It is Halal only if made from
unfermented grapes such as in USA and
Canada. But in some countries it is
made from the deposit on the wine

09/28/0
5

wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.

Halal
Status

E337

Potassium Sodium
Tartrates

Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its
Salts It is Halal only if made from
unfermented grapes such as in USA and
Canada. But in some countries it is
made from the deposit on the wine
wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.

09/28/0
5

E338

Orthophosphoric Acid

Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its
Salts

09/28/0
5

E339

Sodium Phosphates

Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its
Salts. Phosphate in Europe is also
obtained from animal bones. So please
the check the source of phosphate.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food
package indicates that it is obtained from
from mineral." In USA it is obtained from
minerals and it is Halal.

09/28/0
5

E-Number Name

Description

Date

E340

Potassium Phosphates

Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its
Salts. Phosphate in Europe is also
obtained from animal bones. So please
the check the source of phosphate.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food
package indicates that it is obtained from
from mineral." In USA it is obtained from
minerals and it is Halal.

09/28/0
5

E341

Calcium Phosphates

Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its
Salts Phosphate in Europe is also
obtained from animal bones. So please
the check the source of phosphate.
"Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food
package indicates that it is obtained from
from mineral." In USA it is obtained from
minerals and it is Halal.

09/28/0
5

E343

Magnesium phosphate

Phosphate in Europe is also obtained
from animal bones. So please the check
the source of phosphate. "Suitable for
Vegetarian" label on food package
indicates that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained from
minerals and it is Halal.

06/14/1
1

E350

Sodium Malate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E351

Potassium Malate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E352

Calcium Malate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E353

Metataric Acid

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E354

Calcium Tartrate

It is the by-product of wine making in

06/14/1

many countries but in USA and Canada
Tartrate or Tartaric acid is made from
unfermented crushed grapes.

1

E355

Adipic Acid

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E356

Sodium adipate

Sodium adipate is the sodium salt of
adipic acid which is obtained by the
oxidation of fat. If it is obtained from soy
fat then it is Halal. If it is obtained from
pork fat tehn it is Haram.

06/14/1
1

E357

Potassium adipate

Potassiumadipate is the potassium salt
of adipic acid which is obtained by the
oxidation of fat. If it is obtained from soy
fat then it is Halal. If it is obtained from
pork fat tehn it is Haram.

06/14/1
1

E363

Succinic Acid

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E370

1,4-Heptonolactane

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E375

Nicotinic Acid

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E380

Triammonium Citrate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E381

Ammonium Ferric Citrate

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E385

Calcium Disodium EDTA

Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid

09/28/0
5

E400

Alginic Acid

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

09/28/0
5

E401

Sodium Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

09/28/0
5

E402

Potassium Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

09/28/0
5

E403

Ammonium Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

09/28/0
5

E404

Calcium Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

09/28/0
5

E405

Propane-1,2-Diol Alginate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates

09/28/0
5

E406

Agar

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant
gums

09/28/0
5

E407

Carrageenan

It is a seaweed gum. If Ethyl Alcohol is
used then it is not Halal, if Isopropyl
Alcohol used and taken out completely
or Potassium Chloride or nothing above
is used during it processing then it is
Halal.

12/09/1
5

E410

Locust Bean Gum (Carob
Gum)

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant
gums

09/28/0
5

E412

Guar Gum

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant
gums

09/28/0
5

E413

Tragacanth

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant
gums

09/28/0
5

E414

Gum Acacia (Gum Arabic)

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant
gums

09/28/0
5

E415

Xanthan Gum

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant
gums

09/28/0
5

E416

Karaya Gum

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers

09/28/0
5

E417

Tara Gum

A leguminous tree gum.

06/14/1
1

E418

Gellan Gum

A polysaccharide gum produced by
bacteria.

06/14/1
1

E420

Sorbitol

Sugar Alcohols

09/28/0
5

E421

Mannitol

Sugar Alcohols

09/28/0
5

E422

Glycerol

Glycerol is a polyol obtained from fats
and oil. It is Halal if it obtained from oils
or soy fat. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that only vegetable oil or fat is
used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E425

Konjac

A gum.

09/28/0
5

E430

Polyoxyethane (8)
Stearate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid
derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that only vegetable fat is used
as a source.

09/28/0
5

E431

Polyoxyethane (40)
Stearate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid
derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that only vegetable fat is used
as a source.

09/28/0
5

E432

Polyoxyethane (20)
Sorbitan / Polysorbate 20

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid
derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that only vegetable fat is used
as a source.

09/28/0
5

E433

Polyoxyethane (20)
Sorbitan Mono-oleate /
Polysorbate 80.

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid
derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that only vegetable fat is used
as a source.

09/28/0
5

E434

Polyoxyethane (20)
Sorbitan Monopalmitate /
Polysorbate 40

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid
derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that only vegetable fat is used
as a source.

09/28/0
5

E435

Polyoxyethane (20)
Sorbitan Monostearate /
Polysorbate 60

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid
derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that only vegetable fat is used
as a source.

09/28/0
5

Halal
Status

E436

Polyoxyethane (20)
Sorbitan Tristearate /
Polysorbate 65

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid
derivatives. Suitable for vegetarian label
indicates that only vegetable fat is used
as a source.

09/28/0
5

E440a

Pectin

Emulsifier and Stabilizer - Pectin and
derivatives. Halal if Isopropyl Alcohol is
used and taken out Not Halal if ethyl
alcohol is used.

12/09/1
5

E440b

Amidated Pectin

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and
derivatives. Halal if Isopropyl Alcohol is
used and taken out Not Halal if ethyl
alcohol is used.

12/09/1
5

E441

Gelatin

Gelatin from Zabiha slaughtered beef
and fish source is considered Halal.
Gelatin from pork is Haram. Gelatin from
non zabiha beef is not Halal.

09/28/0
5

E442

Ammonium phosphatides

It could be obtained either vegetable fat
or animal fat. "Suitable for Vegetarian"
label on food package indicates that it is
obtained from vegetable fat or oil.

06/14/1
1

E444

Sucrose accetate
isobutyrate

A chemical emulsifier produced by
esterification of sucrose with acetic and
isobutyric anhydrides.

06/14/1
1

E445

Glycerol esters of wood
rosin

A emulsifier and stabilizer obtained from
wood rosin of a tree.

06/14/1
1

E-Number Name

Description

Date

E450a,b,c Sodium and Potassium
Phosphates and
Polyphosphates

Phosphate in Europe is also obtained
from animal bones. So please the check
the source of phosphate. "Suitable for
Vegetarian" label on food package
indicates that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained from
minerals and it is Halal.

09/28/0
5

E451

Triphosphates

Phosphate in Europe is also obtained
from animal bones. So please the check
the source of phosphate. "Suitable for
Vegetarian" label on food package
indicates that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained from
minerals and it is Halal.

06/14/1
1

E452

Polyphosphate

Phosphate in Europe is also obtained
from animal bones. So please the check
the source of phosphate. "Suitable for
Vegetarian" label on food package
indicates that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained from
minerals and it is Halal.

06/14/1
1

E459

Beta-Cyclodextrin

It is composed 7 glucose units

06/14/1
1

E460

Microcrystalline /

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose

09/28/0

Powdered Cellulose

and derivatives

5

E461

Methylcellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose
and derivatives

09/28/0
5

E463

Hydroxypropylcellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose
and derivatives

09/28/0
5

E464

HydroxypropylMethylcellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose
and derivatives

09/28/0
5

E465

Ethylmethylcellulose

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose
and derivatives

09/28/0
5

E466

Carboxymethylcellulose,
Sodium Salt

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose
and derivatives

09/28/0
5

E467

Sodium Carboxy methyl
cellulose

a plant cellulose

06/14/1
1

E468

Cross Linked Carboxy
methyl cellulose

Sodium CMC is acidified by a acid and
then boiled to cross link.

06/14/1
1

E469

Enzymatically hydrolyzed
Carboxy Methyl Cellulose

CMC is hydrolyzed by cellolase enzyme.

06/14/1
1

E470

Sodium, Potassium and
Calcium Salts of Fatty
Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E471

Mono-and Diglycerides of
Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. If the fat source is
from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from
pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non
zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim
appeared on food package "Suitable for
Vegetarian" containing E-Number 471
then it means the E Number 471 is from
soy fat. The food product is Halal if all
other ingredients are Halal

09/28/0
5

E472

Various Esters of Monoand Diglycerides of Fatty
Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids If the fat source is
from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from
pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non
zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim
appeared on food package "Suitable for
Vegetarian" containing E-Number 472
then it means the E Number 472 is from
soy fat. The food product is Halal if all
other ingredients are Halal

09/28/0
5

E472e

Monoand diacetyl tartaric
acid esters of mono &
diglycerides

Halal only if it is obtained from plant fat.
If the fat source is from soy fat then it is
Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is
Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then
it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on
food package "Suitable for Vegetarian"
containing E-Number 472e the it means
the E Number 472e is from soy fat. The
food product is Halal if all other
ingredients are Halal

09/28/0
5

E473

Sucrose Esters of Fatty
Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. If the fat source is
from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from
pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non
zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim
appeared on food package "Suitable for
Vegetarian" containing E-Number 473
the it means the E Number 473 is from
soy fat. The food product is Halal if all
other ingredients are Halal

09/28/0
5

E474

Sucroglycerides

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E475

Polyglycerol Esters of
Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E476

Polyglycerol Esters of
Polycondensed Esters of
Caster Oil

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E477

Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of
Fatty Acids

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E478

Lactylated Fatty Acid
Esters of Glycerol and
Propane-1,2-Diol

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E479b

Thermally oxidized
soybean oil interacted with
mono and diglycerides of
fatty acids

If mono & diglyceride from soy fat then it
is Halal otherwise not. If a claim
"Suitable for Vegetarian" on the food
package containing E479b, it means the
mono & diglycerides are obtained from
vegetable fat.

06/14/1
1

E481

Sodium Stearoyl-2Lactylate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E482

Calcium Stearoyl-2Lactylate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E483

Stearyl Tartrate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E491

Sorbitan Monostearate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E492

Sorbitan Tristearate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E493

Sorbitan Monolaurate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E494

Sorbitan Mono-oleate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E495

Sorbitan Monopalmitate

Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source.

09/28/0
5

E496

Sorbitan Trioleate

E-Number 496 is Sorbitan Trioleate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or
Esters of Fatty Acids. Suitable for
vegetarian label indicates that only
vegetable fat is used as a source

01/26/1
5

E500

Sodium Carbonate /
Sodium Bicarbonate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Carbonates

09/28/0
5

E501

Potassium Carbonate /
Potassium Bicarbonate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Carbonates

09/28/0
5

E503

Ammonium Carbonate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Carbonates

09/28/0
5

E504

Magnesium Carbonate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Carbonates

09/28/0
5

E507

Hydrochloric Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E508

Potassium Chloride

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E509

Calcium Chloride

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E510

Ammonium Chloride

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E511

Magnesium Chloride

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E512

Stannous chloride

chemical

06/14/1
1

E513

Sulphuric Acid

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E514

Sodium Sulphate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E515

Potassium Sulphate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E516

Calcium Sulphate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

Halal
Status

E517

Ammonium Sulphate

chemical

06/14/1
1

E518

Magnesium Sulphate

Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts:
Sulphuric Acid and its Salts

09/28/0
5

E520

Almunium sulphate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E-Number Name

Description

Date

E521

Alimunium Sodium
Sulphate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E522

Aluminium Potassium
Sulphate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E523

Aluminium Ammonium
Sulphate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E524

Sodium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

09/28/0
5

E525

Potassium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

09/28/0
5

E526

Calcium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

09/28/0
5

E527

Ammonium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

09/28/0
5

E528

Magnesium Hydroxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

09/28/0
5

E529

Calcium Oxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

09/28/0
5

E530

Magnesium Oxide

Miscellaneous - Alkalis

09/28/0
5

E535

Sodium Ferrocyanide

Miscellaneous - other Salts

09/28/0
5

E536

Potassium Ferrocyanide

Miscellaneous - other Salts

09/28/0
5

E538

Calcium Ferrocyanide

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E540

Dicalcium Ferrocyanide

Miscellaneous - other Salts

09/28/0
5

E541

Sodium Aluminium
Phosphate

Miscellaneous - other Salts

09/28/0
5

E542

Edible Bone Phosphate
(Bone-Meal)

Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents
Halal if the bones from zabiha
slaughtered beef.

09/28/0
5

E544

Calcium Polyphosphates

Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents.
Phosphate in Europe is also obtained
from animal bones. So please the check
the source of phosphate. "Suitable for
Vegetarian" label on food package
indicates that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained from

09/28/0
5

minerals and it is Halal.
E545

Ammonium
Polyphosphates

Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents.
Phosphate in Europe is also obtained
from animal bones. So please the check
the source of phosphate. "Suitable for
Vegetarian" label on food package
indicates that it is obtained from from
mineral." In USA it is obtained from
minerals and it is Halal.

09/28/0
5

E550

Sodium Silicate

A anticaking agent.

09/28/0
5

E551

Silicon Dioxide (Silica Salt) Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

09/28/0
5

E552

Calcium Silicate

Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

09/28/0
5

E553

Magnesium Silicate /
Magnesium Trisilicate
(Talc)

Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

09/28/0
5

E554

Aluminium Sodium Silicate

Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

09/28/0
5

E555

Potassium Aluminium
Sillicate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E556

Aluminium Calcium Silicate Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts

09/28/0
5

E558

Bentonite

Miscellaneous - other compounds

09/28/0
5

E559

Kaolin (Aluminium Silicate) Miscellaneous - other compounds

09/28/0
5

E570

Stearic Acid

Miscellaneous - other compounds.
Siutable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of Stearic
acid is from vegetable fat.

09/28/0
5

E572

Magnesium Stearate

Miscellaneous - other compounds.
Suittable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of
Magnesium Stearate is from vegetable
fat.

01/04/1
4

E574

Gluconic Acids

Organic compound

06/14/1
1

E575

Glucono Delta-Lactone

It is a acidulant and used in chemical
leavening. It is obtained through
bacterial non alcoholic fermentation.

03/12/1
5

E576

Sodium Gluconate

Miscellaneous - other compounds

09/28/0
5

E577

Potassium Gluconate

Miscellaneous - other compounds

09/28/0
5

E578

Calcium Gluconate

Miscellaneous - other compounds

09/28/0
5

E585

Ferrous Lactate

Iron compound

06/14/1

1
E620

L-Glutamic Acid

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers.
Suitable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of LGlutamic acid is from vegetable protein
or it has to be under Halal or kosher
certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher
certified and meet the Halal
requirements. L-Glutamic acid is also
obtained from yeast and yeast can also
grown on pork fat media then it is
Haram. It happened in Indonesia few
years back when Monosodium
Glutamate is produced using pork fat
media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto
Indonesia. As it was reported on our
website.

09/28/0
5

E621

Monosodium Glutamate
(MSG)

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers.
Suitable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of
Monosodium Glutamate is from
vegetable protein or it has to be under
Halal or kosher certification. In
USA/Canada it is kosher certified and
meet the Halal requirements.
Monosodium Glutamate can also be
obtained from yeast. But if yeast is
grown on pork media then it is Haram. It
happened in Indonesia few years back
when Monosodium Glutamate is
produced using pork fat media to grow
yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was
reported on our website.

09/28/0
5

E622

Monopotassium Glutamate Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers.
Suitable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of
Monopotassium Glutamate is from
vegetable protein or it has to be under
Halal or kosher certification. In
USA/Canada it is kosher certified and
meet the Halal requirements.
Monopotassium Glutamate can also be
obtained from yeast. But if yeast is
grown on pork media then it is Haram. It
happened in Indonesia few years back
when Monosodium Glutamate is
produced using pork fat media to grow
yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was
reported on our website.

09/28/0
5

E623

Calcium Glutamate

09/28/0
5

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers.
Suitable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of Calcium
Glutamate is from vegetable protein or it
has to be under Halal or kosher

certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher
certified and meet the Halal
requirements. Calcium Glutamate can
also be obtained from yeast. But if yeast
is grown on pork media then it is Haram.
It happened in Indonesia few years back
when Monosodium Glutamate is
produced using pork fat media to grow
yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was
reported on our website.
E624

Mono ammonium
glutamate

Suitable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of Mono
ammonium Glutamate is from vegetable
protein or it has to be under Halal or
kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is
kosher certified and meet the Halal
requirements. Mono ammonium
Glutamate can also be obtained from
yeast. But if yeast is grown on pork
media then it is Haram. It happened in
Indonesia few years back when
Monosodium Glutamate is produced
using pork fat media to grow yeast by
Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported
on our website.

06/14/1
1

E625

Magnesium diglutamate

Suitable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of
Magnesium diglutamate is from
vegetable protein or it has to be under
Halal or kosher certification. In
USA/Canada it is kosher certified and
meet the Halal requirements.
Magnesium diglutamate can also be
obtained from yeast. But if yeast is
grown on pork media then it is Haram. It
happened in Indonesia few years back
when Monosodium Glutamate is
produced using pork fat media to grow
yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was
reported on our website.

06/14/1
1

E626

Guanylic Acid

Guanylic Acid is nucleotide of RNA.
Nucleotides are commercially obtained
from Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is
grown on alcohol in USA to obtain
Nucleotide which mostly used in infant
baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast
grown on sugar cane and Sodium
Inosinate is obtained from it then it is
Halal otherwise it is not Halal

06/14/1
1

E627

Sodium Guanylate

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers.
Suitable for vegetarian label on the
package indicates the source of Sodium
Guanylate is from vegetable source or it
has to be under Halal or kosher

09/28/0
5

certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher
certified and meet the Halal
requirements. Although disodium
Guanylate is obtained from fish or
seaweed or yeast. But if yeast is grown
on pork media then it is Haram. It
happened in Indonesia few years back
when Monosodium Glutamate is
produced using pork fat media to grow
yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was
reported on our website.
E628

Dipotassium Guanylate

It is a potassium salt of guanylic acid.
Guanylaic acid is a nucleotide of RNA
obtained from torula yeast cells.
nucleotide commercially obtained from
Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown
on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide
which mostly used in infant baby
formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown
on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is
obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise
it is not Halal.

06/14/1
1

E629

Calcium Guanylate

A flavor enhancer, Suitable for
vegetarian label on the package
indicates the source of Calcium
Guanylate is from vegetable source or it
has to be under Halal or kosher
certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher
certified and meet the Halal
requirements. Although disodium
Guanylate is obtained from fish or
seaweed or yeast. But if yeast is grown
on pork media then it is Haram. It
happened in Indonesia few years back
when Monosodium Glutamate is
produced using pork fat media to grow
yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was
reported on our website.

09/28/0
5

E630

Inosinic acid

A flavor enhancer, IMP or inosine
monophosphate is a nucleotide
commercially obtained from Torula
Yeast. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol
in USA to obtain Nucleotide which is
mostly used in infant baby formula. In
Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar
cane and Inosinic acid is obtained from it
then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal.

09/28/0
5

E631

Sodium Inosinate

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. In
Europe if it is obtained from non
alcoholic fermantation by bacteria on
sugar or from sugarcane itself then it is
Halal but if it is obtained from Torula
yeast grown on alcohol then disodium
Inosinate is not Halal. It is Halal in USA

09/28/0
5

and Canada. Disodium Inosinate is used
in Europe as flavor enhancer used in
soups, gravies, sauces, fish and
seafoods. Although it is a nucleotide but
it is obtained through bacterial nonalcoholic fermantation on sugar or from
sugarcane itself. It should not be
confused with nucleotide from Torula
yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane
which is used in infant baby formula.

Halal
Status

E632

Dipotassium Inosinate

A flavor enhancer. Dipotassium
Inosinate is a nucleotide commercially
obtained from Torula Yeast cells. Torula
yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to
obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in
infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula
yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium
Inosinate is obtained from it then it is
Halal otherwise it is not Halal.

06/14/1
1

E633

Calcium Inosinate

A flavor enhancer. Calcium Inosinate is a
nucleotide commercially obtained from
Torula Yeast cells. Torula yeast is grown
on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide
which mostly used in infant baby
formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown
on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is
obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise
it is not Halal.

06/14/1
1

E634

Calcium5-Ribonucleotide

Calcium5-Ribonucleotide is a nucleotide
commercially obtained from Torula Yeast
cells. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in
USA to obtain Nucleotide which is mostly
used in infant baby formula. In Europe if
Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and
Calcium5-Ribonucleotide is obtained
from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not
Halal.

06/14/1
1

EName
Number

Description

Date

E635

Sodium5Ribonucleotide

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers. Sodium5Ribonucleotide is a nucleotide commercially
obtained from Torula Yeast. Torula yeast is
grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide
which is mostly used in infant baby formula. In
Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and
Sodium5-Ribonucleotide is obtained from it then
it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal.

09/28/0
5

E636

Maltol

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

09/28/0
5

E637

Ethyl Maltol

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

09/28/0
5

E640

Glycine and its

Glycin is a amino acid obtained either plant

06/14/1

sodium salt

protein or animal protein. Only plant protein
Glycine is Halal or if a claim "Suitable for
Vegetarian" appeared on food package
containing glycine, it means that Glycine is
obtained from vegetable protein.

1

E650

Zinc Acetate

Chemical

06/14/1
1

E900

Dimethylpolysiloxane

Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers

09/28/0
5

E901

Beeswax

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents

09/28/0
5

E902

Candelilla Wax

Candelilla wax is derived from leaves of a plant.

06/14/1
1

E903

Carnauba Wax

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents

09/28/0
5

E904

Shellac

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents Glazing with
Shellac is not Halal because alcohol is used to
dissolve the Shellac and then evaporate before
glazing on food products. Pure Shellac without
alcohol is Halal because it is a insect secretion.

09/28/0
5

E905

Mineral Hydrocarbons

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents

09/28/0
5

E907

Refined
Microcrystalline Wax

Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents If alcohol is used
then it is not Halal.

09/28/0
5

E912

Montan Acid Esters

Halal if obtained from plant lipid or fat. Haram if
obtained frpm pork fat. Suitable for vegetarian
claim on package indicates they are from plant
fat.

06/14/1
1

E913

Lanolin

It is from sheep wool and obtained without
slaughtering the sheep.

09/28/0
5

E914

Oxidised Polyethylene plastic based product
Wax

06/14/1
1

E920

L-Cysteine
Hydrochloride

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
L-Cysteine from human hair is Haram. L-Cysteine
from chicken feathers is not Halal. L-Cysteine
from fermentation and synthetic source is Halal.

09/28/0
5

E924

Potassium Bromate

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

09/28/0
5

E925

Chlorine

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

09/28/0
5

E926

Chlorine Dioxide

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

09/28/0
5

E927b

Carbamide

Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour

09/28/0
5

E938

Argon

Chemical element

06/14/1
1

E939

Helium

Gas

06/14/1
1

E941

Nitrogen

Gas

06/14/1
1

E942

Nitrous Oxide

Laughing gas

06/14/1
1

E943a

Butane

Alkane gas

06/14/1
1

E943b

Iso-butane

Alkane

06/14/1
1

E944

Propane

Gas

06/14/1
1

E949

Hydrogen

Gas

06/14/1
1

E951

Aspartane

A synthetic sweetener but alcohol is used during
it processing

02/28/1
6

E953

Isomalt

A sweetener, it is Halal certified from a German
company, it is Halal in USA.

09/28/0
5

E954

Sacharin

A synthetic sweetener.

09/28/0
5

E965

Maltitol

A sugar alcohol and humectant.

09/28/0
5

E966

Lactitol

A sugar alcohol, Halal if obtained from Halal
whey or lactose. If animal rennet is used to make
whey and lactose then Lactitol is not Halal.

09/28/0
5

E967

Xylitol

A sugar alcohol.

09/28/0
5

E999

Quillaia Extract

Soap bark tree but extract is extracted with
alcohol.

06/14/1
1

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Halal

Not Halal

Mushbooh or Unknown
Halal if no alcohol is used in
flavor
MCG Certified Halal

105

References
1.Al-Qaradawi, Yousuf. Translators: Kamal El-Helbawy, M. Mohiuddin Siddiqui, Syed
Shukry. (1984). The Lawful and The Prohibited in Islam. Beirut, Lebanon: The Holy
Koran Publishing House.
2.. Ahmed, Syed Rasheeduddin. (2009). A Comprehensive List of Halal Food Products
in US Supermarkets. Eight Edition. Huntley, IL: Muslim Consumer Group For Food
Products.
3. FAO/WHO Working Group (2002) Guidelines for the Evaluation of Probiotic in Foods.
Available at www.who.int/foodsafety/publications/fs_management/orobiotics2/en/
4. Igoe, Robert. S and Hui, Y. H (1996). Dictionary of Food Ingredients. Third Edition.
New York: Chapman & Hall.
5. Johnson, Arnold. H and Peterson, Martin. S. (1974). Encyclopedia of Food
Technology. Westport, Connecticut: The Avi Publishing Company.
6. Kneifel, Wolfgang and Salminen, Sepp0. (2011). Probiotics and Health Claims. West
Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell Publisher.
7. Kosikowski, Frank. V. (1982). Cheese and Fermented Milk Foods. Second Edition.
Brooktondale, NY: F. V. Kosikowski and Associates.
8. Lehninger, Albert. L. (1970). Biochemistry. New York: Worth Publishers, Inc.
9. Pyler, E.J. (1973). Baking Science & Technology. Volume 1. Chicago: Siebel
Publishing Company

106

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed is a Certified Food Scientist and US food industry
professional. In 2011, he saved about 6 million dollars annually in the cost of ingredients
for Kraft BBQ Sauces for Kraft Foods USA. He was responsible for developing Big N
Crusty Bagels in 1987, which brought 50 million dollars in annual sales to Kraft Foods
USA. He worked for B. Heller Seasoning Company, Prince Macaroni Company, Domino
Pizza, General Foods, Kraft Foods USA, Nabisco, Newly Weds Foods, MLO Products
and Eli’s Cheesecake Company. He developed ten new bagel products for Kraft, three
new cookie products for Nabisco, four new nutritional bars for MLO Products and one
fruit & nut bar for Starbucks, a total of eighteen new products for supermarkets.
He is the founder and president of Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products, a not
for profit organization. He is educating Muslims throughout the world about Halal food
products and ingredients since 1985.
He is writing Halal Food Book, “A Comprehensive List of Halal Food Products in US
Supermarkets”, since 1991, whose latest edition is now published in 2015. For this 9th
edition, he extensively researched in 32 US supermarkets from coast to coast. He also
published "Food Ingredients & Their Halal Status " book in 2013.
MCG has established two well known Halal food websites. The
www.muslimconsumergroup.com website was established in 2000 for US Muslims and
is logged in over 187 countries with daily visits of over 4,000 visitors. The www.
Canadianhalalfoods.com website was established in 2006 for Canadian Muslims.
Mr. Ahmed earned a B.Sc (Agriculture), M.Sc (Agriculture) in Horticulture from A.P
Agricultural University Hyderabad, India and a MS degree in Cereal Technology from
North Dakota State University Fargo, North Dakota.
He presented technical papers on Halal foods at the First International Conference on
Halal Food Control & Exhibition at Riyadh, Saudi Arabia in 2012, at GMDES’s Halal
Conference in Istanbul, Turkey in 2012. Other presentations include KUIM in Malaysia
in 2004 and at the International Association for Food Protection Organization at
Orlando, Florida in 2006.
Br. Ahmed can be reached at Halalfoods@hotmail.com or at 847-802-6917

107